Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] "rc-config show boot" broken since openrc-0.13.7
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3490

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:31 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] "rc-config show boot" broken since openrc Reply with quote

After upgrading to sys-apps/openrc-0.13.7 I cannot see runlevel boot neither in "rc-config show --all" nor in "rc-config list".
Is Gentoo now going without runlevel boot? And if so, what about services we are still having in /etc/runlevels/boot?

Handbook explicitly mentions it as user-defined runlevel.

Edit:
Title adjusted, rc-update still works.

Edit:
[SOLVED] with app-admin/eselect-1.4.4


Last edited by charles17 on Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:47 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 ...

I haven't yet had this update, its only currently keyworded for amd64. Anyhow, no /etc/runlevels/boot?

I doubt it will solve it but have you tried 'rc-update -u'?

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3490

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
I haven't yet had this update, its only currently keyworded for amd64. Anyhow, no /etc/runlevels/boot?

Quote:
$ rc-config show boot
Status of init scripts in runlevel "boot"
(none found)

However "rc-update add/del boot" still works. Also rc-update still shows it
Code:
$ /sbin/rc-update
            alsasound |      default                 
             bootmisc |      default                 
          consolefont | boot                         
                cupsd |      default                 
                devfs |                       sysinit
               dhcpcd |      default                 
                dmesg |                       sysinit
            fetchmail |      default                 
                 fsck | boot                         
             hostname |      default                 
            ip6tables |      default                 
             iptables |      default                 
              keymaps |      default                 
            killprocs |              shutdown       
    kmod-static-nodes |                       sysinit
           lm_sensors |      default                 
           localmount |      default                 
             loopback | boot                         
              modules |      default                 
             mount-ro |              shutdown       
                 mtab | boot                         
               procfs | boot                         
                 root | boot                         
              rpcbind |      default                 
            savecache |              shutdown       
                 swap | boot                         
            swapfiles | boot                         
               sysctl | boot                         
                sysfs |                       sysinit
            syslog-ng |      default                 
         termencoding |      default                 
         tmpfiles.dev |                       sysinit
       tmpfiles.setup | boot                         
                 udev |                       sysinit
              urandom |      default                 
                  xdm |      default                 


khayyam wrote:
I doubt it will solve it but have you tried 'rc-update -u'?
Just tried it, and it doesn't help.

It's "eselect rc list" and "eselect rc show" ignoring runlevel boot. Bug 536822
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
It's "eselect rc list" and "eselect rc show" ignoring runlevel boot. Bug 536822

charles ... not sure I can suggest anything other than the above. As for the bug you need to add 'emerge --info' and you should also state that it effects rc-config, etc (output from the commands wouldn't hurt). As it is the bug probably won't get taken seriously, or you'll be asked to provide this info.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3805
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:19 am    Post subject: Re: rc-config no longer shows runlevel boot since openrc-0.1 Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
After upgrading to sys-apps/openrc-0.13.7 I cannot see runlevel boot neither in "rc-config show --all" nor in "rc-config list".
Is Gentoo now going without runlevel boot? And if so, what about services we are still having in /etc/runlevels/boot?

Handbook explicitly mentions it as user-defined runlevel.

Edit:
Title adjusted, rc-update still works.
Here it does :
Code:
tfoerste@t44 ~/Downloads $ rc-config list | grep boot
  alsasound                 boot
  microcode_ctl             boot
stable hardended Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4805
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rc-status -a

Code:
rc-status -a
Runlevel: boot
...
Runlevel: default



Code:
rc-config show --all
Status of init scripts in runlevel "boot"
...

_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3490

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only the rc-config thing seems to be affected and it's soft-linking to eselect:
Quote:
$ ls -al /bin/rc-* /sbin/rc-* /usr/bin/rc-*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 17 09:04 /bin/rc-status -> /sbin/openrc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 17 09:04 /sbin/rc-service -> /sbin/openrc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 17 09:04 /sbin/rc-update -> /sbin/openrc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 7 Jan 17 10:41 /usr/bin/rc-config -> eselect
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4805
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Only the rc-config thing seems to be affected and it's soft-linking to eselect:
Quote:
$ ls -al /bin/rc-* /sbin/rc-* /usr/bin/rc-*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 17 09:04 /bin/rc-status -> /sbin/openrc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 17 09:04 /sbin/rc-service -> /sbin/openrc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 17 09:04 /sbin/rc-update -> /sbin/openrc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 7 Jan 17 10:41 /usr/bin/rc-config -> eselect


That's because it's a link to "eselect rc"

As I posted above "rc-config show --all" will show all init scripts in all runlevels that are activated

and on my system the link for rc-config hasn't been changed since last Nov 23 and it belongs to eselect not openrc

Perhaps you're confusing rc-config and rc-status
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3490

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
That's because it's a link to "eselect rc"
As I said.

Anon-E-moose wrote:
As I posted above "rc-config show --all" will show all init scripts in all runlevels that are activated
For me it's only all runlevels but boot: http://i.imgur.com/egikVmv.png

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Perhaps you're confusing rc-config and rc-status
Definitely not :-( No problems here with rc-status.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4805
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure why it's not working for you

Code:
rc-config show --all
Status of init scripts in runlevel "boot"
  net.lo                    [started]
Status of init scripts in runlevel "default"
  acpid                     [started]
...


and

Code:
rc-config list
Available init scripts
  acpid                     default
  alsasound
...


shows all init scripts and the runlevel they belong to.

In any event, openrc has nothing to do with rc-config working or not, at least on my system.


EDIT TO ADD: I have to apologize, the fault is split between openrc and eselect.
openrc changed from using /sbin/runscript to /sbin/openrc-run
AND
eselect rc is only looking for /sbin/runscript.

I would imagine that it will be fixed in the next eselect update.

Edit to add 2:

I copied /usr/share/eselect/modules/rc.eselect into my ~/.eselect/modules dir
and made the following change and it works fine.

40c40,41
< && grep "^#\!/sbin/runscript" "${file}" &>/dev/null
---
> && ((grep "^#\!/sbin/runscript" "${file}" &>/dev/null;)
> || (grep "^#\!/sbin/openrc-run" "${file}" &>/dev/null;))

It will temporarily fix it so that both work.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
I have to apologize, the fault is split between openrc and eselect. openrc changed from using /sbin/runscript to /sbin/openrc-run

Anon, charles ... and just as I predicted a "whole lot of pain for very little gain [...] there will no doubt be no end of posts, and so time wasted, on the subject".

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3490

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ulrich Müller https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=536822#c7 wrote:
Fixed in git, commit 783374a7d24e310fcf0a49e16c10687bd515d66a.
Does this mean it is in eselect-9999?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Ulrich Müller https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=536822#c7 wrote:
Fixed in git, commit 783374a7d24e310fcf0a49e16c10687bd515d66a.
Does this mean it is in eselect-9999?

charles ... yes, as *-9999 pulls from git then you'd get this fix, but I assume this will translate to new package bumps (at some point).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum