Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Strange tmpfs mounts?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:38 pm    Post subject: Strange tmpfs mounts? Reply with quote

What's going on here? I seem to have two tmpfs mounts I did not create and are not in fstab.
Code:

none            3.9G   12K  3.9G   1% /run/user/1001
none            3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /run/user/1000

none on /run/user/1001 type tmpfs (rw,relatime,mode=700,uid=1001)
none on /run/user/1000 type tmpfs (rw,relatime,mode=700,uid=1000)

What is creating these? I use tmpfs for /tmp with a size of 1GiB. I do not know how these are being created.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9679
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Consolekit or systemd-logind are creating them to help with seats.

Currently consolekit default is half physical memory, and systemd-logind is 1/10th. They should be harmless unless you have unruly users filling it up with garbage but they could also be malloc'ing garbage as well so no different. They should be removed upon logout along with your session cgroup.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to reduce the size? The laptop user got a system with 8GB of RAM to run multiple VirtualBox VMs. This can hamper that and I do not see why it is needed.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

tmpfs sets a maximum size, its not allocated until its used.

It has a size option which you can set at mount time, or lateter with
Code:
mount -o remount,size=...   

I need that if libreoffice and firefox build together in my tmpfs.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9679
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you were using systemd/logind then editing /etc/systemd/logind.conf
Code:
[Login]
RuntimeDirectorySize=10%

will change logind's behavior. Consolekit, I'm not sure, but as Neddy says, it will not eat 4GB until someone sticks 4GB into that directory, and if they do, they also could malloc 4GB and waste RAM that way as well.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK then, I am good. I don't use systemd. This is why I use Gentoo, the choice to use OpenRC.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9679
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I figured as much; I posted in case people were interested in the same problem and actually had systemd.

In any case it looks like Consolekit is deficient and requires a code patch to have adjustable runtime dir (or the workaround as Neddy suggested). You'll need root to remount unfortunately, and will need to readjust every time the user logs in. So, code patch is the best way to permanently fix this.

Its current default is because the default for any tmpfs is half physical memory.

BTW if you're using Consolekit/systemd-logind the environment variable $XDG_RUNTIME_DIR will point to this tmpfs.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum