Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Networmanager doesn't update resolv.conf
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3258
Location: de

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:58 pm    Post subject: [solved] Networmanager doesn't update resolv.conf Reply with quote

Edit: Topic was originally: DHCPD Server doesn't provide DNS servers

Good evening,

I've installed on my NAS a DHCP server (dhcpd). Works quite well. It provides

  • fixed ip addresses for known devices
  • a dhcp range for unknown devices


Only the creation of the resolv.conf isn't working properly:

cat /etc/dhcpd.conf:
authoritative;

option domain-name "fritz.box";
option domain-name-servers 192.168.109.11, 192.168.109.1;
option routers 192.168.109.1;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.168.109.255;

subnet 192.168.109.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
    range 192.168.109.50 192.168.109.79;
}

host hexe {
    hardware ethernet B8:AC:6F:3F:B1:C3;
    fixed-address 192.168.109.20;
    option host-name hexe;
}
… (something more)


And the result is:
cat /etc/resolv.conf:
#Generated by resolvconf
search fritz.box
nameserver 127.0.0.1


How do I get this to work as in the configuration file specified?


Last edited by musv on Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:37 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2799

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:03 am    Post subject: Re: DHCPD Server doesn't provide DNS servers Reply with quote

Is this about an external NAS connected to Fritz!Box or about http://fritz.box/storage/settings.lua?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3258
Location: de

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a nas connected to my wlan router (fritzbox). The DHCP server on the fritzbox is deactivated.

Found out another strange thing:
Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
DUID 00:01:00:01:1c:ad:49:36:00:26:2d:f5:9e:11
wlan0: IAID 82:96:5e:6d
wlan0: soliciting a DHCP lease
wlan0: offered 192.168.109.21 from 192.168.109.11
wlan0: leased 192.168.109.21 for 7200 seconds
wlan0: adding route to 192.168.109.0/24
wlan0: adding default route via 192.168.109.1
forked to background, child pid 1225

cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by resolvconf
domain fritz.box
nameserver 127.0.0.1


But
Code:
dhclient wlan0
RTNETLINK answers: File exists

cat /etc/resolv.conf
domain fritz.box
search fritz.box
nameserver 192.168.109.11
nameserver 127.0.0.1


So dhclient seems to do something different than dhcpcd.

Is that now a client or a server problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3258
Location: de

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a new piece in the game:

Found in the logfile of my client:
Code:
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    address 192.168.109.21
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    plen 24 (255.255.255.0)
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    gateway 192.168.109.1
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    server identifier 192.168.109.11
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    lease time 7200
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    hostname 'miniding'
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    nameserver '192.168.109.11'
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    nameserver '127.0.0.1'
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>    domain name 'fritz.box'
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): DHCPv4 state changed unknown -> bound
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): Activation: Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Configure Commit) scheduled...
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): Activation: Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Commit) started...

Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding dhclient[1571]: bound to 192.168.109.21 -- renewal in 2752 seconds.
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): device state change: ip-config -> ip-check (reason 'none') [70 80 0]
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): Activation: Stage 5 of 5 (IPv4 Commit) complete.
Apr 16 17:05:17 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): device state change: ip-check -> secondaries (reason 'none') [80 90 0]
Apr 16 17:05:18 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): device state change: secondaries -> activated (reason 'none') [90 100 0]
Apr 16 17:05:18 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  NetworkManager state is now CONNECTED_LOCAL
Apr 16 17:05:18 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  NetworkManager state is now CONNECTED_GLOBAL
Apr 16 17:05:18 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  Policy set 'Blechnet-Wlan' (wlan0) as default for IPv4 routing and DNS.
Apr 16 17:05:18 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  Writing DNS information to /usr/bin/resolvconf
Apr 16 17:05:18 miniding NetworkManager[296]: <info>  (wlan0): Activation: successful, device activated.

Ok, regarding to the log-file the Network Manager receives the correct nameservers and writes the information to /usr/bin/resolvconf

/usr/bin/resolvconf -l:
# resolv.conf from NetworkManager
# Generated by NetworkManager
search fritz.box
nameserver 192.168.109.11
nameserver 127.0.0.1


But:
cat /etc/resolv.conf:

# Generated by resolvconf
search fritz.box
nameserver 127.0.0.1


Means /usr/bin/resolvconf shows the correct entry, but /etc/resolv.conf is still wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't bother with NetworkManager; just use dhcpcd.

It'll manage wpa-supplicant if you need WIFI, and there's a Qt/GTK systray applet for it too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3258
Location: de

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

steveL wrote:
I wouldn't bother with NetworkManager.

It's a notebook, which has to be used in different environments. And also my wife has to use it. Therefore I need some kind of GUI.

steveL wrote:
It'll manage wpa-supplicant if you need WIFI, and there's a Qt/GTK systray applet for it too.

I'm using e16 without any systray box.

The problem remains: /usr/bin/resolvconf doesn't update /etc/resolv.conf.

If I force the update, then it works:
Code:
/usr/bin/resolvconf -u

Can I configure NetworkManager how to call/use resolvconf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3258
Location: de

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, found a / the solution:

/etc/resolvconf.conf:
resolv_conf=/etc/resolv.conf
resolvconf=NO
resolv_conf_passthrough=YES


Didn't need this before. But with that settings resolvconf writes the received data from networkmanager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum