Gentoo Web Server ideas and Help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cowboy0629
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:52 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Web Server ideas and Help Reply with quote

Hi All as you all know I am fairly new to the linux community but I think i have come along way in a short period of time... anyways I have apache server running.. and I have it hosting two seperate sites that i have been working on for a bit...here is what I want to do and I had this setup along time ago when I first tried to get into linux but a guy from the USA helped me do allot of it and I can't find the HDD with this setup on it.. it was also a Ubuntu server,,,

I want to host a website for my Karate Club (we are a small club without allot of money to spend on this stuff)

(1) Host website (running but would like to be able to have my friend log in and update pages etc himself not have to give me the stuff to add) (winblows user knows nothing about the backend)
(2) Have a gallery type software where people from the club can log in and add photos and galleries them self web based bu galleries view availible to public viewing (had this before but can't remember software used)
(3) maybe some way of allowing people to chat live with each other Im thinking something like phpbb or something simple

if anybody has any ideas for this project or could lend a hand getting it up and running I would be extremley greatful

Thanks in advance
Mike Dennison
Naib
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally I quite like ZenPhoto ( http://www.zenphoto.org/ ). it isn't in portage, but is really simple to untar and setup.