Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
QtWebkit:5 and ruby
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Angrychile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 232

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:54 pm    Post subject: QtWebkit:5 and ruby Reply with quote

Just curious, is ruby absolutely necessary for the installation of QtWebkit 5? Or have the maintainers just not make a use flag for it.
_________________
hola
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately it is required at build time only. See bug #538450 for more information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1694

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I think it's stupid that upstream made it a dependency (also why I refuse to allow qtwebkit5 on my systems, as I don't want another parser that will only waste space and be worthless me to).

I recall running into a post to upstream's devs about this, and iirc, they said no they won't remove that dependency because it's too hard to do (or I think more of they are too lazy to).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum