View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
linux_dream
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:52 pm    Post subject: Get a higher performance for a particular program Reply with quote

Hello people,
I am very new to gentoo. I have 2 linux distributions installed on my laptop (gentoo and Manjaro which is based on Arch linux), in both of them I installed "stockfish", a chess engine. In both cases the compilation was done on my laptop. However the Manjaro version is about 2% faster than my gentoo's one and I'm not sure why it is so.
I've checked in Manjaro the compilation was done with -O3 level of optimization while gentoo was at first done with -O2 but I later changed this for -O3, to no avail: there's still a 2 or 3% slowdown on gentoo.
I compiled the gentoo kernel myself and I've set the processors to be "on demand" instead of performance. From what I understand this should reduce the processors speed when I'm not running any high cpu usage programs and should not hurt the performance when I run a heavily resources hungry program. I think I have the same parameter in Manjaro.
So I really have no clue on why the chess program runs noticeably slower in gentoo than in Manjaro. I'd like to make a better Stockfish compilation (if that's possible), any help is appreciated.
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of GCC?
Are you glibc heavy, are they using the same versions of glibc?
What other compiler options are you using?
What background tasks/window manager/desktop environments are being run?
Kernel compiled the same way for both setups? Same kernel version?
linux_dream
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
What version of GCC?
Are you glibc heavy, are they using the same versions of glibc?