Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
v86d removal in a month #606154
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
virtguru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Posts: 147
Location: Eire

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:14 am    Post subject: v86d removal in a month #606154 Reply with quote

hey just noticed that v86d is being removed in a month no maintainer most likely due to #606154

So what options do nvidia users have that rely on this running some older stuff ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

or, for that matter, I get the following error on kernel compilation:

Code:
 # make -j9 && make -j9 modules_install
  CHK     include/config/kernel.release
  CHK     include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h
  CHK     scripts/mod/devicetable-offsets.h
  CHK     include/generated/utsrelease.h
  CHK     include/generated/timeconst.h
  CHK     include/generated/bounds.h
  CHK     include/generated/asm-offsets.h
  CALL    scripts/checksyscalls.sh
  ./scripts/gen_initramfs_list.sh: Cannot open '/usr/share/v86d/initramfs'
make[1]: *** [usr/Makefile:55: usr/initramfs_data.cpio.gz] Error 1
make: *** [Makefile:1016: usr] Error 2
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....


I think that's a holdover from NeddySeagoon's instructions for migrating udev a few years back, but I'm not sure how to update it. Any suggestions?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45800
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus,

v86d is used by the uvesafb driver on 64 bit systems.

v86d going away is going to break uvesafb, which is popular with nvidia-drivers users for a framebuffer console.
It will not interfere with nvidia-drivers working as intended and it not related to udev.

For several years now nvidia-drivers has issued dire warnings about the use of framebuffer consoles not being supported but in practice, providing the framebuffer does not take control of the GPU, it seems to work.

With uvesafb no longer available, VESA framebuffer, Simple Framebuffer or for UEFI users, EFI Framebuffer are possible replacements.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

thanks for your reply. Do VESA framebuffer, Simple framebuffer, and or the EFI framebuffer provide for a high-resolution console during bootup? Maybe I'm just ignorant, but as far as I can tell that's the only thing I have it for.

Second, what about that failure in generating the initramfs? Is that part of the udev migration tutorial you posted a few years back? Is there an alternative to generating the initramfs that doesn't depend on v86d.

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45800
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus,

I don't have any UEFI equipment to practice on.

Simple framebuffer needs something to set it up before its used, the kernel uses whatever it finds. I've not tried it on AMD/Intel hardware but it on a Raspberry Pi it does 1920x1080, which is as good as it gets on a Pi. There, its set up by the boot loader.

vesafb only supports vesa modes. You pass parameters to it in the normal way. See the handbook.
What that means depends on your hardware.

I guess that v86d is a part of the user space that gives the uvesa driver its name. Being userspace, it goes into the initrd, so making the initrd fails.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

so, in this case (using proprietary nVidia drivers) I would/should have the following lines in my grub.cfg file:

Code:

# Use simpleFB
video=simplefb

# Set resolution and color depth
GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1200x32
 
# Keep resolution when loading the kernel
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep


To allow the kernel to compile the initramfs, should I change the framebuffer support to simplefb in the kernel config? Or is there some other place to do that?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45800
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus,

You will need to change the kernel from uvesa to simple but I don't know how to set it up on AMD/Intel.
I don't use grub2 either. My bootloader just works, so I don't see any reason to upgrade it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1320
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I also noticed that v86d will go away soon and I started to play around with the options mentioned above. At the end I stuck with the simplest solution for my setup (which is syslinux and NO UEFI): using vesafb with
Code:
vga=31b
in the kernel cmdline gives me a solid 1600x1200 resolution in the console. :happy:

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shibotto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 140
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My hardware: Sony Vaio VPCS11E7E, Nvidia 310M with legacy proprietary driver, so no nvidia-modeset.

Without v86d/uvesafb after X starts I can't use TTYs anymore, so this deprecation is seriously a problem for me. What happens if I ctrl+alt+f1 from a X session is fairly odd, but to summarize the screen strongly flashes and gradually dims to lowest brightness, instead of a TTY prompt I get a black/gray corrupted pattern. I can write in it and it works, although I can't see a thing, and I can even go back to X without a problem.

This was not a regression at some point, it has been acting like this since I bought it in 2010. I always thought (maybe I am wrong?) these strong flashes could damage my screen in the long term, so I was happy when I found uvesafb. Can you suggest me other framebuffers that could solve this problem? I would be glad to test them, though I need time as it heavily breaks my workflow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45800
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shibotto,

When my system was new, in 2009, I used nvidia-drivers with vesafb (no u) underneath.
Once nvidia-drivers dropped support for my card, I switched to nouveau.

vesafb only supports the vesa modes that your video card knows about.
Wide screen modes (other than 4:3) were added to the vesa standard rather late in the day, so it may not be a good fit for your screen.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shibotto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 140
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Shibotto,

When my system was new, in 2009, I used nvidia-drivers with vesafb (no u) underneath.
Once nvidia-drivers dropped support for my card, I switched to nouveau.

vesafb only supports the vesa modes that your video card knows about.
Wide screen modes (other than 4:3) were added to the vesa standard rather late in the day, so it may not be a good fit for your screen.


I tried vesafb on another distro, in order not to break my Gentoo, but same result. Right now widescreen or resolution in general is my last concern, I would be happy just to see the TTYs. I know with nouveau things work, but I'd rather delay that as much as possible, since it halves my battery life.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: it turns out the lines of code I posted previously are supposed to go in /etc/default/grub, and used by grub2-mkconfig to build /boot/grub/grub.cfg. However, I have never been able to get this method to work for my setup (I have / on a vg, and all my other subdirectories including /usr and /var are also on volume groups inside a RAID array). grub2-mkconfig consistently misidentifies the root, and then can't boot.

On the side, is there a way to fix this?

But back to the matter at hand: what is the syntax for editing /boot/grub/grub.cfg directly to include the correct framebuffer settings? Or rather, what lines would I have in there so that the console doesn't revert to some ugly 800x600 default when booting?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shibotto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 140
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there an alternative daemon to v86d for uvesafb? I don't really mind about the resolution, I just want my TTYs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnBlbec
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm not happy reading a resolution to remove v86d as i haven't found a solution how to replace uvesafb for old nvidia. v86d was buggy, yes, but it provides me a good resolution in my console and i haven't been expecting more. i'd rather use buggy v86d because i can't work w/o it :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5484

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greetings,

I'm using v86d and uvesafb as part of my project in conjunction with fbcondecor, after v86d will be removed, I assume that uvesafb will follow soon.
from this thread I understand that vesafb should work, in that case, how can I replace uvesafb with vesafb?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5484

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got it to work, did the same as said in the tutorial, disabled uvesafb, made sure vesafb ad sysfb are disabled.
removed v86d, added the correct resolution via gurb using vga and it worked.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
virtguru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Posts: 147
Location: Eire

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
got it to work, did the same as said in the tutorial, disabled uvesafb, made sure vesafb ad sysfb are disabled.
removed v86d, added the correct resolution via gurb using vga and it worked.


hey Daggystyle , Ive tried this and still cannot get a decent tty resolution. Would you share your config ? Also which tutorial were you following ?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hurricane
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:12 am    Post subject: Oh boy, what a mess. Reply with quote

I have a 2560×1440 display, and obviously want to use it too.

It seems there is no mode above 1600×1200 (or 1600×900 for 16:9) available for my GTX 295. :/

And I can’t use nouveau, because the developers don’t know how to set the fan on a dual GPU card with just one fan, and so the fan is always much louder than with the nvidia driver. (I would have to send the card to them. Which I may, if I replace it some day. But until then … what do I do?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solamour
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 649
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So... https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Uvesafb is no longer relevant?
__
sol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
virtguru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Posts: 147
Location: Eire

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

solamour , unfortunately no.

For some reason grub hangs at black screen if I edit the options in /etc/default/grub and rebuild grub.cfg

GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080x32
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solamour
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 649
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

virtguru wrote:
solamour , unfortunately no.

For some reason grub hangs at black screen if I edit the options in /etc/default/grub and rebuild grub.cfg

GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080x32
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep


What I ended up doing was to replaced all the settings described in https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Uvesafb (i.e. "Userspace VESA VGA graphics support", "Initramfs source file(s)", "video=uvesafb:1024x768-32,mtrr:3,ywrap", etc.) with the following.

Code:
Device Drivers
    Graphics support
        Frame buffer Devices
            AMD Geode family framebuffer support (FB_GEODE)
                # Need to be in-kernel (not module) to see penguin.
                AMD Geode LX framebuffer support (FB_GEODE_LX)

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="video=lxfb:800x600-32"


I used "FB_GEODE_LX", simply because that's what I have. If you have an AMD/NVIDEA/Intel graphic card, I think Direct Rendering Manager (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Framebuffer) would be a better choice.

I have another machine whose graphic card was not listed in "Device Drivers -> Graphics support -> Frame buffer Devices" section, so I used VESA instead.

Code:
Device Drivers
    Graphics support
        Frame buffer Devices
            VESA VGA graphics support (FB_VESA)

GRUB_GFXMODE=800x600x32
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

__
sol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5484

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

virtguru wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
got it to work, did the same as said in the tutorial, disabled uvesafb, made sure vesafb ad sysfb are disabled.
removed v86d, added the correct resolution via gurb using vga and it worked.


hey Daggystyle , Ive tried this and still cannot get a decent tty resolution. Would you share your config ? Also which tutorial were you following ?

Thanks.

do you see vesafb print in dmesg? try passing ask via grub and select the proper mode.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaDDeePee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 357
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm stuck with this, too.

i was runnging 2x gtx 1070 with initramfs and uvesafb.
what way should i go now? :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solamour
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 649
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaDDeePee wrote:
I'm stuck with this, too.

i was runnging 2x gtx 1070 with initramfs and uvesafb.
what way should i go now? :(


Have you figured out using Framebuffer with GTX 1070? I don't have any graphic cards manufactured in the last few years, but I've always thought using either "x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau" or "x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers" would be enough.
__
sol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaDDeePee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 357
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

solamour wrote:
MaDDeePee wrote:
I'm stuck with this, too.

i was runnging 2x gtx 1070 with initramfs and uvesafb.
what way should i go now? :(


Have you figured out using Framebuffer with GTX 1070? I don't have any graphic cards manufactured in the last few years, but I've always thought using either "x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau" or "x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers" would be enough.
__
sol


Hello,

yes - thanks. :P

:arrow: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1079196-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum