Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nm-applet no longer automatically connects [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:28 pm    Post subject: nm-applet no longer automatically connects [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Pretty much the subject line. After my last @system @world update, this. It works fine - I can manually connect. It would be nice to have it automatically reconnect to the last network used, as it did before my last update. What should I check for?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
engineermdr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 273
Location: Altoona, WI, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm the problem is real as I'm having the same issue. I haven't resolved it yet, but added a script run upon resume that runs nmcli to make the connection that works most of the time. I don't have that laptop handy, but can provide the details later if you want.

Sometimes nm-applet won't even show me any available networks either. Seem to just get lost at times but straightens itself out after bringing a connection up with nmcli.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1753
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you be experiencing Gentoo Bug No. 595806 - net-misc/networkmanager-1.4.0-r1[consolekit]: doesn't automatically activate connections marked with "Automatically connect to this network when it's available". Thanks to the efforts of Herbert Wantesh, who filed a bug report upstream, NetworkManager developer Beniamino Galvani provided a patch on 12 October, which you can download and install easily:

Code:
# mkdir -p /etc/portage/patches/net-misc/networkmanager-1.4.0-r1
# cp /home/fitzcarraldo/Downloads/0002-session-monitor-fix-parsing-of-ConsoleKit-database.patch /etc/portage/patches/net-misc/networkmanager-1.4.0-r1/
# emerge networkmanager


I also had to remove NetworkManager from the default runlevel so that it didn't start before Consolekit (see the comments in the aforementioned bug report).
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
engineermdr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 273
Location: Altoona, WI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The patch works for me. Thanks.

And I learned you can add patches in /etc/portage/patches. Up to this point, I've been creating my own ebuilds in a local overlay for patching. This is much simpler.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1753
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

engineermdr wrote:
...I learned you can add patches in /etc/portage/patches. Up to this point, I've been creating my own ebuilds in a local overlay for patching. This is much simpler.

It's excellent, isn't it? Portage FTW.

However, that method does not work for all packages yet. It works for ebuilds with EAPI=6, and it works for an ebuild with EAPI lower than 6 if the ebuild calls epatch_user. See the following article in the Gentoo Wiki for details:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/patches
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. They were very helpful. 8)
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
engineermdr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 273
Location: Altoona, WI, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now today, after suspending overnight, nm-applet appeared connected, then 30-seconds or so later it bega searching and cam up with an empty list and I had no connection. I had to manually "nmcli connection up myssid". I made sure I had consolekit started before NetworkManager, as the bug described. Maybe I'll try going back to the version that worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
engineermdr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 273
Location: Altoona, WI, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm tried, but am still having the same issues with older versions of networkmanager as well. I noticed that the radio light wasn't turning on after resume, and found this thread, https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1257368, that suggested this was a kernel problem. So I tried reverting to gentoo-sources-4.1.15 and sure enough, it's working flawlessly through several suspend/resume cycles. I returned to networkmanager-1.4.0 with the patch and still good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sl70
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 377
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem but the patch is gone from Gnome bugzilla. Any other ideas?

Ah, now I see. The bug is marked as Resolved since there were some commits submitted on Oct 13. However, the latest patch in the portage tree is Sept 29. Perhaps I'll try the testing version 1.4.2....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1753
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sl70,

The patch is still there: https://bug772640.bugzilla-attachments.gnome.org/attachment.cgi?id=337514

Save it as /etc/portage/patches/net-misc/networkmanager-1.4.0-r1/0002-session-monitor-fix-parsing-of-ConsoleKit-database.patch
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sl70
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 377
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, @Fitscarraldo. I couldn't find it. Anyway version 1.4.2 didn't work any better, so I'm thankful for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What worked for me was using the allow any user option. No patch needed. I had to delete the auto-found network and manually create it so I could save that option in the settings, but that's not a big deal.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum