Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
akregator causing desktop effects restart
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mani001
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 357
Location: Oleiros

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:20 am    Post subject: akregator causing desktop effects restart Reply with quote

Hi,

I have just updated to kde applications 17.04.3, and now akregator causes desktop effects to restart (I just need to start akregator and check on 3 or 4 different sources). Well, the pop-up notification says "desktop effects have been restarted", but they are actually gone, and the task bar looks ugly-gray. When this happens, dmesg shows

Quote:
NVRM: Xid (PCI:0000:01:00): 31, Ch 00000070, engmask 00000101, intr 10000000


If I disable "Compositor during startup", everything is fine (but I have no desktop effects).

I'm on nvidia-drivers-384.59-r1. A Fedora user reported a similar issue

https://lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/kde@lists.fedoraproject.org/thread/ROYS2NGD2TCGN5YLM7CQOPVN5XCLESP6/

Anyone else experiencing this? It seems to me this is a bug in akregator, or maybe qt or maybe kde-framewords, but just in case...

Cheers.

EDIT: when using nouveau (instead of proprietary nvidia drivers), akregator crashes :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skinjob2707
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. I've had this problem. Right now, I can't make it happen again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6880
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nvidia?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani001
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 357
Location: Oleiros

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. In fact, in the radeon-based computer I have at work, it's working without a hitch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6880
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My guess it is a known qtwebengine segfault in combination with nvidia-drivers.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skinjob2707
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. uname -a produces:
Code:
Linux bluemeanie 4.12.8-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 19 12:44:31 EDT 2017 x86_64 AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


emerge --search nvidia-drivers produces:
Code:
  x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
      Latest version available: 384.59-r1
      Latest version installed: 384.59-r1
      Size of files: 81,962 KiB
      Homepage:      http://www.nvidia.com/ http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx
      Description:   NVIDIA Accelerated Graphics Driver
      License:       GPL-2 NVIDIA-r2


I opened konqueror to change some settings and got a similar desktop freeze. The only way to fix it seems to be logging out and back in again.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I have at least similar issue: When using akregator it happens sometimes. And also sometimes when starting konqueror.

Effects gets "restarted", although they are not restarted. Replacing kwin will bring back the effect until it happens again. Kwin will print:
kwin_core: OpenGL 2 compositing setup failed
kwin_core: Failed to initialize compositing, compositing disabled

But the dmesg seems to be the root cause:
NVRM: Xid (PCI:0000:01:00): 31, Ch 00000028, engmask 00000101, intr 10000000
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum