Clustering on Gentoo - What's the best option
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
eohrnberger
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:57 am    Post subject: Clustering on Gentoo - What's the best option Reply with quote

Hi!

I have to admit that I'm a bit new to the clustering aspects of Linux, but I've done some reading on the Internet and it's left me a bit confused as to what's the 'right' decision WRT clustering and distributed file systems for Gentoo.

Me? I've been running Gentoo since '02, and I have to admit that I don't think I'll go back to using a binary distro again. Why live with someone else's compromises when you can make your own?

The Home Network:
I have a main storage system on the network that serves as a NAS for Linux as well as the TiVo using Galleon, and the Windows clients. It has about 7 TB of online storage pools, which is using ReiserFS. I've just about managed to squeeze out all the EIDE HDs so it's mostly SATA now. This is where all the files are kept. It serves video, music, software repository and file backup drop for the data files for the Windows desktop clients, etc. This is a 64 bit Intel dual core 3 GHz machine with 4 GB RAM. This system runs well, and since I switched to Gentoo, hasn't lost a single file. Yeah! It's running a 3.10.17 based kernel, and it's using EVMS as an LVM2 management interface (kinda tells you how long it's been running and evolving).

I've also have 2 compute servers (likely to grow in number), both are Intel 64 bit dual cores 3.0 GHz, inherited cast offs, also on the network, also running Gentoo, and presently NFS mounting from the storage / NAS server. They are running a 3.10.25 based kernel.

All this is connected with a Gbit switch and each server is connected with a Gb NIC.