Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
firefox & rust flag [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 6:28 pm    Post subject: firefox & rust flag [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,
According to "equery depends rust" my firefox supports it.
But rust does not appear in equery u firefox.

How 2 activate it?

Thks 4 ur attention.


Last edited by CaptainBlood on Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:08 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 309
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

Looking at ebuild files, support for rust use flag starts with version 52 (firefox-52.1.0-r1).

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tholin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't look like equery u lists masked useflags.
Code:
/usr/portage/profiles/base/package.use.mask:

# Ian Stakenvicius (25 Jan 2017)
# rust on mozilla packages is experimental
www-client/firefox rust
www-client/seamonkey rust
mail-client/thunderbird rust
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is commenting these lines the right way to go?
Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1329

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The proper way, is to make a package.use.mask in your /etc/portage (like you'd do for package.use and stuff) and disable the flags there... Otherwise you shouldn't be modifying the profile files directly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2374

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tholin wrote:
It doesn't look like equery u lists masked useflags.

It does list them.

Edit:
Sorry, of course it does not.


Last edited by charles17 on Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2374

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ct85711 wrote:
The proper way, is to make a package.use.mask in your /etc/portage (like you'd do for package.use and stuff) and disable the flags there... Otherwise you shouldn't be modifying the profile files directly.

Useless if the questionable package does not have the certain USE flag, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 38837
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CaptainBlood,

For a few versions of firefox, rust was optional. With newer versions firefox hard depends on rust.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
for i in $(equery hasuse rust) ; do equery u $i ; done
outputs installed stable firefox and thunderbird without any rust flag.
Actually, I'm also asking because there is:
Code:
n ~ # tree /etc/portage/profile
/etc/portage/profile
├── package.use.force
│   └── cross-avr
├── package.use.mask
│   └── cross-avr
├── use.mask
└── use.stable.mask

2 directories, 4 files
n ~ # cat /etc/portage/profile/use.mask /etc/portage/profile/use.stable.mask
-input_devices_libinput

-python_targets_pypy
-python_targets_pypy3
-python_targets_python3_5
-python_single_target_python3_5
-python_targets_python3_6
-python_single_target_python3_6

Those two files to unmask use flags.
Activating rust experimental flag seems very much alike.
So I wondered why not to set it from there...

I'm now wondering if I did it the right way in the first place.
I hope to be on the right track even if things need to be tided up a little.

Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the end of the day, seems like only /etc/portage/make.profile contents can be overriden.
So no rust flag activation, in a regular way:

Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarchy
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CaptainBlood wrote:
At the end of the day, seems like only /etc/portage/make.profile contents can be overriden.
So no rust flag activation, in a regular way:

Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.


Code:
[anarchy - ~]  cat /etc/portage/profile/package.use.mask/experimental
# Arun Raghavan <ford_prefect@gentoo.org> (29 Mar 2012)
# webrtc-audio-processing is only supported on x86/amd64. Possibly arm can be
# added.
# Arun Raghavan <ford_prefect@gentoo.org> (24 May 2012)
# Mask xen USE flag by default, unmask on x86/amd64 where it is supported.
media-sound/pulseaudio -webrtc-aec -xen

# Ian Stakenvicius (25 Jan 2017)
# rust on mozilla packages is experimental
mail-client/thunderbird -rust


There is your proper unmask

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's basically what i've done with another filesname though.
It did'nt seem to work...
Then latest portage went stable.. and it finally worked.

Side note: couldn't achieve firefox 52.3 against rust 0.21:
Code:
can't find crate for `cheddar
Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum