Installing Gentoo on a laptop with HDD and SSD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
stormblade
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:49 pm    Post subject: Installing Gentoo on a laptop with HDD and SSD Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I'm going to install Gentoo on my HP Pavilion laptop with 1000GB HDD and 128GB SSD and thus I have some questions related to the partitioning of the disks.
1) Which partitions should I use on HDD and SSD? Is there any preferrable configuration of these?
2) What file systems are mostly suitable for each partition? (depending on whether it is on HDD or SSD)
3) Should I consider using a swap partition? I have 8GB RAM.
Also, I'm pretty new to Gentoo and only once had some experience of installing it on another machine (I didn't finish because I couldn't handle some problems with grub2 installation in the very end). So, any explanations are welcome, as I'm still learning all the stuff now
charles17
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Presumed the computer has UEFI, you should have an ESP on each disk used for booting. Partition table should then be gpt. Creating a BIOS boot partition depends on whether you want to install grub2 or go with rEFInd.

Filesystems for the partitions depend on your preferences. There was a recent topic here in the forum about using F2FS for the SSD.
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never used a hybrid system with SSD/HDD, then wait another real user exerience.
Anyway, in my opinion, in ssd disk I'd put root partition while in hdd home partition.
A swap can help with compilation of bigger packages if you have only 8GB RAM,
also if you want hibernate swap can be used for this purpose (not strictly required since you can use a swapfile).