[Solved] Journal aborted after random amount of time
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Stamper
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:24 am    Post subject: [Solved] Journal aborted after random amount of time Reply with quote

Hi everyone!

I have been using Gentoo for a couple of months now so I know the basics but now I am treading advanced waters where I don't know yet how to swim :P.
Hopefully some of you guys and girls might be willing and able to help shed some light on this issue.

The Issue / Symptoms
After a fresh install, we receive a Journal aborted error on an ext4 partitioned Samsung Pro 850 512Gb SSD. This error is received after login after an arbitrary amount of time. The system does not connect to newly-plugged-in USB keyboards or mouses. The system does not respond on an SSH connect request. The system does not respond to any commands on an already-plugged-in USB keyboard.

The literal error:
[<timestamp>] EXT4-fs error (Device sda3): ext4_journal_check_start:56: Detected aborted journal
[<timestamp>] EXT4-fs (sda3): Remounting filesystem read-only

Sda3 is our root partition so it seems this crashes the OS into a complete unrecoverable, non-responsive state. Tried looking to the different logs in /var/log, but they do not contain any new logs around the time of the symptoms.

My thoughts
First of all, I was completely stomped when I first experience this error! We are still checking to see if it could be a hardware-related issue or not. I do wanted to start this thread to see if anyone maybe knows what is going on here; if it might be a software- or driver-related issue.