Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]grub:0 no longer works
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Irre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Nov 2013
Posts: 434
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:00 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]grub:0 no longer works Reply with quote

When I run this I get Segmentation error:
Code:
grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/sdb
/sbin/grub-install: line 432: 32733 Segmenteringsfel        $grub_shell --batch $no_floppy --device-map=$device_map  > $log_file <<EOF
dump ${root_drive}${tmp} ${img_file}
quit
EOF
...

LILO still works fine, so there is no cow on the ice:
Code:
#cat /etc/lilo.conf
lba32
boot = /dev/sdb
map = /boot/map
backup = /boot/lilobackup
timeout = 100
vga = normal
image = /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.0.2-gentoo
             label = "Linux"
             #root = /dev/sdb2
             root = "UUID=c098e524-8ed6-4b81-897a-5d5af7f36a88"
             read-only
#lilo
Added Linux  *


Last edited by Irre on Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:21 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1555
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check if the --root-directory parameter exist with
Code:
man grub-install

and
Code:
grub-install --help

I see only the facultative --boot-directory as a close parameter who would give
Code:
grub-install --boot-directory=/boot/grub /dev/sdb

Do not forget to mount your /boot partition before if you have one.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef.95
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 4554
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:41 pm    Post subject: grub:0 no longer works Reply with quote

Hm, or its a Bug 564890 ?
Can you test it with a gcc:4.8 build grub:0 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Irre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Nov 2013
Posts: 434
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for suggestions. I'm almost certain that I used the command above some months ago. So it's probably a bug when using new compiler. Unfortunatly I didn't keep old gcc version. I stick to LILO or try grub2 later if I ever understand how to do it. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Irre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Nov 2013
Posts: 434
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:20 am    Post subject: Re: grub:0 no longer works Reply with quote

Josef.95 wrote:
Hm, or its a Bug 564890 ?
Can you test it with a gcc:4.8 build grub:0 ?

Yes, this was the error! :D

I had saved the binary package of gcc-4.8.5.
Re-emerging this version and grub:0 solved everything. I think I keep gcc-4.8 in my world-file
Code:
gcc-config -l
 [1] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.8.5 *
 [2] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.9.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum