View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dufeu
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:30 am    Post subject: openrc 'service' binary removal: news post [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I've read the news post.

As a user, how can I tell if I'm using the "service" binary?

My current install dates back to 2007. Since I'm not a programmer, I often don't know about behind the scene items like this.

I'd prefer not to find out I'm using the binary "service" in openrc through updating then rebooting and then having something break.

;)

Last edited by dufeu on Sun Nov 26, 2017 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're not a systemd user, and you don't know you're using it, then in all likelihood you're not using it. It was never the standard or documented way of controlling init scripts in Gentoo. Booting does not depend on it. If you were a systemd user, I don't think you would see this news item in the first place.

- John
Hu

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically, a systemd user can get this message. The news item is gated by whether the system has <=sys-apps/openrc-0.33 installed. As I understand it, it's perfectly valid to install both openrc and systemd, then use only one and completely ignore the other. In such a case, someone who used systemd as their active init system might get this message because Portage reacted to the presence of openrc, rather than its usage.
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really don't understand this. They removed "service" and substituted "rc-service". Why not just symlink them and not make a big deal of it?