Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't start X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:57 am    Post subject: Can't start X Reply with quote

Hi

after running startx I have error:

Error: cannot create directory "(null)/ksocket-raquel": No such file or directory

After creating simlink:

~/.kde4/socket-localhost pointing to /tmp/ksocket-raquel

i got:

Error: "~/.kde4/socket-localhost" points to /tmp/ksocket-raquel" instead of "(null)/ksocket-raquel"

Please help with this null...

After:

echo $TMPDIR
and
echo $KDETMP

i got empty line

but after

export TMPDIR=/tmp
export KDETMP=/tmp
startx

still the same errors...

Thanks in advantage.
KK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it a new installation or this error is in a old Gentoo's installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is the thing you did before this error? do you remember?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update and restart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luna80
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 1125
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using root or another user?
_________________
*** !f j00 c4n r34D tH15 tH3N j00 n33D t0 l0g Off ***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

both
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you run emerge world it should have update kde.

Quote:

...
After creating simlink:

~/.kde4/socket-localhost pointing to /tmp/ksocket-raquel
...


Kde 4 should be update to kde5, i think so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

System is up to date :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, do you have kde4 or kde5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde5

I re-emerged world and after restart system started.
Now in my home directory I have "(null)" folder with "ksocket-raquel" dir.

but now I have another problem:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild N ] kde-base/kwin-4.11.22:4/4.11::gentoo USE="opengl (-aqua) -debug -gles -wayland" 13237 KiB
[ebuild N ~] x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8-r3::gentoo USE="cairo dbus kde svg -fuse -gconf -gnome -gtk" 1098 KiB
[blocks B ] kde-base/kwin:4 ("kde-base/kwin:4" is blocking kde-plasma/kwin-5.5.5)

Total: 2 packages (2 new), Size of downloads: 14334 KiB
Conflict: 1 block (1 unsatisfied)

* Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
* installed at the same time on the same system.

(kde-plasma/kwin-5.5.5:5/5::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
>=kde-plasma/kwin-5.5.5:5 required by (kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.5.5-r2:5/5::gentoo, installed)
>=kde-plasma/kwin-5.5.5:5 required by (kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.5.5:5/5::gentoo, installed)
>=kde-plasma/kwin-5.5.5:5 required by (kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.5.5-r1:5/5::gentoo, installed)

(kde-base/kwin-4.11.22:4/4.11::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
>=kde-base/kwin-4.2.0 required by (x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8-r3:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)


Any help?
Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another question.
Is this "(null)" directory normal?
Do you have it too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22216
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raquel666 wrote:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild N ] kde-base/kwin-4.11.22:4/4.11::gentoo USE="opengl (-aqua) -debug -gles -wayland" 13237 KiB
[ebuild N ~] x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8-r3::gentoo USE="cairo dbus kde svg -fuse -gconf -gnome -gtk" 1098 KiB
[blocks B ] kde-base/kwin:4 ("kde-base/kwin:4" is blocking kde-plasma/kwin-5.5.5)

This happens because compiz with use flag kde require kwin:4 but you've installed plasma 5 (then kwin:5).
kwin:4 and kwin:5 cannot coexist. You can try to disable kde use flag to compiz but I don't know if it work with plasma 5.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raquel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes
Use flag "-kde" works. Thx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum