I've Never Done IPTABLES Before, but I Think This is Simple
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:59 pm    Post subject: I've Never Done IPTABLES Before, but I Think This is Simple Reply with quote

I think. ;) I have a test apparatus that I need to connect via Ethernet to my Linux workstation via a private subnet. Additionally, my workstation needs to remain connected to the larger network and, since my apparatus may misbehave, sending garbage out onto the LAN, I should not connect it to the same physical network, hence I have two Ethernet interfaces:
  • eth0 connected to the greater LAN, obtaining an IP address via DHCP as per usual.
  • eth1 connected to the apparatus, having a static IP of (let's say) 192.168.1.100 and subnet mask of 255.255.255.0.
I want to set up IPTABLES on my workstation so that when I try to communicate from the workstation to the apparatus (which also has a static IP on the 192.168.1.0/24 subnet), IP packets will be routed through eth1 but communicating with IP addresses outside that subnet (such as when I'm communicating with you fine folks) will be routed to eth0. I think this is simple, right? A couple of other points:
  • I don't need forwarding: the apparatus should not be able to get packets onto the other wire.
  • I'd like to make the settings persistent so that the routing rules are present when next I restart my workstation.
How does one go about doing that? Thanks in advance for the education.

- John
CaptainBlood
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't it work just out of the box, once static IP NIC eth1 is up?

Thks 4 ur attention.
Hu

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote