Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I disable display manager?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 777
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:28 am    Post subject: How do I disable display manager? Reply with quote

This is probably a total noob question and I have searched the documentation but can't seem to find the answer.

Basically when I boot I want to be presented with the prompt (tty?) asking for login credentilas. Then I will startx manually on my own.

I see in /etc/conf.d I can define DISPALYMANAGER but don't see how to not use a DM.

Do I have to unmerge xdm, kdm, slim, etc???

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10587
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As root:
Code:
# rc-update del xdm default
;)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 777
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
As root:
Code:
# rc-update del xdm default
;)

- John


Thanks!!! I'm embarrassed that I didn't think of that!!! Haha.

As a side question can you tell me what the console is that I am dumped into after I login at the prompt? Is there a config file for it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3920
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
As a side question can you tell me what the console is that I am dumped into after I login at the prompt? Is there a config file for it?
Usually you are at /dev/tty1, but the command
Code:
tty
will answer your question. Furthermore /etc/inittab has the config of the consoles. BTW even if presented the graphical console : with ALT+F<x> you can switch to console /dev/tt<x>.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
As a side question can you tell me what the console is that I am dumped into after I login at the prompt? Is there a config file for it?

Budoka ... toralf gave you the strictly accurate determination of "what console" but as you may be confusing "console" with "shell" (as your question is about "configuration") then perhaps the following will help determine what exactly you mean.

The following will show you how the "console" is configured:

Code:
# stty -a

The following will tell you what "shell" is in use:

Code:
# echo $SHELL

This is (by default) /bin/bash ... and is configured via ~/.bashrc and/or ~/.bash_profile (if they exist) or /etc/bash/* if not. This is your "shell" and can be changed via 'chsh'. Any terminal, or login, will run $SHELL, and on the console (tty) it'll be a "login shell".

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10587
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
... As a side question can you tell me what the console is that I am dumped into after I login at the prompt? Is there a config file for it?
If you're asking what piece of software manages the bare text screen console & keyboard, that's the Linux Console, which is built into the kernel.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 777
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone. Thanks for the feedback. I probably confused the issue and myself due to my confused technical vocabulary ie: shell vs console vs tty, etc.

Maybe if I describe what I am seeing it will clarify what I am trying to ask.

So after boot the first thing I am presented is a title with my PC name and host followed by a login prompt. So I login with my user and password and then am dumped into what looks an awful like a terminal emulator. I am at the CLI and it has a rather awful green border. At the bottom there is some rudimentary data presented. Temp, time, disk space, etc. Thus my question about a "configuration" file. I was thinking there must be a way to control the "interface" for lack of a better word. I can only use the keyboard and not the mouse so is this the Linux Console?

I know this is not my "shell" which is bash.

tty returns /dev/pts/1

stty -a returns what is clearly configuration info but is it the configuration info for what I am working in...this terminal like thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10587
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. That doesn't sound like the Linux Console but more like some windows manager you've installed. If you hold down Ctrl and Alt and then hit F1, does the screen stay the same?

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
tty returns /dev/pts/1

Budoka ... then that is a "pseudo terminal", not the console. When you are in console you will see the something like the following:

Code:
This is hostname (Linux i686 3.18.1)
Hostname login:

What you describe above is probably xdm, and once providing your credentials the default xsession is started.

Code:
# /etc/init.d/xdm status

You can get the name of the process (ie, the window manager, or terminal) started by xdm via the following:

Code:
% ps w -u $(whoami)


Budoka wrote:
stty -a returns what is clearly configuration info but is it the configuration info for what I am working in...this terminal like thing?

It's the "terminal line settings", these will effect how the terminal operates, but they have little, or nothing, to do with the configuration droids your looking for :)

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 777
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
Hmm. That doesn't sound like the Linux Console but more like some windows manager you've installed. If you hold down Ctrl and Alt and then hit F1, does the screen stay the same?

- John


No. If I hold down Ctrl and ALt then F1 nothing happens.

But I do now recognize the initial login as the console. Thanks Khay.
Quote:
This is hostname
Hostname login:


After that I am dumped into the "pseudo terminal" I described.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
But I do now recognize the initial login as the console.

Budoka ... did you run any of the commands provided above?

Budoka wrote:
After that I am dumped into the "pseudo terminal" I described.

You don't get a pts on console ... unless you're running app-misc/screen, app-misc/tmux, or app-i18n/fbterm. Actually, what you describe above does sound distinctly like screen or tmux ... but you will have had to set this to start at login ... and I'd assume you'd remember having done so.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 777
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
Budoka wrote:
But I do now recognize the initial login as the console.

Budoka ... did you run any of the commands provided above?

Budoka wrote:
After that I am dumped into the "pseudo terminal" I described.

You don't get a pts on console ... unless you're running app-misc/screen, app-misc/tmux, or app-i18n/fbterm. Actually, what you describe above does sound distinctly like screen or tmux ... but you will have had to set this to start at login ... and I'd assume you'd remember having done so.

best ... khay



Hi. So after boot I am presented with the console you describe.
Code:
This is hostname (Linux i686 3.18.1)
Hostname login:
Then I login and am in the environment I described.

Code:
# /etc/init.d/xdm status
returns "*status: stopped"

Ah hah!
Code:
 ps w -u $(whoami)
in addition to "-bash" and "/bin/bash" returns two identical lines
Code:
tmux -f /usr/share/byoubu/profiles/tmuxrc new-session -n - /usr/bin/byobu-shell


I would have to double check my own forum history to be sure but I don't remember ever installing tmux. But I did explicitly install byobu. I thought byobu was just a terminal emulator?

Anyway is it tmux and/or byobu that I am landing in? If I unmerge them will it return me to the normal console?

Also, where is this defined? Can I for example set it to Terminator which is my terminal of choice?

Thanks as always.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
I would have to double check my own forum history to be sure but I don't remember ever installing tmux. But I did explicitly install byobu. I thought byobu was just a terminal emulator?

Budoka ... app-misc/byobu pulls in tmux, or screen if USE="screen" is defined.

Budoka wrote:
Anyway is it tmux and/or byobu that I am landing in? If I unmerge them will it return me to the normal console?

byobu is just a wrapper for tmux/screen ... but yes, its a tmux session. I'd recommend keeping tmux, I couldn't live without it. I don't know how it got to be in your configuration and/or defined as your login shell, that is something you must have done. What does the following show:

Code:
% echo $SHELL
% egrep '(byobu|tmux|source)' ~/.bash{rc,_profile}

Budoka wrote:
Also, where is this defined? Can I for example set it to Terminator which is my terminal of choice?

No idea, the above should give some idea ... and, no, 'terminator' is an x11 terminal, not a terminal multiplexer like tmux or screen.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 777
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
Budoka wrote:
I would have to double check my own forum history to be sure but I don't remember ever installing tmux. But I did explicitly install byobu. I thought byobu was just a terminal emulator?

Budoka ... app-misc/byobu pulls in tmux, or screen if USE="screen" is defined.

Budoka wrote:
Anyway is it tmux and/or byobu that I am landing in? If I unmerge them will it return me to the normal console?

byobu is just a wrapper for tmux/screen ... but yes, its a tmux session. I'd recommend keeping tmux, I couldn't live without it. I don't know how it got to be in your configuration and/or defined as your login shell, that is something you must have done. What does the following show:

Code:
% echo $SHELL
% egrep '(byobu|tmux|source)' ~/.bash{rc,_profile}

Budoka wrote:
Also, where is this defined? Can I for example set it to Terminator which is my terminal of choice?

No idea, the above should give some idea ... and, no, 'terminator' is an x11 terminal, not a terminal multiplexer like tmux or screen.

best ... khay


OK. I'll keep tmux and endeavor to master it!

It seems I don't have any bash config files even though it is my shell? Should I create them or am I OK without them?

Quote:
$ egrep '(byobu|tmux|source)' ~/.bash{rc,_profile}
grep: /home/myhome//.bashrc: No such file or directory
grep: /home/myhome//.bash_profile: No such file or directory


Is there another location that this behavior could have been configured.It is perplexing to me because I don't remebere ever configuring tmux to start at login and can't find it in my "diary" that I keep for my system.

I also see that byobu is pulling in "-screen" in uses so still confused about how all of this got pulled in.

Quote:
[ebuild R ~] app-misc/byobu-5.87 USE="-screen" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


Quote:
$ euse -i screen
global use flags (searching: screen)
************************************************************
no matching entries found

local use flags (searching: screen)
************************************************************
[- ] screen
app-emulation/xen-tools: Enable support for running domain U console
in an app-misc/screen session
[- ] 4.2.5-r1 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.2.5-r2 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.3.3-r1 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.3.3-r2 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.3.3-r3 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.4.1-r3 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.4.1-r4 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.4.1-r5 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.5.0 [gentoo]

[- ] screen
app-misc/byobu: Use app-misc/screen as the default backend
[- ] 5.86 [gentoo]
[- ] 5.87 [gentoo]
[- ] 5.88 [gentoo]
[- ] 5.89 [gentoo]
[- ] 5.90 [gentoo]

[- ] screen
net-misc/bfgminer: Provide start-bfgminer.sh script to launch
BFGMiner in app-misc/screen
[- ] 3.10.5 [gentoo]
[- ] 3.10.8 [gentoo]
[- ] 4.10.1 [gentoo]
[- ] 5.0.0 [gentoo]


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
It seems I don't have any bash config files even though it is my shell? Should I create them or am I OK without them?

Budoka ... if they don't exist then the system wide files from /etc/bash are used. So, unless you need to make some changes then yes, you can do without them.

Budoka wrote:
Is there another location that this behavior could have been configured. It is perplexing to me because I don't remebere ever configuring tmux to start at login and can't find it in my "diary" that I keep for my system.

Its not tmux, because it has to be called explictly, I can't really say why this is the case because generally these kinds of things don't get setup on a package merge.

Budoka wrote:
I also see that byobu is pulling in "-screen" in uses so still confused about how all of this got pulled in.

Thats -screen ... meaning not pulling in. You probably only have tmux as the screen useflag operates as a switch .... "-screen" will equate to tmux, "screen" will equate to screen.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

toralf wrote:
Budoka wrote:
As a side question can you tell me what the console is that I am dumped into after I login at the prompt? Is there a config file for it?
Usually you are at /dev/tty1, but the command
Code:
tty
will answer your question. Furthermore /etc/inittab has the config of the consoles. BTW even if presented the graphical console : with ALT+F<x> you can switch to console /dev/tt<x>.



Technically, its whatever console started the X server, which when started by a display manager is generally always tty1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I've said this somewhere before recently, but "pstree -h" is a great way to figure out what's running in cases like this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum