Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
memory: 256+256+512 = 1024, or not? (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:05 am    Post subject: memory: 256+256+512 = 1024, or not? (solved) Reply with quote

I have a really weird situation with my memory. Last week I've added more memory to my system (a 512 mb stick), but the 'free' command seams to think there isn't 1024 mb in my system at all:

Take a look at the free command:
Code:
root@hal9000 root # free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           882        820         62          0        174        353
-/+ buffers/cache:        292        590
Swap:          188          0        188


The sensors from my mainboard seam to prove there are 3 memory sticks in my system:
Code:
root@hal9000 root # sensors
eeprom-i2c-0-50
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at 0400
Algorithm: Non-I2C SMBus adapter
Memory type:            DDR SDRAM DIMM
Memory size (MB):       256

eeprom-i2c-0-51
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at 0400
Algorithm: Non-I2C SMBus adapter
Memory type:            DDR SDRAM DIMM
Memory size (MB):       256

eeprom-i2c-0-52
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at 0400
Algorithm: Non-I2C SMBus adapter
Memory type:            DDR SDRAM DIMM
Memory size (MB):       512



..but why isn't the total memory size 1024 mb? :?
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]


Last edited by vdboor on Thu Jan 22, 2004 3:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmz2
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 421
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does you mobo support 512 MB chips? you'll find it in the specs. There should also be a list of memory combinations you can use. Most likely you'll have to put the 512 chip to the first bank.

And if you're using older SDRAM memory, check if the 512 chip is two-sided (total of 16 black memory modules on both sides of the chip). In that case, and if your other chips are one-sided, you may need to leave the next bank empty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
celas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to compile the kernel to support 4GB memory space (somewhere under processor features) otherwise you'll only have access to about 830 MB or your memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

celas wrote:
You need to compile the kernel to support 4GB memory space (somewhere under processor features) otherwise you'll only have access to about 830 MB or your memory.


lol, it was indeed disabled in my setup. I'm recompiling now, but I think my issue is solved. The kernel help option told something similar too. :D

(update: it's solved :P thanks a lot)
_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum