Corsair K95 RGB problems and reccomandations for alternative
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
marco.difresco
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:56 pm    Post subject: Corsair K95 RGB problems and reccomandations for alternative Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have been using a Corsair K95 RGB for about 7 months and while at first it was working fine, lately it started to give me problems.

The most common is key repetition: usually it is just the letter 'm' (on the videogames I play the letter 'm' is mapped to the Map function, so it is a key that I press quite often), but today I occasionally got the problem with the letter 'x'; the worst part is that the problem is not constant: some time the characters get repeated (even several time in a minutes depending on how often I press the character) and in other times I don't get the problem for almost an hour (for instance I have been using several 'm' on this very post and I am spending quite some time writing it and I never got any occurence).

The second problem is when I boot as the keyboard isn't recognized and I can't type anything; so far the only way I found to make it work is to start the computer without ckb-daemon loaded and unplug/plug back the keyboard few time; during those unplug/plugin times I get the following on dmesg:
Code:
new full-speed USB device number 38 using xhci_hcd
usb 1-5: unable to read config index 0 descriptor/all
usb 1-5: can't read configurations, error -110

and these messages get repeted for every unplug/plug attempt until the keyboard is finally recognized and I get:
Code:
usb 1-5: new full-speed USB device number 41 using xhci_hcd
usb 1-5: New USB device found, idVendor=1b1c, idProduct=1b11
usb 1-5: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
usb 1-5: Product: Corsair K95 RGB Gaming Keyboard
usb 1-5: Manufacturer: Corsair