Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Portage version management breaks down for JDKs?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
clattuc
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2002 5:05 pm    Post subject: Portage version management breaks down for JDKs? Reply with quote

Strictly speaking it doesn't - but in this situation it's very inconvenient, and probably not limited to Java development either.

I'll explain:
I'm a Java developer, and usually have a few different versions of the JDK installed. Not a very unusual situation on a development station.
For example, at the moment I have Blackdown's JDK 1.3, IBM's 1.1.8, IBM's 1.3.1, Sun's 1.3.1_03 and Sun's 1.4.0 installed. (And Sun's J2EE 1.3.1 as well)

Now, when I do a "emerge clean world", it tries to uninstall Sun's 1.3.1_03. Although 1.4.0 supersedes 1.3.1_03, it doesn't replace it, and portage shouldn't try to uninstall it.

Interestingly, it doesn't do this for some other ebuilds - still have to work out if that's by design, or a bug in portage.
Is there something wrong with the Sun-jdk ebuilds, or is this a more general problem in portage?
leifbrown
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2002 3:58 pm    Post subject: Couple of questions Reply with quote

When you check your /var/cache/edb/world file, does it just list "dev-java/sun-jdk"? If so, you're describing the expected behavior. clean is assumed.

What you *want* it to say is

"=dev-java/sun-jdk-1.4.0-r2"
"=dev-java/sun-jdk-1.3.1.2"

which pins the version numbers.

This is detailed in the portage manual:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/portage-manual.html
Look for the section "World Update", or "code listing 19".

I haven't tried it, but I suspect that you might be able to use >= and < to pin "the most recent 1.3.x", or "the highest revision of 1.3.1".