triple boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
philipW
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:24 pm    Post subject: triple boot Reply with quote

hi,
Im new to linux and someone betted me that i cant install gentoo so now i have to install it.
Dont worry im not gonna ask you guys to walk me trough the installation process.
So i have a laptop (msi gt72 6qd) with a dualboot with windows and antergos i also wanna install gentoo on it.
can i just make some space free on my hard drive and install gentoo widout grub and when im done boot into antergos to reconfigure grub to find gentoo?
someone told me gentoo doesnt like grubs that are already installed.
thanks in advance,

Philip

Last edited by philipW on Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
cboldt
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can do what you want. If grub is already choosing between two boot options, it can easily choose between three (or more). Just don't allow any "automatic installer" to set up the boot options for you.
philipW
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cboldt wrote:
You can do what you want. If grub is already choosing between two boot options, it can easily choose between three (or more). Just don't allow any "automatic installer" to set up the boot options for you.

Ah oke that answered my question
Thanks!
cboldt
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go for quadruple boot! I put SystemRescue CD on my hard drive. It can share partition space with Gentoo, or with your other Linux installation.

Sysrescue is Gentoo-based, and provides a good platform to install Gentoo from. I keep it (sysrcd) around in case I make a screwup of my Gentoo to the point that it won't start up.
philipW
n00b
n00b