Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
why can't equery find kicad? [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:48 am    Post subject: why can't equery find kicad? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

I am setting up an overlay to add a more recent kicad build, but when I do emerge kicad, it does not see it and just wants to rebuild the existing version.

I tried to check what versions were seen by portage using equery and it does not find ANY. Not even the one it is prepared to rebuild :?

Code:
(chroot) linbox kicad # equery list -p portage
 * Searching for portage ...
[-P-] [  ] sys-apps/portage-2.2.8-r2:0
[-P-] [  ] sys-apps/portage-2.2.14:0
[-P-] [  ] sys-apps/portage-2.2.15:0
[-P-] [  ] sys-apps/portage-2.2.17:0
[IP-] [  ] sys-apps/portage-2.2.18:0
[-P-] [ -] sys-apps/portage-9999:0
(chroot) linbox kicad # equery list -p kicad
 * Searching for kicad ...
(chroot) linbox kicad # emp !$
emp kicad

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] sci-electronics/kicad-20130518 [20130518]


What am I missing.

TIA, Gentree. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86


Last edited by Gentree on Sat May 02, 2015 6:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6050
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you told portage (via make.conf) where your overlay exists?
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but the point was equery was not even finding the version of kicad that is the tree.

I realised that I've put the overlay under the main portdir, which means it will be wiped out by a sync.

This may induce some error in portage that is not being trapped.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6050
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you made the manifest ?
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally it most likely be a cache issue. Portage/emerge is detecting the invalid cache and doing a manual lookup. Equery is using the portage api which is not detecting the invalid cache so the portage code is not doing the manual lookup.

But I can re-produce it on my system 8O

I'll look into it.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I did some debug testing. It turns out on my system I have a duplicate tree (the CVS commit tree is visible to portage) which is an overlay, so it is being filtered out.

If I add the -o option it does print the correct result.

I suspect you are getting the same reason for not seeing it. You also have a kicad pkg in an installed overlay on that system.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, there's that few years old bug of equery, that for the last 6 months or so had a technically incorrect, but fully working patch, that sounds like this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you be more specific about that bug and patch?

I have separated my local overlay from the main tree. I have run ebuild *ld digest on my new ebuild and it grabs the source tarballs.

equery list -p kicad does now show the original version in portage.

However, I still don't get see my ebuild showing up in equery or emerge -p kicad.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to add the " -o, --overlay-tree" too. Otherwise it filters out any overlay or installed versions.

Code:
equery -po kicad

_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 # equery list  -po kicad
 * Searching for kicad ...
[IP-] [  ] sci-electronics/kicad-20130518:0
[--O] [ -] sci-electronics/kicad-20150320-r1:0


Many thanks, I missed that trick.

equery finds it but emerge still wants to rebuild the original version. :?


EDIT. Ah don't worry, the ebuild I grabbed was missing ~x86 and only had ~amd64 .
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it shouldn't be all that hard to find in bugzilla...

:sigh:...here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2015 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to all, particularly dol-sen. Kicad is now installed at March 2015 vintage. Much more upto date than the 2013 version in the main tree.

8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is a old thread ... but could you share your 2015 ebuild?

:oops:
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://github.com/schorsch1976/portage
git clone https://github.com/schorsch1976/portage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, hope this copies OK:

Code:
# Copyright 1999-2014 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

EAPI="5"
PYTHON_COMPAT=( python2_7 )

WX_GTK_VER="3.0"

inherit bzr cmake-utils fdo-mime flag-o-matic gnome2-utils python-r1 vcs-snapshot wxwidgets

DESCRIPTION="Electronic Schematic and PCB design tools."
HOMEPAGE="http://www.kicad-pcb.org"

SRC_REVISION="35c23f31356957037b859619185e16f40a073585"
LIB_REVISION="d47d59a304a496641373fa9d3b08825d9523813a"
DOC_REVISION="e6f376c511b37597b646b634b3dbe39e78c8594d"
SRC_URI="https://github.com/KiCad/${PN}-source-mirror/tarball/${SRC_REVISION} -> ${P}.tar.gz
   !minimal? ( https://github.com/KiCad/${PN}-library/tarball/${LIB_REVISION} -> ${P}-library.tar.gz )
   help? ( https://github.com/blairbonnett-mirrors/${PN}-doc/tarball/${DOC_REVISION} -> ${P}-doc.tar.gz )
   i18n? ( https://github.com/blairbonnett-mirrors/${PN}-doc/tarball/${DOC_REVISION} -> ${P}-doc.tar.gz )"

LICENSE="GPL-2"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~x86"
IUSE="boost doc debug examples github help i18n minimal python webkit"

REQUIRED_USE="github? ( webkit )"

# Additional languages to install besides English
LANGS="bg ca cs de el_GR es fi fr hu it ja ko nl pl pt ru sk sl sv zh_CN"
for lang in ${LANGS}; do
   IUSE+=" linguas_${lang}"
done

CDEPEND="x11-libs/wxGTK:${WX_GTK_VER}[X,opengl,webkit?]
   python? ( dev-python/wxpython:${WX_GTK_VER}[opengl] )
   x11-libs/cairo
   media-libs/glew
   app-arch/bzip2
   dev-libs/openssl"
DEPEND="${CDEPEND}
   >=dev-util/cmake-2.8.12.2
   boost? ( >=dev-libs/boost-1.54[context,threads,python?] )
   !boost? ( dev-vcs/bzr )
   app-arch/xz-utils
   doc? ( app-doc/doxygen )"
RDEPEND="${CDEPEND}
   sys-libs/zlib
   sci-electronics/electronics-menu"

src_prepare() {
   # If help or i18n required link the unpacked doc dir into the main source
   if use help || use i18n; then
      ln -s ${WORKDIR}/${P}-doc ${S}/${PN}-doc || die "ln failed"
   fi
   # If not minimal link the unpacked libraries dir into the main source
   if ! use minimal; then
      ln -s ${WORKDIR}/${P}-library ${S}/${PN}-library || die "ln failed"
   fi

   if use python;then
      # dev-python/wxpython don't support python3
      sed '/set(_PYTHON3_VERSIONS 3.3 3.2 3.1 3.0)/d' -i CMakeModules/FindPythonLibs.cmake || die "sed failed"
   fi

   # Only install help, tutorials, i18n in requested languages (English is installed by default)
   if use help || use i18n; then
      # Go thorugh doc make configs and remove unused languages
      for lang in ${LANGS}; do
         if ! use linguas_${lang}; then
            sed "s| \<${lang}\>||" -i ${PN}-doc/{internat,doc/{help,tutorials}}/CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
         fi
      done
      # Since help and i18n languages are in the same package disable the
      # compilation/installation of the non required parts
      if ! use help; then
         sed -e '/add_subdirectory( doc/tutorials )/d' -i ${PN}-doc/CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
         sed -e '/add_subdirectory( doc/help )/d' -i ${PN}-doc/CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
      fi
      if ! use i18n; then
         sed -e '/add_subdirectory( internat )/d' -i ${PN}-doc/CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
      fi
   fi

   # Add important missing doc files
   sed -e 's/INSTALL.txt/AUTHORS.txt CHANGELOG.txt README.txt TODO.txt/' -i CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"

   # Handle optional minimal install. If minimal turned off install parts lib
   if use minimal; then
      sed -e '/add_subdirectory( template )/d' -i CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
   else
      sed "/add_subdirectory( bitmaps_png )/a add_subdirectory( ${PN}-library )" -i CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
      sed '/make uninstall/,/# /d' -i ${PN}-library/CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
   fi

   # Add documentation and fix necessary code if requested
   if use help; then
      sed "/add_subdirectory( bitmaps_png )/a add_subdirectory( ${PN}-doc )" -i CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
      sed '/make uninstall/,$d' -i ${PN}-doc/CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
   fi

   # Install examples in the right place if requested
   if use examples; then
      sed -e 's:${KICAD_DATA}/demos:${KICAD_DOCS}/examples:' -i CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
   else
      sed -e '/add_subdirectory( demos )/d' -i CMakeLists.txt || die "sed failed"
   fi
}

src_configure() {
   if ! use boost; then
      bzr whoami "anonymous"
   fi
   if use amd64; then
      append-cxxflags -fPIC
   fi
   need-wxwidgets unicode

   mycmakeargs="${mycmakeargs}
      -DKICAD_DOCS=/usr/share/doc/${PN}
      -DKICAD_HELP=/usr/share/doc/${PN}/help
      -DwxUSE_UNICODE=ON
      $(cmake-utils_use boost KICAD_SKIP_BOOST)
      $(cmake-utils_use github BUILD_GITHUB_PLUGIN)
      $(cmake-utils_use python KICAD_SCRIPTING)
      $(cmake-utils_use python KICAD_SCRIPTING_MODULES)
      $(cmake-utils_use python KICAD_SCRIPTING_WXPYTHON)
      $(cmake-utils_use webkit KICAD_USE_WEBKIT)"
   cmake-utils_src_configure
}

src_compile() {
   use doc && doxygen Doxyfile
}

src_install() {
   cmake-utils_src_install
   if use doc ; then
      insinto /usr/share/doc/${PN}
      doins uncrustify.cfg
      cd Documentation
      doins -r GUI_Translation_HOWTO.pdf guidelines/UIpolicies.txt doxygen/*
   fi
}

pkg_preinst() {
   gnome2_icon_savelist
}

pkg_postinst() {
   fdo-mime_desktop_database_update
   fdo-mime_mime_database_update
   gnome2_icon_cache_update

   if use minimal ; then
      ewarn "If the schematic and/or board editors complain about missing libraries when you"
      ewarn "open old projects, you will have to take one or more of the following actions :"
      ewarn "- Install the missing libraries manually."
      ewarn "- Remove the libraries from the 'Libs and Dir' preferences."
      ewarn "- Fix the libraries' locations in the 'Libs and Dir' preferences."
      ewarn "- Emerge ${PN} without the 'minimal' USE flag."
      ewarn ""
      elog
   fi
   if use i18n ; then
      ewarn "When using language localizations make sure the locale is set in /etc/locale.gen"
      ewarn "otherwise ${PN} will complain that the language cannot be set."
      ewarn ""
   fi
   elog "You may want to emerge media-gfx/wings if you want to create 3D models of components."
}

pkg_postrm() {
   fdo-mime_desktop_database_update
   fdo-mime_mime_database_update
   gnome2_icon_cache_update
}

_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Oct 2002
Posts: 834
Location: Somerville, MA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I set up an overlay today that might work for you as well:

https://github.com/iwoloschin/overlay

It's a work in progress, and it's only tested on my Funtoo box (which is why wxPython is included), but it compiles and it seems to work. This is for the brand new, just release 4.0 Stable RC. It compiles, and it runs, but there may be some errors, either in my packaging, or bugs upstream.

Oh, you might need to mask the old 2013 version in the main Portage tree, at least I had to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CarstenIQ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you "Ian" for sharing your ebuild/overlay for KiCAD. It helped me a lot to get KiCAD 4 running on my machine.
_________________
Gentoo Linux Rocks...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum