Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel & world update: network stopped working (?)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
WvR
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:26 am    Post subject: Kernel & world update: network stopped working (?) Reply with quote

Hi all, I have a bit of a conundrum. I have approximately 15 years experience with Gentoo Linux.

I have a laptop (Lenovo G580) which has been running gentoo for 4 years. Yesterday, I decided to update the world packages (emerge -auvDN world), and I also upgraded the kernel to 4.4.39 (genkernel --logleve=5 --menuconfig --install --no-clean all). The only "custom" settings are: set "systemd", and only select the network cards of the laptop (i.e. Atheros 81XX for wired LAN and Broadcom 4313 for wireless with the brcmsmac driver).

I rebooted on the new kernel, and everything seems to be fine, except for the fact that internet does not work :-(

I have a wireless LAN in my house. My tablet and internet radio can connect to the internet just fine, which means that the network is functioning correctly. From my PC I can connect to the wireless router (192.168.2.1) and log in as "admin". This means that the network card is working fine.

Google Chrome reports something like "DNS BAD CONFIG".

What is going on here? Were there any changes in things like resolv.conf in the newest kernels? Or is this due to some other problem?
Hu

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote