Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
shutdown, restart, suspend, hibernate are grayed out in Xfce
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
minsoehan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 101
Location: Yangon, Burma. (Mother Su's Country)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:48 pm    Post subject: shutdown, restart, suspend, hibernate are grayed out in Xfce Reply with quote

I am using Xfce in Gentoo. I use ~/.xinitrc to start xfce4.
Shutdown, Restart, Hibernate and Suspend are grayed out. I can only use command line to restart, shutdown, etc... my computer.
I still can't solve this problem I found many post about it online though.
Surely I added my user to power group and I have polkit and consolekit installed.
I edited visudo :
Code:
%users ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: /sbin/restart, /sbin/poweroff, /sbin/halt


and I also tried with these lines in ~/.xinitrc
Code:
exec dbus-launch ck-launch-session startxfce4


Code:
exec dbus-launch --exit-with-session startxfce4


also my ck-list-sessions is empty:
Code:
msh@localhost ~ $ sudo /etc/init.d/dbus start
Password:
 * Starting D-BUS system messagebus ...                                   [ ok ]
msh@localhost ~ $ ck-list-sessions
msh@localhost ~ $


plz, help....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7271
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xfce4 uses pm-utils to control power.
So do you get no sessions from an xterm that's run under xfce that's started with ck-launch-session?
Consolekit started?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minsoehan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 101
Location: Yangon, Burma. (Mother Su's Country)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, I started consolekit...
Code:
$ sudo /etc/init.d/consolekit start
$ sudo ck-list-sessions
$

empty as well.
I still have this problem. not solve yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7271
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the order of operations is starting consolekit, then ck-launch-session... Consolekit should be started in the default runlevel if it isn't autostarted...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minsoehan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 101
Location: Yangon, Burma. (Mother Su's Country)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well.. I did
Code:
# rc-update add consolekit default

and in ~/.xinitrc
Code:
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session startxfce4


then reboot and I have:
Code:
msh@localhost ~ $ ck-list-sessions
Session1:
   unix-user = '1000'
   realname = '(null)'
   seat = 'Seat1'
   session-type = ''
   active = FALSE
   x11-display = ''
   x11-display-device = ''
   display-device = '/dev/tty1'
   remote-host-name = ''
   is-local = TRUE
   on-since = '2015-08-04T12:32:24.478132Z'
   login-session-id = ''
   idle-since-hint = '2015-08-04T12:32:54.839505Z'
Session2:
   unix-user = '1000'
   realname = '(null)'
   seat = 'Seat2'
   session-type = ''
   active = FALSE
   x11-display = ':0'
   x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
   display-device = '/dev/tty1'
   remote-host-name = ''
   is-local = FALSE
   on-since = '2015-08-04T12:32:28.493259Z'
   login-session-id = ''


but I stilllllll have grayed-out Restart, Shut Down, Suspend, Hibernate buttons. (can't click on them, no respond)

then I follow Gentoo wiki's polkit page. I create /etc/polkit-1/rules.d/10-admin.rules with this content:
Code:
polkit.addAdminRule(function(action, subject) {
    return ["unix-group:wheel"];
});


now my thunar works on detecting, mounting volumns (usb, partitions, etc....)

but I stilllllll have grayed-out Restart, Shut Down, Suspend, Hibernate buttons. (can't click on them, no respond)

I have no idea anymore...
I have followed many thread online... but..... :cry:

I also created power group and added my user to it, but.... :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7271
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have upower-pm-utils installed?
Is your emerge --newuse --update --deep world clean or do you have conflicts in it?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minsoehan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 101
Location: Yangon, Burma. (Mother Su's Country)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to install what you says and tried to do # emerge --update --newuse --deep @ world, but I have this
Code:
msh@localhost ~ $ sudo emerge --ask upower-pm-utils
Password:

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] sys-power/upower-pm-utils-0.9.23-r2  USE="introspection -ios"
[blocks B      ] sys-power/upower ("sys-power/upower" is blocking sys-power/upower-pm-utils-0.9.23-r2)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (sys-power/upower-pm-utils-0.9.23-r2:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    upower-pm-utils

  (sys-power/upower-0.99.2-r1:0/3::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=sys-power/upower-0.99.0 required by (xfce-extra/xfce4-power-manager-1.5.2:0/0::gentoo, installed)
    >=sys-power/upower-0.9.23 required by (xfce-base/xfce4-settings-4.12.0:0/0::gentoo, installed)
    >=sys-power/upower-0.9.23 required by (xfce-base/xfce4-session-4.12.1:0/0::gentoo, installed)


For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Working/Portage#Blocked_packages

msh@localhost ~ $ sudo emerge --update --newuse --deep @world
Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.
msh@localhost ~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7271
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh... grr... you ran into that upower issue that everyone else ran into...

I'm still using xfce4.10 that correctly pulls in upower-pm-utils and not upower-0.99. As you have an openrc box you must be using upower-pm-utils...

I forgot what the correct fix for this was, but it has been discussed in the past on these forums... I need to research this again...

[edit]
bah it's right there:

Code:
     >=sys-power/upower-0.99.0 required by (xfce-extra/xfce4-power-manager-1.5.2:0/0::gentoo, installed)


If you can downgrade this to 1.4.4 it should let you install upower-pm-utils.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minsoehan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 101
Location: Yangon, Burma. (Mother Su's Country)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes,,,
I downgraded xfce4-power-manager to 1.4.4 and could install upower-pm-utils

but problem still there....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sphakka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you still haven't solved your issue, and your login manager is SLiM, you might have hit this Bug #560088.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum