Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Jack Disables X and/or HID
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:46 am    Post subject: Jack Disables X and/or HID Reply with quote

After a recent update, when qjackctl starts in X, the desktop hangs and no context menus or typing will work; however, the mouse pointer still responds. Prior to starting qjackctl, normal operation and response (just with no sound). I tried to re-emerge jack and qjackctl to no avail. Cannot triage issue because I am locked out of my system after it starts and no hints from dmesg as far as I can tell prior to starting X.

Any suggestions on a starting point to assess even are appreciated. Would prefer fixing this rather than switching to pulse or some other audio suite.
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phobos13013,

Please tell me:
Code:

emerge -pv jack qjackctl

What video card you have.
What driver for your video card and driver version.

You *should* be on virtual/jack, but if you are not, please let me know what emerge -v jack-audio-connection-kit says.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much helping with this!

Code:
emerge - pv jack qjackctl


yields

Code:

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  .... done!
[ebuild   R   ~] media-sound/jack-3.1.1-r2::gentoo  PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-sound/qjackctl-0.4.5::gentoo  USE="alsa dbus -debug -portaudio" 0 KiB

Total: 2 packages (2 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


Video card is an ATI radeon onboard chip

pertinent info from dmesg:

Code:
[    9.943765] radeon 0000:00:01.0: fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    9.947454] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.50.0 20080528 for 0000:00:01.0 on minor 0


it appears I am on virtual, or at least emerge -S shows:

Code:

*  virtual/jack
      Latest version available: 0
      Latest version installed: 0
      Size of files: 0 KiB
      Homepage:     
      Description:   Virtual for JACK Audio Connection Kit
      License:       


and for good measure emerge -v jack-...-kit yields

Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  ... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit-0.121.3-r1::gentoo  USE="alsa pam (-altivec) (-coreaudio) -cpudetection -debug -doc -examples -oss" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse -3dnow" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


and installs to completion
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had totally forgotten there is a media-sound/jack that is a CD-ripper front-end. That's not the droid we're looking for.

There should be no issues with your video card. I asked because sometimes there are issues when using nvidia on an RT system. That doesn't apply here.

What do
Code:

equery depends virtual/jack

Code:

equery depends jack-audio-connection-kit

Code:

less /etc/security/limits.conf

and
Code:

less /etc/group | grep audio

say?
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

media-sound/jack unmerged....

Respectively, I get:

Code:
media-libs/aubio-0.4.1-r1
media-libs/dssi-1.1.1-r1
media-libs/portaudio-19_pre20140130
media-libs/slv2-0.6.6-r2
media-plugins/alsa-plugins-1.1.1-r1
media-plugins/gst-plugins-jack-1.10.5
media-sound/ardour-5.10
media-sound/audacity-2.1.3-r1
media-sound/fluidsynth-1.1.6-r1
media-sound/hydrogen-0.9.5-r1
media-sound/mpg123-1.25.2
media-sound/qjackctl-0.4.5
media-video/ffmpeg-3.3.4
media-video/mplayer-1.2.1-r1
media-video/vlc-2.2.6
www-client/firefox-52.3.0


Code:
media-libs/xine-lib-1.2.6-r2
media-sound/rosegarden-13.04
virtual/jack-0


Code:

#*               soft    core            0
#*               hard    rss             10000
#@student        hard    nproc           20
#@faculty        soft    nproc           20
#@faculty        hard    nproc           50
#ftp             hard    nproc           0
#@student        -       maxlogins       4


Code:
audio:x:18:phobos13013


So, you seem to have hit the nail on the head limits.conf, I edited it to include realtime access according to the example here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Sound/How_to_Enable_Realtime_for_Multimedia_Applications and re-booted, but it did not resolve the freezing issue, more must be at play.
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be. But first, you have xine-lib and Rosegarden depending directly on jack-audio-connection-kit. You also have the oldest version of Rosegarden in Portage. We need to fix those and make sure all JACK packages depend on the virtual.

I have xine-lib and Rosegarden in the Gentoo Studio overlay. These versions depend on virtual/jack, and are otherwise identical to the official ebuilds. (I hope to get the official maintainers to switch to depending on virtual/jack, but it takes time.)

https://github.com/audiodef/gentoostudio

You can add this overlay to your system, or pick out the individual xine-lib and Rosegarden ebuilds and drop them into your own local overlay. It looks like you have a nice audio system built, so I recommend adding the overlay. There are other fixes in the overlay, and I do take requests when people notice an old dependency on jack...kit.

Once you add the overlay - or add the ebuilds - keyword Rosegarden to ~amd64. It's up to version 17 - 13 is very old.

Once you've re-emerged xine-lib and Rosegarden, run a full update followed by a depclean and revdep-rebuild, make sure nothing depends on jack...kit, and see if the problem still persists. (It might, but the mixed jack dependency shouldn't be happening, so I want to eliminate that as a possible culprit.)

Make sure your limits.conf has the following lines:
Code:

*  hard rtprio  0
*  soft rtprio  0
@realtime hard rtprio  20
@realtime    soft rtprio    10

@audio  - rtprio  99
@audio  - memlock  unlimited

_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 4809
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:46 pm    Post subject: [Off-topic] Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
Make sure your limits.conf has the following lines:
Code:
*  hard rtprio  0
*  soft rtprio  0
@realtime hard rtprio  20
@realtime    soft rtprio    10

@audio  - rtprio  99
@audio  - memlock  unlimited
'audio' and 'realtime' are the wrong way round here (direct swap wrt rtprio only.)
jackd starts up with rtprio 10, for example (afair.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, not sure what newest version of rosegarden has to do with it but OK I bite, updated that with xine-lib the installed overlay and update world and depclean and revdep-rebuild. When i restart; same symptom.

equery depend jack-kit gives me same:

Code:
media-libs/xine-lib-1.2.6-r2
media-sound/rosegarden-17.04
virtual/jack-0


Soooooo no change. Also put those limits.conf, still freezes (except mouse cursor) when i start qjackctl in X.
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phobos13013 wrote:

equery depend jack-kit gives me same:

Code:
media-libs/xine-lib-1.2.6-r2
media-sound/rosegarden-17.04



Did you get the ebuilds from the Gentoo Studio overlay, or use the whole overlay and make sure these two are built from the Gentoo Studio overlay? They should not be depending on jack...kit.

Alternatively, if you want, you can move these builds to your local overlay and simply change the dependency from jack...kit to virtual/jack. Once they are rebuilt, this dependency should go away.

Also, can you find a jack dump/log anywhere?

EDIT:

I'm going to recommend trying the Gentoo Studio open beta. It looks like you have a nice audio/JACK setup, and Gentoo Studio aims to ameliorate issues like this. The link is in my sig.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I uninstalled rosegarden after upgrading hoping that would do it and also xine-lib. I installed the overlay but thats as far as I want to take it frankly. Looks like jack is not going to work on this system anymore. When I rechecked autosync for the overlays, it forced an upgrade to qt5.9.2 but that didnt do it either. Can't seem to find where jack is failing either in logs, so I cant really give much help to helping me it seems.

I will probably just bite the bullet and go to pulse. I have an old media center I am thinking of turning into an audio box, maybe that can be the one.

Thanks,
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, guess I am just frustrated with this; it does not appear things are installing to layman which is my limitation since I do not know how it works. It is why I resisted the overlay as long as I did, but I do not want to install a fresh install or if I do it will be on another box. If anyone has any other suggestions, appreciated; but otherwise I may have to move on. Will try somethings with layman in the meantime in terms of prioritization etc, but not seeing the way on this one.
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slow_cyclist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had a similar issue. I am pretty sure that it had nothing to do with audio, since I could run jackd and jack_connect to manually (and slowly) hook everything up. In the end I compiled qjackctl manually, with --enable-qt4, which gives me a program that runs just fine. I do have qtcore-5.7.1-r3, so I don't know why I have to set the qt4-flag. But, this way it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, for audio on Gentoo, there is still a bit of a mash-up with qt4 and qt5, with no reliably straightforward solution. Qjackctl does require qt4. Hopefully the maintainers/devs can switch it to qt5 at some point.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slow_cyclist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
Yes, for audio on Gentoo, there is still a bit of a mash-up with qt4 and qt5, with no reliably straightforward solution. Qjackctl does require qt4. Hopefully the maintainers/devs can switch it to qt5 at some point.


Oh. I guess that's the whole answer then, since there is no USE flag to prevent emerge from compiling with --with-qt5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is why package.use files are needed here. You can set your choice of qt4/qt5 in make.conf, but some packages will need qt4 if you've globally set qt5, and since you can't select both in make.conf without triggering "select only one of" errors, you need to set it in package.use.

I'm sure it'll sort out eventually. When qt6 comes along. :P
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well this is an interesting development at least; when I compile qjackctl it does indeed say it is compiling with qt5 elements. I do have qt4 as a global use flag and forced it when emerging with -qt5 but to no avail as audiodef says it is a mess. Unfortunately telling me to compile with --enable-qt4 is not enough info for my poorly developed brain. I assume this is some kind of ebuild requirement but I have never done an ebuild and just started using layman. This sounds like it is unresolved until a qt5 version of qjackctl is developed. So in lieu of that, is there any other jack interface I can use to get it going? This is my last hope here, otherwise to pulse i am forced, bleh.
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you can use the KXStudio tools available in the Gentoo Studio overlay - Claudia, Cadence, etc. I actually prefer these over qjackctl. If you try them, let me know if you have any trouble compiling.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phobos13013
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 245
Location: NOLA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, of course I get a block trying to install cadence (not seeing claudia either in portage) basically jack2 is clashing with jack-audio-connection-kit, I would imagine uninstalling jack-kit will cause a major breakage of stuff. Is there a way around this?

Code:
[ebuild  N     ] dev-python/PyQt4-4.12  USE="X dbus opengl svg -compat -debug -declarative -designer -doc -examples -help -multimedia -phonon -script -scripttools -sql -testlib -webkit -xmlpatterns" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_4 (-python3_5) (-python3_6)"
[ebuild  N    ~] media-sound/jack2-1.9.11_rc1  USE="alsa dbus pam readline -celt -classic -doc -libsamplerate -opus -sndfile" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7"
[ebuild  N    *] media-sound/ladish-9999  USE="-debug -doc -gtk -lash -python" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7"
[ebuild  N    *] media-sound/cadence-9999-r1  USE="-a2jmidid -pulseaudio"
[blocks B      ] media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit:0 ("media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit:0" is blocking media-sound/jack2-1.9.11_rc1)


Code:
  * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (media-sound/jack2-1.9.11_rc1:2/2::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    media-sound/jack2[dbus] required by (media-sound/ladish-9999:0/0::audio-overlay, ebuild scheduled for merge)
    media-sound/jack2[abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,
abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o32(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?] (media-sound/jack2[abi_x86_64(-)]) required by (virtual/jack-0:0/0::gentoo, installed)

  (media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit-0.121.3-r1:0/0::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit required by @selected


For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Working/Portage#Blocked_packages


[Moderator edit: broke long whitespace-free lines in code tags to fix thread layout. -Hu]
_________________
...and it should be known by now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5895

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best response I can give you is to use Gentoo Studio. It's literally the result of having been dealing with audio issues on Gentoo for years. It uses a stage4 installation, so these issues don't even exist immediately post-install.

If you do, please let me know how it goes. I'm actively soliciting feedback from the open beta of the current version.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum