View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
paulj
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been using KDE5 via the overlay for several months on my desktop machine, and based on the stable condition I recently moved my laptop from kde4 to kde5. I have noticed with the recent round of updates that there seems to be a lot of background CPU usage, and also there is a memory leak in QTDeclarative-5.5.1-r1. I came across a patch for that yesterday, and that seems to have resolved the problem (which reminds me, I need to go off and post a bug and the patch for everyone else...). The CPU usage seems to be related to Baloo and file indexing. I have a home directory with more than 100Gb (stuff like Virtualbox uses lots of space), and Baloo was busy trying to index it all. The Search configuration via system settings is virtually useless. If you have a problem in this area, read the information on the kde website (https://community.kde.org/Baloo/Configuration) , and modify the configuration file by hand - it seems to be the recommended approach, and is much more flexible. At the moment, I have also stopped using plasmoids for CPU usage etc. They seem to add more to the CPU usage than I care to allow...!

I am glad I moved over, but using kde4 on my laptop and kde5 on the desktop was actually no problem. If you want a problem free life, kde4 is stable and sorted, so stay with it. If you want to have the latest, then change to kde5, but remember it is still in development!

Edit: Bug submitted with patch: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=578438
Edit 2: Added the link to the kde information about baloo configuration)
billydv
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote