Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED 2016 Edition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Elleni
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After having replaced thermal paste, my radeon R7 250E does a pretty good job on WoW and I can set graphical settings rather high ( 8 ) without overheating and still having nice fps with wine staging and d3d9 activated. And I realized, that fps significantely increase when having the following section in a
radeon.conf @ /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/:

Code:

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Radeon"
   Driver      "radeon"
   Option      "DRI3"   "on"
EndSection


Are there some other lovely options for xorg.conf or driconf or else, that could help improve the performance of gpu even more? :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, what are your temperatures like now? Is it back down below 90°C even when stressing it (and reverting the FPS override of course!)?

I need to work on trying to get D3D better, the graphics drawing is much better in D3D9 mode but so much slower. Opengl mode sometimes doesn't draw all the monsters around and I can't tell what killed me...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like WoW 7.1 was just released.

OpenGL is completely artifact-filled and almost unusable on my FGLRX/Radeon5770, so reverting to Direct3D.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Cool, what are your temperatures like now? Is it back down below 90°C even when stressing it (and reverting the FPS override of course!)?

I need to work on trying to get D3D better, the graphics drawing is much better in D3D9 mode but so much slower. Opengl mode sometimes doesn't draw all the monsters around and I can't tell what killed me...


Yes, often below 90 sometimes climbs up to 95 on very high load but then cools down quickly again. D3d9 with staging wine is very quick when having dri3 in xorg.conf! Although I cannot compare with opengl as wow is not starting with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

More tips and tricks for World of Warcraft:

I just found out that the patcher needs all WoW files to be owned AND GROUP owned by the user.

If the WoW files are owned by you, but the group owner is not, even though you have full permissions to read/write the file, PATCHER WILL FAIL and give you "please login as administrator"

Wow... that's a really messed up bug. This is probably Wine trying to emulate something, something I have no idea.

Hope this helps anyone who has patcher/Agent issues.

Clarification:

If you're user "wowplayer" who is in group "wowgroup" and "audio" (for ALSA...) and your WoW directory files is

Code:
-rwxrwxrwx 1 wowplayer users 14485480 Nov  3 20:35 Wow.exe


THIS WILL FAIL AGENT.EXE because you're not in group "users" despite you have full access to modifying Wow.exe !!!

You need to fix the group to:
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 1 wowplayer wowgroup 14485480 Nov  3 20:35 Wow.exe


for Agent to succeed.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to sort of repair my G965 machine, it had been dead for a few months as it wouldn't boot anymore due to hardware problems (refuses to POST and massive memory corruption problems). I got it to boot once more and updated WoW, and got like 4-8 FPS. Molasses slow.

This means my Q45 should work, but again, very slowly. Not sure what's up with my Q45, will need to figure out why it fails...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tips and Tricks

I found a hack that seems to work for this error that you get from wine:

err:d3d:resource_init Out of adapter memory

I set Wine to use less memory than I have in my video card which seems to work...

I have 1GB on my RadeonHD 5770. I set Wine to use 768MB. Use
Code:
$ regedit

Search for path
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER//Software//Wine

Create a key "Direct3D" by right clicking on Wine, unless it's already there.
Then create an entry
Code:
VideoMemorySize

and set the entry to the amount of memory you want wine to use in MBytes, in my case I used 768. Then restart WoW if it was running.

It made the errors go away. The error trouble was worst when it is constantly trying to allocate video memory, and the frame rate drops to 4fps or worse when it seems to try to do garbage collection... Now without these errors, it works smoothly in Direct3D mode. I'll need to check OpenGL mode again with this hack - I stopped using OpenGL because it didn't draw out all the doodads, water, lava, and mobs... I was wondering why I was killed with no apparent cause...

Oh and this was 7.1.5... Still can't fly...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there ANYONE whose OpenGL is working? It seems not - https://us.battle.net/forums/en/wow/topic/20749858224

An example is http://imgur.com/a/6BqOM ...

What's worse is that lava does not get drawn either, so you can hop into lava/fel and fry, or hop into water and drown...

It's a pity /opengl massively increases FPS over D3D9... and the last post in that thread seems to indicate opengl is indeed deprecated.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5575
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I copied my install to another disk and blew away ati-drivers and finally installed amdgpu/R600 ...

So far it looks OK. It actually seems a bit more stable than fglrx, less hangs (so far only hung once). I think I get a few more frames per second, to boot (d3d9 mode).

I did notice the gamma is really messed up, alas I run in windowed mode on one monitor, and don't know of any control panel like fglrx to change gamma... however xrandr can change the gamma:

xrandr --output DVI-0 --gamma 1.5:1.5:1.5

Now, I have dual monitors and knowing which output is which is some trouble, I just randomly selected them until it fixed the one that I wanted. Fortunately only one monitor had issues - though I can't remember if I had to set gamma on fglrx or not.

WoW on a mechanical disk is really slow... Using a 60MB/sec mechanical disk does not work well with WoW anymore, not sure about newer 160MB/sec hard drives.

I finally switched back to my SSD, muuch better...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum