[solved] USB headset - No sound
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
erde
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:43 pm    Post subject: [solved] USB headset - No sound Reply with quote

Hello forums,

I'm very new to Gentoo and after compiling for hours, I finally got it working.

Right now I'm struggling with my Corsair VOID RGB headset. I already compiled alsamixer as well as pavucontrol, but didn't get sound in pavucontrol once I've switched to USB sound output device.

Some details:

Code:
/usr/src/linux $ cat .config | grep -i CONFIG_SND_USB
CONFIG_SND_USB=y
CONFIG_SND_USB_AUDIO=m
CONFIG_SND_USB_UA101=m
CONFIG_SND_USB_USX2Y=m
CONFIG_SND_USB_CAIAQ=m
CONFIG_SND_USB_CAIAQ_INPUT=y
CONFIG_SND_USB_US122L=m
CONFIG_SND_USB_6FIRE=m
# CONFIG_SND_USB_HIFACE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_POD is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_PODHD is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_TONEPORT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_VARIAX is not set

I also installed bluez-alsa as mentioned here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Bluetooth_Headset

I don't know how to find out which MAC address my headset has though.

Code:

lsusb | grep Corsair
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 1b1d:1b37 Corsair

If you need any further infos, please just tell me.

cheers,

erde

Last edited by erde on Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:49 am; edited 1 time in total
LIsLinuxIsSogood
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you aware of the difference between ALSA and PulseAudio they are not the same, although pa will depend on having ALSA installed either way. If you want the easiest solution for your system it helps to post some more information. Please include
Code:
emerge --info net-wireless/bluez

As well, checking the device against the list of ones that will work "out of the box" is always a good idea. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Bluetooth_Headset#Working_devices