Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No sound in firefox without pulseaudio
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Windmill
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:10 pm    Post subject: No sound in firefox without pulseaudio Reply with quote

Hi, after I upgraded the system last time, I had no sound. I initially thought it was a problem with my video cards, or some alsa problems. But after trying some applications, I discovered I wasn't getting sound only in firefox. So I Installed pulseaudio (I received a warning on firefox when I went to youtube to install pulseaudio or else no sound, but that only after 2nd or 3rd time I opened it) and now I have sound on all websites. I think that you should at least receive a message when installing firefox that without pulseaudio you won't have sound, especially because it's not a required dependency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 5963
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Latest Firefox here makes sound, no PA installed.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!

Political Correctness is all about replacing imaginary injustice with real injustice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roki942
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 261
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread got me sound again.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1060964-highlight-firefox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Windmill
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I should install firefox without pulseaudio use flag? I use firefox-bin tho
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should either do one of these:
- not using firefox-bin and build your own without pulseaudio useflag
- use firefox-bin but with pulseaudio (if i remember well, someone suggest it works with apulse too)
- use a firefox version older than the one where they force pulseaudio on anyone (i think it came with v52)
- drop firefox and use another browser (opera is building really fast, and do the job)
Code:
    Mon Apr 10 08:35:33 2017 >>> www-client/firefox-52.0.1-r1
       merge time: 26 minutes and 39 seconds.
     Wed Apr  5 16:43:27 2017 >>> www-client/opera-44.0.2510.857
       merge time: 54 seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Astronome
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2016
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
- drop firefox and use another browser (opera is building really fast, and do the job)


I believe Opera is a binary only package, which is why it emerges so fast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shevy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

> - use a firefox version older than the one where they force pulseaudio on anyone (i think it came with v52)

Pretty weird that firefox developers force you to go that route if you do not have pulseaudio. It is like
a co-op with systemd. Wonder when Gentoo will be usurped next. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebaro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 1091
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All versions I've tried without pulseaudio crash/segfaults.
If I click any related video on YouTube I get this:

FF40:
Code:

Thread 70 "Media Audio" received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.


FF51+
Code:

Thread 72 "MediaPl~back #2" received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.


Did you find a version of firefox-bin that works without pulseaudio?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C5ace
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Posts: 184
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:40 am    Post subject: Re: No sound in firefox without pulseaudio Reply with quote

Windmill wrote:
Hi, after I upgraded the system last time, I had no sound. I initially thought it was a problem with my video cards, or some alsa problems. But after trying some applications, I discovered I wasn't getting sound only in firefox. So I Installed pulseaudio (I received a warning on firefox when I went to youtube to install pulseaudio or else no sound, but that only after 2nd or 3rd time I opened it) and now I have sound on all websites. I think that you should at least receive a message when installing firefox that without pulseaudio you won't have sound, especially because it's not a required dependency.

See https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1068146.htm
Quote:
bug_report
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 127
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:40 pm Post subject: Report this post Reply with quote
I had a similar problem: I had a firefox 52.2 with alsa (no pulseaudio) and I could play YouTube videos. Then I re-emerged firefox (same USE flags) and sound for YouTube videos was gone...

In my case, the solution was:
1) open a new tab, goto about:config
2) set browser.tabs.remote.autostart and browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2 to FALSE
3) restart firefox

Believe it or not: sound was back! Incredible!

See: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=627426


Works fine on my systems: Xfce, Alsa, Firefox 52.2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saturnalia0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
You should either do one of these:
- not using firefox-bin and build your own without pulseaudio useflag
- use firefox-bin but with pulseaudio (if i remember well, someone suggest it works with apulse too)
- use a firefox version older than the one where they force pulseaudio on anyone (i think it came with v52)
- drop firefox and use another browser (opera is building really fast, and do the job)


For firefox-bin with apulse, see this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1063930-start-0.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 4816
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another alternative browser would be palemoon (from overlay.)

Any experience on using it with ALSA would be good to read, as would JACK usage (if it makes a difference.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 558
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to use JACK, firefox still has support for that.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anarchy
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have reverted the bpf sandbox change, if you sync and re-emerge firefox you will find your alsa sound works as you are expecting it to. Once firefox-52.x reaches EOL we will only support pulseaudio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundrolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible make sound work in Firefox without install pulseaudio.

1. Install media-sound/apulse
2. As root in a terminal do: patchelf --set-rpath /usr/lib/apulse /opt/firefox/libxul.so

done

Let it rock, hear the sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2039
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steveL wrote:
Another alternative browser would be palemoon (from overlay.)

Any experience on using it with ALSA would be good to read, as would JACK usage (if it makes a difference.)

I use palemoon-bin with straight ALSA and youtube videos play fine. No jack, no pulseaudio.

BTW, I much prefer it to firefox which seems to get worse with every iteration (like openrc!), for some websites (my bank, but not my broker) you have to play with about:config to lie and say that you are the latest firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 305

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

soundrolf wrote:
It is possible make sound work in Firefox without install pulseaudio.

1. Install media-sound/apulse
2. As root in a terminal do: patchelf --set-rpath /usr/lib/apulse /opt/firefox/libxul.so

done

Let it rock, hear the sound


I had to quote this for it usefulness, especially as later versions will not "support" alsa.
apulse has been a savior in this regard, who would have thought 10 years ago we would make a shim around a complex failure to stear a robust backend?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundrolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is this package "www-client/firefox-bin-52.4.1"
New installed Gentoo October 30 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n05ph3r42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:03 pm    Post subject: Re: No sound in firefox without pulseaudio Reply with quote

Windmill wrote:
Hi, after I upgraded the system last time, I had no sound. I initially thought it was a problem with my video cards, or some alsa problems. But after trying some applications, I discovered I wasn't getting sound only in firefox. So I Installed pulseaudio (I received a warning on firefox when I went to youtube to install pulseaudio or else no sound, but that only after 2nd or 3rd time I opened it) and now I have sound on all websites. I think that you should at least receive a message when installing firefox that without pulseaudio you won't have sound, especially because it's not a required dependency.


HIYA,
Experienced same thing after FF update (AFAIK FF ver. 56). Solved this way: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA#HTML5_does_not_play_in_a_browser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum