Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2015-02-04-portage-sync-changes
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
coyote01
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 98
Location: Rzeszów, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem like szpil. He is most probably tied with Portage SQLite Cache (http://gentoo-en.vfose.ru/wiki/Portage_SQLite_Cache).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've released portage-2.2.17 with all the regression fixes found with the 2.2.16 release. I've also removed 2.2.16 from the tree. One regression had potential to cause some grief by trashing your world file.

If you are still on 2.2.16, backup /var/lib/portage/world and
Code:
emerge -1va =sys-apps/portage-2.2.17


Please take note of the USE flag settings. It now has flags for the cvs, git and subversion sync types
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1612
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I usually, or used to:
Code:

layman -S ; eix-sync && emerge @world -vauD --keep-going --with-bdeps\=y


with these changes I just dropped the layman part because eix-sync should be picking up the auto-sync set to yes for my layman.conf (which layman isn't setting but that's another issue) but this isn't the case and I only get the rsync of the main portage tree, not my layman overlays. I've also tried "emaint sync -a" but still no git pulls on the overlays.

Am I doing something wrong or is there some cruft from some old configs somewhere causing problems?
_________________
#gentoo-kde on freenode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check /etc/layman/layman.cfg specifically the auto_sync and conf_type values.
Code:
#-----------------------------------------------------------
# Defines whether or not auto_sync will be set to "yes" or
# "no" in your repos.conf config. Ultimately deciding whether
# or not the portage sync plug-in will automatically sync your
# layman overlays.

auto_sync : Yes

#-----------------------------------------------------------
# Repository config types used by layman
# (repos.conf, make.conf)

conf_type : repos.conf

Make sure auto_sync is set to yes, conf_type set to repos.conf. Then you can run
Code:
layman-updater -R
to regenerate the repos.conf/layman.conf file.

See the wiki page for the full migration instructions.

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Portage/Sync#Migration
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1612
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the deal though, I have those set and 'layman-updater -R" works but then the repos.conf/layman.conf has "auto-sync = No" for each repo which I change to Yes but then I still don't see the repos synced with portage.

I do have my layman overlays in the old or maybe just non-standard location of /usr/local/overlays if that matters, or at least I think that's not the standard location.
_________________
#gentoo-kde on freenode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The non-standard location is not an issue.

Oh, did you enable the sync-plugin-portage USE flag before you emerged layman?

If you didn't then layman detected that laymansync was not installed and turns off auto-sync.


P.S. the reason it is use flagged, is we intend to create a plugin for pkgcore, plus add some other management types to layman.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1612
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that was it. Did the layman-updater -R again and it worked with eix-update. Didn't expect the little issue with layman to be the cause of the rest of the issues.
_________________
#gentoo-kde on freenode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*subscribing*

better not miss system changes this time

thanks
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geraldraaf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a working local overlay under /usr/local/portage. After upgrade >=sys-apps/portage-2.2.16 the local overlay ebuilds won't work anymore.
I have to change /etc/portage/package.unmask to unmask all ebuilds in locale overlay with */*::lokalesrepo is this the correct way or did i missed something.

part of emerge --info --verbose
Quote:
Repositories:

gentoo
location: /usr/portage
sync-type: rsync
sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
priority: -1000

kde
location: /var/lib/layman/kde
sync-type: laymansync
sync-uri: git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git
masters: gentoo
priority: 50

qt
location: /var/lib/layman/qt
sync-type: laymansync
sync-uri: git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/qt.git
masters: gentoo
priority: 50

lokalesrepo
location: /usr/local/portage
masters: gentoo
priority: 70
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not experienced any issue like that. Your the first person to report any such issue.

Only thing that comes to mind so far... Is there a package.mask entry for your local overlay?
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geraldraaf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have updated another machine, this time a production system. There everything works fine with the new portage and newest layman.
And my own repository works also fine. Maybe it was a problem with my testing machine, in which i don't find out the problem yet.

I would kindly like to apologize for the inconvenience this may caused.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hurvajs77
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've question - I use paludis as package manager without any laymen. I follow instructions on Wiki, but I still see message:
Code:
spejbl hurvajs # etc-update
!!! SYNC setting found in make.conf.
    This setting is Deprecated and no longer used.  Please ensure your 'sync-type' and 'sync-uri' are set correctly in /etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf
Scanning Configuration files...


My config:
Code:
[DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo

[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = rsync
sync-uri = rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
auto-sync = yes


Can you help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Code:
spejbl hurvajs # etc-update
!!! SYNC setting found in make.conf.
This setting is Deprecated and no longer used. Please ensure your 'sync-type' and 'sync-uri' are set correctly in /etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf
Scanning Configuration files...


Edit your /etc/portage/make.conf. Remove the SYNC="..." setting.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hurvajs77
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2010
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dol-sen wrote:
Edit your /etc/portage/make.conf. Remove the SYNC="..." setting.
thanks :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naga jolokia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 3:17 pm    Post subject: Does the handbook and stage3 tarballs need an update? Reply with quote

The install wiki still advises to
Code:
root #mirrorselect -i -r -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf

At the end of the same chapter you are asked to emerge --info which then is moaning over 'SYNC setting found in make.conf.'
The stage3-amd-hardened-20150521.tar.bz2 does not contain an /etc/portage/repos.conf directory.
So is that new sync system still experimental? Or will the documentation and the stage3 tarballs be updated soon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I know the install docs need updating. But I also need to update mirrorselect to work with the repos.conf/gentoo.conf file in the target chroot.

It is not as easy to do as redirecting the output with the -o parameter.

Also note. I put up a warning that that section of the docs is outdated and recommend it be skipped.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum