Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how do you play path of exile on gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cryptopsy1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:57 pm    Post subject: how do you play path of exile on gentoo? Reply with quote

I'm not a gamer or wine user, but i wondering how the framerate comapres in linux versus gentoo, so here i am trying to install it. How do i install it? I have tried various games in the past, like all the blizzard games, on wine, but would also give an error i could not figure out. Do i need play on linux? I need a guide, suitable for retards, and i intend to document my attempts in this thread.
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a l4m3 hobbyist g4m3r, so take my advice with a grain of salt.

I see that PoE is on Steam, which makes me suspect you need Steam for Linux. I used to have Steam on Linux, but I stopped using it some time ago, for reasons that have nothing to do with its functionality. It worked very well.

There is an overlay for this, but I don't recall what it is. You can also download Steam for Linux directly and install it.

If you didn't get it on Steam, my advice is BS. :(

I used to play various games on Linux, so I will jump in if I know something as this thread progresses.
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PoE does not require steam.
There are some support topics for PoE on Linux at PoE forums/wiki etc.
Unfortunately, I wasn't successful in my attempts, game keeps crashing with DX error just after loading screen (so I created a character and I'm unable to enter world).

I didn't really bother with troubleshooting it though, mostly went through their guide from wiki, failed, and gave up, since I didn't consider it important enough.