Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bootable 64-bit RPi3 Gentoo image (OpenRC/Xfce/VC4) UPDATED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 16, 17, 18  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on ARM
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777,

There are no stupid questions.

The shell that you get when you ssh into a system is closed when you log out.
You need screen or tmux. I use screen.

ssh to the system.
emerge screen
Run screen.
Start your compile.
Close your terminal

Log in again, from anywhere.
Run
Code:
screen -x
to reattach to your compile session.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sakaki wrote:
you could do:
Code:
pi64 ~ # mkdir -pv kbuild && cd kbuild
pi64 kbuild # rm -rf linux
pi64 kbuild # git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux.git -b rpi-4.10.y
pi64 kbuild # cd linux
pi64 linux # make distclean
pi64 linux # make bcmrpi3_defconfig
pi64 linux # nice -n 19 make -j4
pi64 linux # make modules_install
pi64 linux # make firmware_install
pi64 linux # cp -v arch/arm64/boot/Image /boot/kernel8.img
pi64 linux # cp -v arch/arm64/boot/dts/broadcom/bcm{2710,2837}-rpi-3-b.dtb /boot/
pi64 linux # sync
pi64 linux # reboot

If you do that, does it boot?

Seems that Yes, it is working! Than You!!
Code:
pi64 ~ # uname -a
Linux pi64 4.10.17-v8+ #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Nov 14 11:23:42 GMT 2017 aarch64 GNU/Linux


However, I cant understand:
1) how do we get .config? I cant understand how to generate .config if there are no any config files?
1.1)what are the differences between generated .config and this https://github.com/sakaki-/bcmrpi3-kernel/blob/master/config ?
2) What actually do command make bcmrpi3_defconfig ? Why we have to specify exactly bcmrpi3_defconfig, what does its means?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:


Run screen.
Start your compile.
Close your terminal

Log in again, from anywhere.
Run
Code:
screen -x
to reattach to your compile session.


Thank You! I found this explanation:
to detaching screen: CTRL+A and CTRL+D
to reattach to screen: screen -r

So what is the correct one: simply close or ctrl+a and than ctrl+d? And screen -x or screen -r?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777,

They are all correct.
Code:
screen -x
reattaches to a running screen session if there is only one.
Code:
screen -r
demands the process ID of the screen session you want to reattach to.

Consider the following command sequence ..
Code:
screen
Ctrl-A,D
screen
Ctrl-A,D

You now have two screen sessions running and are detached from them both.

See
Code:
 screen -h
and
Code:
man screen

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sakaki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2014
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777 wrote:
Seems that Yes, it is working! Than You!!
<snip>
However, I cant understand:
1) how do we get .config? I cant understand how to generate .config if there are no any config files?
1.1)what are the differences between generated .config and this https://github.com/sakaki-/bcmrpi3-kernel/blob/master/config ?
2) What actually do command make bcmrpi3_defconfig ? Why we have to specify exactly bcmrpi3_defconfig, what does its means?

The make bcmrpi3_defconfig command creates a default .config file, using the recommended baseline settings for the RPi3 in 64bit (you can see it in the kernel source tree here). You can of course modify the resulting .config as you wish.
The .config used in the automatically built bcmrpi3-kernel is almost exactly the vanilla bcmrpi3_defconfig version: as stated in its README:
Quote:
Builds are performed with the standard bcmrpi3_defconfig, with the only change being that the first 12 hex digits of the tip commit SHA1 hash are appended to CONFIG_LOCALVERSION (with a separating hyphen) before building.

Note though, that the bcmrpi3-kernel tracks the 4.9 branch not the 4.10 branch by default. The 4.9 branch gets most of the backport attention, but is currently missing certain drivers, most notably HDMI audio support.

In any event, now you have a booting kernel, you can go back in an try a "make menuconfig" if you like, to create your own custom .config from the baseline. Just remember to backup your working kernel and .config before you do ^-^
_________________
Regards,

sakaki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MC working fine.
usb_modeswitch seems working as cellular modem is working.

However, dmesg reports failure in cpu speed operation:
Code:
[  676.833306] bcm2835-cpufreq:bcm2835_cpufreq_set_clock:84: Failed to set clock: 1200000 (-12)
[  676.833322] bcm2835-cpufreq:bcm2835_cpufreq_driver_target_index:183: Error occurred setting a new frequency (1200000)
[  676.833331] cpufreq: __target_index: Failed to change cpu frequency: -22
[  678.556268] brcmfmac: power management disabled
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sakaki wrote:

In any event, now you have a booting kernel, you can go back in an try a "make menuconfig" if you like, to create your own custom .config from the baseline. Just remember to backup your working kernel and .config before you do ^-^

I was just trying it by adding some USB drivers support and its working!
Thank You!

Is it necessary to disable genup schedule if I work with custom kernel, packages, etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sakaki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2014
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777 wrote:
Is it necessary to disable genup schedule if I work with custom kernel, packages, etc?

No, if you like you can leave it scheduled, to keep the rest of your system up-to-date. Anything custom you add (packages etc.) will also be updated whenever genup runs, if new versions become available in the Gentoo tree, but these will be built locally (as they won't be present on the isshoni.org binhost).

One thing you will need to do however is to disable the binary kernel updates. To do so, edit /etc/portage/package.use/rpi3-64bit-meta, and add the following as the only uncommented line at the end:
Code:
dev-embedded/rpi3-64bit-meta -kernel-bin

Then as root, issue:
Code:
pi64 ~ # emerge -av dev-embedded/rpi3-64bit-meta

That will prevent your custom kernel being overwritten when genup triggers.
_________________
Regards,

sakaki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does any solution exists to eliminate Failed to set clock: 1200000 (-12) error in dmesg?
All options, as they are shown here, are enabled and maked https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi_3_64_bit_Install#Configure_The_Kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777,

That error says that something cannot change the Pi CPU frequency.

Which kernel are you using?
What do you have in the Pis /boot/config.txt?

That guide works for me with
Code:
 Pi3_64 ~ # uname -a
Linux Pi3_64 4.10.17-v8+ #7 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 9 16:31:01 BST 2017 aarch64 GNU/Linux

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel seems like You have..
Code:
Linux pi64 4.10.17-v8+ #2 SMP PREEMPT Tue Nov 14 15:34:08 GMT 2017 aarch64 GNU/Linux

I don't remember that I was doing something in /boot/config.txt , but here is its internals:
Code:
# For more options and information see
# http://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/config-txt.md
# Some settings may impact device functionality. See link above for details

# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
disable_overscan=1
# NB the VC4 graphics driver currently displays an offset cursor when
# overscan is in use (#17), so disable_overscan is now SET by default; should
# you require overscan for your display, comment the above line out again;
# note that if you do this, the rpi3-safecursor service (assuming you have
# it installed and enabled) will automatically enforce software cursor blitting
# in X11 (which is slower, but has no offset), and turn off Xfce4 display
# compositing for all users (to avoid glitches);
# for avoidance of doubt, having "disable_overscan=1" should _not_ affect you,
# unless using your RPi3 with an HDMI TV, rather than a computer monitor

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
#config_hdmi_boost=4

# uncomment for composite PAL
#sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
#arm_freq=800

# Uncomment some or all of these to enable the optional hardware interfaces
#dtparam=i2c_arm=on
#dtparam=i2s=on
#dtparam=spi=on

# Uncomment this to enable the lirc-rpi module
#dtoverlay=lirc-rpi

# Additional overlays and parameters are documented /boot/overlays/README

# Enable audio (loads snd_bcm2835)
dtparam=audio=on
#dtparam=i2c1=on
#dtparam=i2c1_baudrate=50000
#dtparam=i2c1_baudrate=50000

# select hybrid VC4 mode, so we can use X and gl
# see https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware/blob/master/boot/overlays/README
# we use a CMA of 256MB, 256MB-aligned (needs 1GB)
# per https://github.com/anholt/mesa/issues/56#issuecomment-263341225, no
# point trying to use >256MB, RPi3's hardware does not support it
dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d,cma-256
# per https://github.com/anholt/mesa/issues/56#issuecomment-263283300
# gpu_mem is for closed-source driver only; since we are only using the
# open-source driver here, set low
gpu_mem=16

# force 64-bit mode, per https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi
arm_control=0x200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777,

That looks OK.

Pastebin your kernel .config file.
I'll compare it with mine ... or you can. My .config
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems that everything is here:

Your is not configured, my is Y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE=y

Your is Y,my is not configured
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/ber5E3vZY2VlgcQoxqLk/

Seems that it is necessary to enter into Default CPUFreq governor (powersave) ---> and to set ONDEMAND, not POWERSAVE. However, I was following illustration only and this subsetting was not set.
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi_3_64_bit_Install#Configure_The_Kernel

Kernel is remaked and seems it works (at least, there are no more errors in dmesg). Is it possible to check does it really work and CPU freq is adjusted? Or I can check radiator heating only?

Also there are some errors in dmesg, but I dont understand are thay critical or not.. I will post them here just to know (I have very little experience in gentoo and also in linux)
Code:
[    0.000000] SLUB: HWalign=64, Order=0-3, MinObjects=0, CPUs=4, Nodes=1
[    0.000000] Preemptible hierarchical RCU implementation.
[    0.000000]  Build-time adjustment of leaf fanout to 64.
[    0.000000] NR_IRQS:64 nr_irqs:64 0
[b][    0.000000] Failed to get local register map. FIQ is disabled for cpus > 1[/b]

Code:
[    0.196959] SCSI subsystem initialized
[    0.197198] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
[    0.197315] usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
[    0.197482] usbcore: registered new device driver usb
[b][    0.197752] dmi: Firmware registration failed.[/b]
[    0.198149] raspberrypi-firmware soc:firmware: Attached to firmware from 2017-05-15 16:58

Code:
[    1.716448] smsc95xx v1.0.5
[    1.763719] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0 eth0: register 'smsc95xx' at usb-3f980000.usb-1.1, smsc95xx USB 2.0 Ethernet, b8:27:eb:28:f1:db
[    2.175561] random: crng init done
[b][    7.812547] cgroup: cgroup2: unknown option "nsdelegate"[/b]
[    8.543476] udevd[618]: starting version 3.2.4
[    8.744060] udevd[619]: starting eudev-3.2.4
[    9.349196] [drm] Initialized
[    9.522269] vc4-drm soc:gpu: bound 3f600000.firmwarekms (ops vc4_fkms_ops [vc4])
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777,

Code:
Your is not configured, my is Y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE=y

Your is Y,my is not configured
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set


You may have at most one CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV. That's the one that the kernel uses at startup.
Its possible to switch to another governor at boot, with a kernel parameter, or at any time.
However, the POWERSAVE governor forces the Pi to run at 600MHz. If you want to change that, you must firs select a different CPU governor.

Code:
[    0.000000] Failed to get local register map. FIQ is disabled for cpus > 1
I get that, so its probably harmless.

The others I will need to reboot for, which is not ideal right now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sakaki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2014
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All,

in the latest weekly autobuild, just pushed to isshoni.org, gcc-7.2.0 has been released. I've switched to this as the default compiler for the 64-bit RPi3 (replacing gcc-6.4.0), but binary packages for both versions of gcc are available on the binhost (for now).

Be aware that the libtool binary package on the binhost was built with gcc-7.2.0 (you should really rebuild libtool locally when upgrading gcc, but I pushed a new version in case anyone upgrades without checking).

Please let me know if you experience any problems with it.
_________________
Regards,

sakaki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good evening!
I'm a little bit confusing about network configuration..
The sakakis' image contains installed:
1) at least two network managers:
- net-misc/netifrc 0.5.1
- net-misc/networkmanager 1.8.4
2) at least two dhcp clients:
- net-misc/dhcp 4.3.6-r1
- net-misc/dhcpcd 7.0.0 rc3

The emerge --depclean reports that BOTH dhcp and dhcpcd are required for NetworkManager. Both simultaneously??
As dhcp operation ignore configuration in /etc/dhcpcd.conf , I suppose that net-misc/dhcp is general dhcp client. I was trying to uninstall net-misc/dhcp by running emerge -C but DHCP still is possible to assign IP for the network card, however, configurations in /etc/dhcpcd.conf are NOT ignored.

So, actually, how it works?

(I'm trying to detect multiple huawei 3372h, but this image obtain IP by dhcp only for the first one; while I have another gentoo 64 which is capable to detect IPs for three huawei simultaneously; thats why I'm worry about networking in this image)

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sakaki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2014
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orion777,

the gentoo-on-rpi3-64bit image uses NetworkManager by default. If you look at the shipped USE-flag configuration ("eix -I NetworkManager") you'll see that dhclient is set, and dhcpcd unset. The dhclient USE flag sets up the dependency on net-misc/dhcp (see the ebuild) and also sets the dhclient configure option, which in turn sets "NM_CONFIG_DEFAULT_MAIN_DHCP='dhclient'" at build-time.

So by default, NetworkManager is going to try to use dhclient to resolve DHCP. You can modify this of course; "man 5 networkmanager.conf" yields:
Code:
       dhcp
           This key sets up what DHCP client NetworkManager will use. Allowed
           values are dhclient, dhcpcd, and internal. The dhclient and dhcpcd
           options require the indicated clients to be installed. The internal
           option uses a built-in DHCP client which is not currently as
           featureful as the external clients.

           If this key is missing, it defaults to internal. It the chosen
           plugin is not available, clients are looked for in this order:
           dhclient, dhcpcd, internal.

Not sure why you are getting a dependency on dhcpcd though, since that USE flag is not set for NetworkManager. I shipped the package as part of the image for those who want to roll their own networking, but it isn't enabled by default (run "rc-update show -v" to verify this).

Also, NetworkManager should be able to support multiple WiFi adaptors (although I haven't tested this on the Pi). Make sure you have sufficient power supply. You can always setup wlan1, wlan2 etc. yourself, by adding them to NetworkManager's unmanaged interfaces, and then creating your own connections (using wpa_supplicant (bundled) and whichever DHCP client you wish).
_________________
Regards,

sakaki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orion777
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 163
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sakaki wrote:

the gentoo-on-rpi3-64bit image uses NetworkManager by default. If you look at the shipped USE-flag configuration ("eix -I NetworkManager") you'll see that dhclient is set, and dhcpcd unset. The dhclient USE flag sets up the dependency on net-misc/dhcp (see the ebuild) and also sets the dhclient configure option, which in turn sets "NM_CONFIG_DEFAULT_MAIN_DHCP='dhclient'" at build-time.
Not sure why you are getting a dependency on dhcpcd though, since that USE flag is not set for NetworkManager.

Ou, that is my fault: I was trying to emegre previous version, after that I was emegre actual, but I forgot to take a look into USE flags.. by default, network manager is installed WITH dhcpcd flag :/ So that is my fault, sorry..

Sakaki wrote:

Also, NetworkManager should be able to support multiple WiFi adaptors (although I haven't tested this on the Pi). You can always setup wlan1, wlan2 etc. yourself, by adding them to NetworkManager's unmanaged interfaces, and then creating your own connections (using wpa_supplicant (bundled) and whichever DHCP client you wish).

Mine are NDIS virtual eth interfaces.
So, if I discard them from the NetworkManager managed hosts, than I have to use /etc/conf.d/net as is shown here? https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Full/Networking
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
takhisis_astrafall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 127
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm trying to compile some packages trough chrooted env with qemu using your .img but something goes wrong.
Here is what i've done :

Code:
abyss rpithpc # cat ../qemu-wrapper-rpi3.c
#include <string.h>
#include <unistd.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv, char **envp) {
    char *newargv[argc + 3];
    newargv[0] = argv[0];
    newargv[1] = "-cpu";
    newargv[2] = "cortex-a53"; /* here you can set the cpu you are building for */

    memcpy(&newargv[3], &argv[1], sizeof(*argv) * (argc -1));
    newargv[argc + 2] = NULL;

    return execve("/usr/bin/qemu-aarch64", newargv, envp);
}

abyss rpithpc # ls -al usr/bin/qemu-aarch64
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3450392 déc.   4 14:16 usr/bin/qemu-aarch64

abyss rpithpc # gcc -static ../qemu-wrapper-rpi3.c -O3 -s -o opt/qemu-arm-rpi/qemu-wrapper

abyss rpithpc # echo ':aarch64:M::\x7fELF\x02\x01\x01\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x02\x00\xb7:\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xfe\xff\xff:/opt/qemu-arm-rpi/qemu-wrapper:' > /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc/register


Kind of error i got while compiling :

Code:
gcc-config: error: could not run/locate 'aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc'
[...]
checking whether the C compiler works... no
configure: error: in `/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/python-2.7.14-r1/work/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu':


Indeed :

Code:
abyss / # aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc
bash: /usr/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/6.4.0/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error


I think there is something wrong with my wrapper, but don't see what :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

takhisis_astrafall,

Tell how you built the qemu that is installed in the arm64 chroot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
takhisis_astrafall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 127
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NeddySeagoon

My build :
Code:
[ebuild   R    ] app-emulation/qemu-2.10.1::gentoo  USE="aio alsa bzip2 caps curl fdt filecaps gnutls jpeg ncurses nfs nls opengl pin-upstream-blobs png python sasl sdl seccomp ssh static-user* usb vde vhost-net vnc xattr -accessibility -bluetooth -debug -glusterfs -gtk -gtk2 -infiniband -iscsi -lzo -numa -pulseaudio -rbd -sdl2 (-selinux) -smartcard -snappy -spice -static -systemtap -tci {-test} -usbredir -virgl -virtfs -vte -xen -xfs" LINGUAS="-bg -de_DE -fr_FR -hu -it -tr -zh_CN" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" QEMU_SOFTMMU_TARGETS="aarch64 arm -alpha -cris -i386 -lm32 -m68k -microblaze -microblazeel -mips -mips64 -mips64el -mipsel -moxie -nios2 -or1k -ppc -ppc64 -ppcemb -s390x -sh4 -sh4eb -sparc -sparc64 -tricore -unicore32 -x86_64 -xtensa -xtensaeb" QEMU_USER_TARGETS="aarch64 arm -alpha -armeb -cris -hppa -i386 -m68k -microblaze -microblazeel -mips -mips64 -mips64el -mipsel -mipsn32 -mipsn32el -nios2 -or1k -ppc -ppc64 -ppc64abi32 -ppc64le -s390x -sh4 -sh4eb -sparc -sparc32plus -sparc64 -tilegx -x86_64" 0 KiB

Make the binpkg :
Code:
quickpkg app-emulation/qemu

Run within the root folder of the chrooted env :
Code:
ROOT=$PWD/ emerge --usepkgonly --oneshot --nodeps qemu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

takhisis_astrafall,

That says that static-user* is a new USE. You must build app-emulation/qemu with USE=static-user before you put it into the arm64 chroot.
Inside the chroot it will be the only program capable of running on the host. It cannot call libraries as all the libs inside the chroot are arm64.

Rebuild app-emulation/qemu and move it to the chroot again.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
takhisis_astrafall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 127
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mea Culpa Neddyseagoon,

My qemu was rebuild between the package creation and when i made "emerge -pv qemu" in my previous post
Here is what was installed :
Code:

abyss rpithpc # ROOT=$PWD/ emerge --usepkgonly --oneshot --nodeps -pv qemu

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

[binary   R    ] app-emulation/qemu-2.10.1::gentoo to /mnt/experiment/rpi/rpithpc/ USE="aio alsa bzip2 caps curl fdt filecaps gnutls jpeg ncurses nfs nls opengl pin-upstream-blobs png python sasl sdl seccomp ssh static-user usb vde vhost-net vnc xattr -accessibility -bluetooth -debug -glusterfs -gtk -gtk2 -infiniband -iscsi -lzo -numa -pulseaudio -rbd -sdl2 (-selinux) -smartcard -snappy -spice -static -systemtap -tci {-test} -usbredir -virgl -virtfs -vte -xen -xfs" LINGUAS="-bg -de_DE -fr_FR -hu -it -tr -zh_CN" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" QEMU_SOFTMMU_TARGETS="aarch64 arm -alpha -cris -i386 -lm32 -m68k -microblaze -microblazeel -mips -mips64 -mips64el -mipsel -moxie -nios2 -or1k -ppc -ppc64 -ppcemb -s390x -sh4 -sh4eb -sparc -sparc64 -tricore -unicore32 -x86_64 -xtensa -xtensaeb" QEMU_USER_TARGETS="aarch64 arm -alpha -armeb -cris -hppa -i386 -m68k -microblaze -microblazeel -mips -mips64 -mips64el -mipsel -mipsn32 -mipsn32el -nios2 -or1k -ppc -ppc64 -ppc64abi32 -ppc64le -s390x -sh4 -sh4eb -sparc -sparc32plus -sparc64 -tilegx -x86_64" 0 KiB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41738
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

takhisis_astrafall,

That's all correct then.

What does
Code:
$ lddtree <chroot>/usr/bin/qemu-aarch64
show?
The static build will return (interpreter => None)

Does your running kernel have CONFIG_BINFMT_MISC=y set?

Is the binfmt service in the default runlevel?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
takhisis_astrafall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 127
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddyseagoon,

It seems that all is good :(

Code:
abyss rpithpc # lddtree usr/bin/qemu-aarch64
usr/bin/qemu-aarch64 (interpreter => None)

abyss rpithpc # /etc/init.d/binfmt status
 * status: started

abyss rpithpc # ls -al  /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 0 déc.   4 16:29 .
dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 0 déc.   4 16:29 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 déc.   4 17:06 aarch64
--w------- 1 root root 0 déc.   4 17:06 register
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 déc.   4 16:29 status


Edit :

Nevermind,

It was my wrapper,

Modified
Code:
newargv[2] = "cortex-a53";
by
Code:
newargv[2] = "cortex-a8";

and it's working.


Last edited by takhisis_astrafall on Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on ARM All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 8 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum