Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Can't connect to the network (WIFI/WPA2).
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JackOz
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:05 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Can't connect to the network (WIFI/WPA2). Reply with quote

Hello, people!

I'm new in Gentoo. I wanted to install Gentoo on my laptop, but encountered a problem during setup.

Installation build: install-amd64-minimal-20160714.iso

Tried to connect with automatic and manual network settings, but unsuccessfully.
Code:
ifconfig

Shows the following: enp2s0(UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST), lo(UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING) and wlp3s0(UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST).

wlp3s0 not receiving packets (RX TX - all the zeros.). Of course ping does not pass too.
Code:
net-setup wlp3s0

Shows the following:
--------------------------
Interface name: wlp3s0
Device: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
MAC address: 40: and etc.
Driver: ath9k
Bus type:pci

But didn't connect to the network. I tried to enter essid and password several times, but unsuccessfully(wired connection works fine, but i want WIFI/WPA2.). In manual, the same.

In Ubuntu and Arch, all works perfectly. I don't know what to do.

Help me, please! :cry:

------------------------

Last edited by JackOz on Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
ian.au
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi JackOz,

Wireless won't work from the minimal setup cd (it's *very* minimal).

Get a copy of https://www.system-rescue-cd.org/SystemRescueCd_Homepage as the boot media, it's about the de-facto standard here, the underlying system is gentoo, and it eliminates a lot of issues, including the one you are experiencing.

Just boot from it, follow the handbook closely and enjoy the journey. Welcome to Gentoo.

Cheers,

Ian
JackOz
n00b
n00b