Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Has development of SLiM ceased?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1427
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:51 pm    Post subject: Has development of SLiM ceased? Reply with quote

I was wondering about the status of SLiM these days. I haven't used SLiM myself since four years ago, but was thinking about using it again with Xfce on another old laptop.

The Wikipedia page on SLiM states the following:

Wikipedia wrote:
As of March, 2016, SLiM seems to be abandoned. It is not fully compatible with systemd.


The Arch Linux Wiki page on SLiM states the following:

Arch Linux Wiki wrote:
Warning: The SliM project has been abandoned (last release was 2013, the project homepage is down), and is not fully compatible with systemd, including logind sessions. Consider using a different Display manager or Xinitrc.


Has development (and maintenance) of SLiM really ceased? What is its future?
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, OpenRC, nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, OpenRC, xf86-video-ati, dual booting with Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both laptops.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 18750
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Has development of SLiM ceased? Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Has development (and maintenance) of SLiM really ceased?

No code after 2013-10-02, I think yes.

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
What is its future?

If nobody fork or takes the time for maintain the code the project will die
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C5ace
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Posts: 225
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed a Xfce openrc system with slim last week. Simple and works very well without complications on about 20 other Xfce openrc systems I installed during the last 2 years and maintain.

There is no need to to develop and maintain code that is bug free and works as intended. If you want to keep thinks simple, use grub-static or lilo, openrc, slim and xfce, or Lxde. Stay away from grub-2, systemd and similar unless you need their complexities and special features.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1427
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently SLiM cannot work with systemd in any case.

I didn't have any trouble using GRUB2 with Gentoo Stable + SLiM + OpenRC + Xfce four years ago. Have you had trouble with GRUB2 recently with such an installation, then?
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, OpenRC, nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, OpenRC, xf86-video-ati, dual booting with Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both laptops.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 12356

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you provide a citation for what systemd does wrong that requires modifications to Slim to make them compatible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5006

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLiM has one unfixed bug with possible security implications: it opens a log file as root and doesn't close the file handle properly before exec'ing the desktop session.
Try this in a terminal as your normal user...
Code:
echo foo >&3
tail -1 /var/log/slim.log
ls -l /var/log/slim.log
whoami

_________________
*.ebuild // /etc/service/*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6234
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Apparently SLiM cannot work with systemd in any case.

Didn't work for me with openrc either, back when I tried...
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 18750
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Apparently SLiM cannot work with systemd in any case.

Didn't work for me with openrc either, back when I tried...

Before plasma 5 I used xfce4 with slim without problem
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6647
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLiM worked for me but felt really clunky so I stopped using it for the most part (opting for lightdm). I think I have one USB stick that still has it but it's a fairly old install. This was for openrc, I did not try for systemd.

It seems Gentoo does have some patches for systemd, not sure what features it adds. Or perhaps subtracts, it seems to pull out consolekit support for systemd and doesn't even try setting up logind sessions.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1427
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Could you provide a citation for what systemd does wrong that requires modifications to Slim to make them compatible?

Nope. I'm simply going on what the Arch Linux Wiki page on SLiM states:

Arch Wiki - SLiM wrote:
Warning: The SliM project has been abandoned (last release was 2013, the project homepage is down), and is not fully compatible with systemd, including logind sessions. Consider using a different Display manager or Xinitrc.

Are you using SLiM with systemd successfully, then?

Anyway, systemd is a red herring, since I would not be wanting to use it in the proposed installation (I was simply responding to C5ace's comment vis-à-vis SLiM to "Stay away from grub-2, systemd and similar unless you need their complexities and special features.").

What I'm actually interested in knowing is whether it would be OK to use SLiM with a Gentoo Linux stable installation using OpenRC and Xfce, or whether it would be better to opt for a different DM.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, OpenRC, nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, OpenRC, xf86-video-ati, dual booting with Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both laptops.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6066

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Could you provide a citation for what systemd does wrong that requires modifications to Slim to make them compatible?

This only refers to logind. However, logind != systemd. You can use systemd as a bootmanager without using logind. Also the opposite is possible to some extent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
candrews
Developer
Developer


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, I'm a former slim user, and I've found x11-misc/sddm to be a great replacement. It's minimal and simple like slim, but maintained and compatible with systemd.
_________________
I'm working on a variety of random things throughout Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 12356

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Are you using SLiM with systemd successfully, then?
I don't use SLiM or systemd, so no. I was merely curious what systemd broke this time that led to SLiM presumably working with non-systemd, but not working with systemd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitsunenokenja
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When trying to find documentation on SLIM, for keyboard shortcuts in particular, I discovered the URL often attributed to the project is no longer hosted and that the project is indeed dead. A shame, a simple and lightweight DM like SLIM was perfect. Went to lightdm and not particularly thrilled. It seems the only way to have a flexible theming of it is to resort to some crazy deps to get web-based support to do so. Why would you rely on web tech for a DM!? I may have to look into SDDM and give it a try. Oh, I use OpenRC so systemd compatibility is out the window.
_________________
ProtonMail - Free encrypted e-mail from Switzerland
Let's Encrypt - Free SSL cert organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6234
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Before plasma 5 I used xfce4 with slim without problem

Maybe it was me but in 2 out of 3 times, slim created a 100% load runaway process. Maybe I tried it at a bad time.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6647
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want plain, you can use the old fashioned xdm, there's nothing simpler as this is the original. Last I checked it even has consolekit support, but I don't know how well its systemd support is. Note that I think its default install may try to set up xconsole which is unneeded, that can be removed.

I only tried SLiM to try SLiM, xdm I've used when I first started using X (sheesh, it's been 20 years...), and with consolekit/systemd I opted for lightdm because it has an obvious and easy way to shut down without needing to login. It is not to say it's without faults, accountsservice and gtk-greeter have been annoying.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6633

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using slim (with mate) and it work for me, i wasn't aware about log issue Ant P. mention, so i have just disable logging facility, which i don't need anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C5ace
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Posts: 225
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
I didn't have any trouble using GRUB2 with Gentoo Stable + SLiM + OpenRC + Xfce four years ago. Have you had trouble with GRUB2 recently with such an installation, then?


I use a "cut & paste" install script to install Gentoo / Xfce stable. It takes about about 6 to 10 minutes of my time to start the installation. This completes overnight on a fast laptop and results in a complete Xfce system. If I include Thunderbird, Firefox and Libreoffice, it takes another 12 to 24 hours. Grub2, LightDM, requires manual intervention and have more complexities.

My favorite firewall is Bastille from 2002.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6066

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
so i have just disable logging facility, which i don't need anyway.

How do you do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6633

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mv wrote:
krinn wrote:
so i have just disable logging facility, which i don't need anyway.

How do you do that?

Code:
sed -i 's/logfile/#logfile/' /etc/slim.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6066

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
Code:
sed -i 's/logfile/#logfile/' /etc/slim.conf

I am afraid that this has no effect: It seems to me from the code that if it is not set in /etc/slim.conf, a default is chosen which is (surprise!) /var/log/slim.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6647
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if you set the file to /dev/null ?
Still wastes cpu cycles to log, but at least /dev/null won't fill up.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6066

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
What if you set the file to /dev/null ?

I had also thought about this, but I am not sure whether it will really solve the security issue. Actually, I am not even sure what the security issue is. In my case, &3 is not accessible.
Anyway, I switched now to sddm, to be on the safe side: There might also be other unknown security issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6647
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, it allows an unprivileged user fill up disk space as "root" (since root owns that log file) using any reserved space as well - denial of service. I don't think there's a privilege escalation problem here, but if the file is readable, that's also a way to get past disk quotas...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1561

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you can easily restrict the amount of storage the logs takes with log rotate, in that there is an option of the amount of old logs to keep (and compress the old logs), and also an option to automatically rotate on log size; so if the log ever gets say like 1M or so (the size limit can be defined in the log rotate configs) in size, so it will never take up more than that much. As far as permissions go, logrotate has the create option which allows you to specify the permissions and owner of the log file to be created; thus will ensure the file will always be created with what permissions you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum