laptop doesn't reboot at final step of gentoo installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
_Gianni
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:38 pm    Post subject: laptop doesn't reboot at final step of gentoo installation Reply with quote

Hi, im new to gentoo and I'm using the handbook to install gentoo on my old laptop (2005-ish). I managed to follow the handbook steps until I got to the reboot step, where it failed to reboot properly giving some errors.
I'm using a usb key where I put the gentoo minimal installation CD. I used unetbootin to put the image on the usb key.

Here is a photo of the errors:
http://oi64.tinypic.com/senkfa.jpg

It seems he's having trouble unmounting the cdrom?
I wish I knew what's happening but I'm really ignorant on these errors. I tried to look for "/lib/rc is not writable!" or "ERROR: mount-ro failed to start" on google but I found nothing useful.
I had to hard reset the laptop, and when I start it it says that the boot sector is invalid, so I guess grub wasn't installed correctly (?). Was it because it was unable to reboot correcly? I'd like some suggestions, since there seems to be a lot of issues going up here, and I feel a little overwhelmed.

Thank you
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_Gianni,

Welcome to Gentoo.

All the important steps in the shutdown process have completed correctly.
Power the laptop off, remove the USB key and power it up again.

You should see the grub menu allowing you to choose Gentoo, or if you just wait for the timeout, Gentoo will start.

Did you use an MSDOS or GPT disk label?

Exactly what is the error text?
A photo works.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
_Gianni
n00b
n00b