Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] How to run the wireless from LiveCD?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

That rules that out then.

Check that you hawe a /dev/shm
Check that /tmp is. mounted as drwxrwxrwt - notice the t

Boot into your read only system and use wgetpaste to post dmesg and /etc/fstab
If wgetpaste needs some write space, run
Code:
mount -o rw,remount /
and try again.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
Following:

Code:

mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo
ls -la /mnt/gentoo/dev | grep shm


does not produce anything when booted from LiveCD.

So how do I fix it? Is this a symlink to something?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

/dev is managed by a mix of DEVTMPFS in the kernel and udev. Its not a real filesystem.
You need to do the test when you are booted into your own system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
I guess what I can do is to boot from the hard drive in the interactive mode and right before starting "locals" exit to the shell and do the checks.

WIll it be good?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

That works. Anytime after /dev is mounted and udev is started.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

ONEEYEMAN,

That rules that out then.

Check that you hawe a /dev/shm

Yes I do.

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Check that /tmp is. mounted as drwxrwxrwt - notice the t

Yup, there is a 't' at the end.

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Boot into your read only system and use wgetpaste to post dmesg and /etc/fstab
If wgetpaste needs some write space, run
Code:
mount -o rw,remount /
and try again.

I booted from HDD, went to "Interactive" mode, and before starting local went off to the shell.
The dmesg output is here.
An /etc/fstab output is here.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Here is root being mounted read only so that rootfsck can be run.
Code:
[    9.373236] EXT3-fs (sda4): error: couldn't mount because of unsupported optional features (240)
[    9.373403] EXT2-fs (sda4): error: couldn't mount because of unsupported optional features (240)
[    9.404125] EXT4-fs (sda4): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

later, there is
Code:
[   30.740362] EXT4-fs (sda4): re-mounted. Opts: (null)
which should be root being mounted read write.

Your fstab looks good and there are no errors in dmesg.
Both your WiFi and Wired ethernet interfaces are starting too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
How do I fix it Is this something known?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

I'm out of ideas ... almost.

Please post the output of
Code:
ls -Rl /etc/runlevels/
from your own install.
Drop to the shell before the local service starts.
This is a list of symbolic links. They should all be pale blue.
Tell about any links that are not pale blue as that indicates a problem.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

ONEEYEMAN,

I'm out of ideas ... almost.

Please post the output of
Code:
ls -Rl /etc/runlevels/
from your own install.
Drop to the shell before the local service starts.
This is a list of symbolic links. They should all be pale blue.
Tell about any links that are not pale blue as that indicates a problem.


Output is here.

But I was actually referring to those error messages from dmesg...

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Those error messages in dmesg are harmless. Its the kernel trying ext3, ext2 and finally ext4 to mount root.
Until root is mounted, the kernel cannot read /etc/fstab to discover what fs is on root, so it tries all the filesystems it knows.
If you add
Code:
rootfs=ext4
to the kernel lines in your bootloader configuration file, the kernel will try ext4 first and the messages will vanish.

Why do you have
Code:
 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20 May 29  2014 netmount -> /etc/init.d/netmount
in your default runlevel?
Its used for mounting remote filesystems over NFS. From your /etc/fstab, you don't use that. It should be harmless but you could remove it from the runlevel.

What colour is
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 May 29  2014 udev-mount -> /etc/init.d/udev-mount
Its not needed in recent udev.
If its not pale blue remove it. Mine is white text on a red background, which indicates the link is broken.

Depending on your udev version and a few other things, you may need
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 Jun 27 08:36 udev-trigger -> /etc/init.d/udev-trigger
in the sysinit runlevel.
If you don't have /etc/init.d/udev-trigger, you don't need it, your udev is not new enough.

Is your system time correct?
I see you do not run ntpd to get time from the internet. If time goes backwards, such as if you were to have a flat BIOS battery, odd things happen.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

ONEEYEMAN,

Those error messages in dmesg are harmless. Its the kernel trying ext3, ext2 and finally ext4 to mount root.
Until root is mounted, the kernel cannot read /etc/fstab to discover what fs is on root, so it tries all the filesystems it knows.
If you add
Code:
rootfs=ext4
to the kernel lines in your bootloader configuration file, the kernel will try ext4 first and the messages will vanish.

Well, it says "error", and error is not good. ;-)

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Why do you have
Code:
 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20 May 29  2014 netmount -> /etc/init.d/netmount
in your default runlevel?
Its used for mounting remote filesystems over NFS. From your /etc/fstab, you don't use that. It should be harmless but you could remove it from the runlevel.

That's probably samba addition. I can remove it for now.

NeddySeagoon wrote:

What colour is
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 May 29  2014 udev-mount -> /etc/init.d/udev-mount
Its not needed in recent udev.
If its not pale blue remove it. Mine is white text on a red background, which indicates the link is broken.

No, it is not and my udev version is 216. I will remove it.

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Depending on your udev version and a few other things, you may need
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 Jun 27 08:36 udev-trigger -> /etc/init.d/udev-trigger
in the sysinit runlevel.
If you don't have /etc/init.d/udev-trigger, you don't need it, your udev is not new enough.

The version is 216. Do I need it?

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Is your system time correct?
I see you do not run ntpd to get time from the internet. If time goes backwards, such as if you were to have a flat BIOS battery, odd things happen.

Let me confirm..

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

You may need udev-trigger in the sysinit runlevel. I have it with udev-215-r1
Its harmless to test.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
So, in the /etc/default/grub file I change the line to read:

Code:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="net.ifnames=0 rootfs=ext4"


or I need a semi-colon as a separator?

Then re-run:

Code:

grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


to get rid of those errors.

Am I right?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3610

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
Surprisingly enough, after I added:

Code:

;rootfs=ext4


to the grub configuration file, rebuild the grub configuration with grub2-mkconfig and rebooted I was able to get to the login prompt.

And now I have a working system!!!

Problem is - I don't have slightest idea what fixed it and what broke it. ;-)

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum