Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Can't get to the internet with two cards
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 12:19 am    Post subject: [SOLVED]Can't get to the internet with two cards Reply with quote

This is a bit embarrassing, but I can't seem to get my server to see the net. This isn't the first time I've dealt with wifi from the command line, but this is the first time it has done this to me.

My server has 2 cards. The Ethernet (which connects automatically) is plugged directly into my desktop on a 192.168.2.6 while my desktop is on 192.168.2.1, but doesn't provide any internet services. This is simply a local connection to provide secure ssh and nfs on. To get the internet I'm setting up the wlan0.

My wpa_supplicant config
Code:
network={
   ssid="<Foo>"
   psk="<bar>"
}


and my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
config_eth0="192.168.2.6 netmask 255.255.255.0"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.2.1"

modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"

config_wlan0="192.168.1.6 netmask 255.255.255.0"
routes_wlan0="default via 192.168.1.254"


This seems to connect correctly. I can ping the gateway
Code:
ping -c 3 192.168.1.254
PING 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=3.89 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=3.12 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=3.07 ms

--- 192.168.1.254 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 3.077/3.364/3.890/0.372 ms


But it gets 100% packet loss if I try to ping www.gentoo.org
Code:
ping -c 3 89.16.167.134
PING 89.16.167.134 (89.16.167.134) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 89.16.167.134 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 1999ms


So it doesn't do what it is supposed to.

How do I get to the internet?

EDIT: Solution is to run route add default gw 192.168.1.25
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.


Last edited by The Doctor on Mon May 04, 2015 1:51 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I'm not much help. It's been a while since I set up wlan on Gentoo. But you might want to show (but censor anything sensitive) the current output of 'route' as it could help provide a clue as to what is going on. Also maybe 'traceroute 89.16.167.134' as well. It should show where it's trying to route the packets. I'm guessing it's sending it to the ethernet connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

traceroute gives command not found
Code:
route -n                     
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    2      0        0 eth0
0.0.0.0         192.168.1.254   0.0.0.0         UG    2003   0        0 wlan0
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0

_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that output of route suggests that it is indeed going to your wired connection by default (which has no internet). From what I recall the lowest metric "wins" and the packets are routed through there. So the high metric for your WLAN connection (2003) is causing it to route packets to the ethernet connection which has a metric of "2".

I'm not an expert but these topics might be of some help:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-737588-start-0.html
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-377287-start-0.html

It seems there is a way to do it manually as well as a post from "petrjanda" (but from 2005) detailing a way to manually specify the metric to use in some config files to get it to work automatically. I hope this helps...or hopefully someone else more experienced will chime in.

Also I would think something like network manager should be able to handle this on it's own. But you may not want to go that route for various reasons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, if I use route add default gw 192.168.1.25 I can get the net to work correctly. That should do since this interface should only be need very infrequently.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum