Unable to automatically boot via grub
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tokiwinter
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2016 1:04 am    Post subject: Unable to automatically boot via grub Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm new to Gentoo and GRUB2, but generally a very experienced Linux administrator - just a bit stumped with an issue I'm having. I've built two Gentoo machines, one with OpenRC and standard partitions (kurns), the other with LVM and systemd (snrub).

I completed the installation, and ran grub2-install /dev/sda and grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg on both. I also updated /etc/default/grub on snrub with the following:

Code:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="dolvm init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd"

before running the grub2-mkconfig. If I check /boot/grub/grub.cfg on snrub it all appears fine. If I reboot them ... kurns boots fine. Snrub just sits at the grub prompt. If I manually enter

Code:

set root=(hd0,1)
linux /path/to/vmlinuz root=/dev/vg_sys/lv_root dolvm init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd
initrd /path/to/initramfs
boot

the box comes up fine. Or, if I type

Code:

configfile (hd0,1)/grub/grub.conf

I can boot from the menu. I've created the menu.lst symlink. Any ideas why it's seemingly not reading grub.conf automatically? Of course, happy to provide whatever configs/command output you guys need.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Cheers,
Toki
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2016 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Gentoo if I am right, using Grub2 mean that grub2-install and grub2-mkconfig are working in the /boot/grub2 directory and not /boot/grub as with Grub1. So, if you do
Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

than the Bios Grub2 boot loader in the Mbr should see it's configuration file at the right place /boot/grub2/grub.cfg.