Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to compile a netboot image for sparc on a x86 arch?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Stieltje
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 2:20 pm    Post subject: how to compile a netboot image for sparc on a x86 arch? Reply with quote

I got a Sparcstation 4, it has no CD, no floppy, and no hard-drive.

so, I want to netboot ths thing, and I am pretty clear on how to do this, but there is one major obstacle on my way. That is I do not have a kernel to boot..

So I wonder how to compile and config a kernel on my PC, create a net boot image, I probably need to cross-compile it or what? I am pretty new to this, so excuse the noobism.

I have googled around for any existing boot images, the link I have found doesnt lead anywhere..

If I just can get this thing to boot, I can build/compile a system later on.

anyway, thanks in advance
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried the tftpboot image at http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/experimental/sparc/tftpboot/sparc/gentoo-sparc-1.4_rc4-20040102.tftpboot ?

You would need to setup a cross-compiler to build a tftpboot image for sparc on x86, which is a bit involved.
Stieltje
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Thanks a million :)

I have been browsing the net for something like that for a while now, I'll try it as fast as I get a little time, exams coming up this week...
darkarchon
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stieltje,

How did you solve your problem ? I am having the same issue.

Weeve said:

Quote:
You would need to setup a cross-compiler to build a tftpboot image for sparc on x86, which is a bit involved.