Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Alsa Steam lockout issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lovot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2015
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:08 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Alsa Steam lockout issues Reply with quote

Steam, and steam games seem to like to hog ALSA, either the game has no sound, or nothing else has sound,

I get this error when the game has no sound:
Code:
AL lib: (EE) ALCplaybackAlsa_mixerNoMMapProc: Wait timeout... buffer size too low?


and so far google hasn't been super helpful

It seems setting the buffer size to a larger value should fix this, but I have no clue how to do that.


Last edited by Lovot on Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21631

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sound exclusivity often means that a program opened the sound device directly, rather than routing through the ALSA software mixer. What do other programs report when a Steam game locks the sound card? How have you configured ALSA in Steam?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2015
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOC gives a
Code:
"Can't open audio: Device or resource busy"
error

I didn't know you could configure ALSA in Steam, never saw anyting about that on the wiki pages, maybe i missed it...

I use
Code:
 export SDL_AUDIODRIVER=alsa
before executing Steam to get it to stop trying to use pulseaudio

I tried this (/etc/asound.conf):

Code:

pcm.dmixed {
        type asym
        playback.pcm {
                type dmix
                ipc_key 5678293
                ipc_perm 0660
                ipc_gid audio

                slave {
                        channels 2 # make 6 or 5.1 channel
                        pcm {
                                format S16_LE # S32_LE
                                rate 48000 # can also be 44100
                                type hw
                                card 2# your card
                                device 2 # your device
                                subdevice 0 #important?
                        }

                        period_size 1024
                        buffer_size 8192
                }

                bindings {
                        0 0
                        1 1
# Uncomment below if using 6 channel
#                       2 2
#                       3 3
#                       4 4
#                       5 5
                }
        }
        capture.pcm "hw:0"
}

pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmixed"
}


Get this error when a game tries to access the card with that config loaded:

Code:
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.1.4.1/work/alsa-lib-1.1.4.1/src/pcm/pcm_dmix.c:1099:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave


Note that "var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.1.4.1" does not exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2573
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:41 am    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Have you tried without any 'asoundrc' configuration, using the default automagic?

Often that's not quite possible though, at least not without re-ordering the cards for example.

Going with your configuration there, is it really card 2, device 2 that you want to be using?

Output of 'aplay -l' and perhaps 'aplay -L' could be helpful here.

As a sidey-note, setting 'SDL_AUDIODRIVER' should not be necessary, or at least I can't see it doing anything useful (once upon a time, it did help me to get sound, but that was many moons ago).
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2015
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:27 am    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Have you tried without any 'asoundrc' configuration, using the default automagic?

Often that's not quite possible though, at least not without re-ordering the cards for example.

Going with your configuration there, is it really card 2, device 2 that you want to be using?

Output of 'aplay -l' and perhaps 'aplay -L' could be helpful here.

As a sidey-note, setting 'SDL_AUDIODRIVER' should not be necessary, or at least I can't see it doing anything useful (once upon a time, it did help me to get sound, but that was many moons ago).


I appear to be slightly retarded, the Xonar (the card I use) only has 2 subdevices, 0 and 1, there is no device 2, i use device 0, so it was trying to open a non-existent subdevice with that asound.conf. I fixed it, and now the problem is fixed. Thank you for helping me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2573
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good it was just that! :]

As another sidey-note, there are some games using FMOD Studio, which doesn't quite respect (or see) the user configuration (Zombie Night Terror for example). While doing playtesting for certain titles, I noticed that adding

Code:
hint
{
    show on
}

for a PCM device helps FMOD in seeing it.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum