Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gcc and glibc circular dependencies
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xamindar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1155
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:19 am    Post subject: gcc and glibc circular dependencies Reply with quote

(were the forums just down? Or was that me?)
Anyway, I am trying to update a gentoo machine that hasn't been updated in probably two years. I'm not updating everything at once, just the packages I am wanting to update so far, the ones I am using. I thought to try updating hal but it required a newer version of gcc. Problem with gcc is it seems to need a newer version of glibc but that's where it stops. Is there a way to fix this circular dependency? I'm assuming this is just because the packages currently installed on there are so old.

Code:
emerge -av gcc

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!


[nomerge      ] sys-devel/gcc-4.4.2 [4.1.2] USE="fortran gtk mudflap nls nptl openmp (-altivec) -bootstrap -build -doc (-fixed-point) -gcj -graphite (-hardened) (-libffi) (-multilib) -multislot (-n32) (-n64) -nocxx -objc -objc++ -objc-gc -test -vanilla"
[ebuild     U ]  sys-libs/glibc-2.11-r1 [2.6.1]
[ebuild  NS   ]   sys-devel/gcc-4.4.2 [4.1.2] USE="fortran gtk mudflap nls nptl openmp (-altivec) -bootstrap -build -doc (-fixed-point) -gcj -graphite (-hardened) (-libffi) (-multilib) -multislot (-n32) (-n64) -nocxx -objc -objc++ -objc-gc -test -vanilla"

 * Error: circular dependencies:

('ebuild', '/', 'sys-devel/gcc-4.4.2', 'merge') depends on
  ('ebuild', '/', 'sys-libs/glibc-2.11-r1', 'merge') (buildtime)
('ebuild', '/', 'sys-libs/glibc-2.11-r1', 'merge') depends on
  ('ebuild', '/', 'sys-devel/gcc-4.4.2', 'merge') (buildtime)

 * Note that circular dependencies can often be avoided by temporarily
 * disabling USE flags that trigger optional dependencies.
bedroom-computer boot #


Obviously I can't just unmerge these ones to remerge them to fix the circular dep :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9645
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might want to try to merge in intermediate versions... see what happens if you compile stable (4.3.2/2.10)?
Then jump up to the dev versions?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xamindar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1155
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a good idea, thanks. Tried the versions you listed but they are not in portage any more. I then tried a few versions in between but still get the same result.

If I let a system go too long without updating do I just need to format and start over?

EDIT: OOOO! think its going to let me merge glibc-3.10.1-r1. I'll let this guy compile overnight and hopefully that will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the worst comes to the worst, brute-force it and stick gcc in packages.provided.
Then do the rest of the emerges, and then emerge gcc and recompile everything
in sight.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3509

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your versions look like you're running ~arch. If the machine hasn't been upgraded in 2 years, it might be worth first trying to bring it to current stable arch, then move to ~arch once you've successfully gotten to stable.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as gcc is sloted it's safe to force gcc first

emerge --nodeps gcc
gcc-config i686-pc-linux-gnu-4.4.2
emerge glibc && emerge gcc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xamindar wrote:
That's a good idea, thanks. Tried the versions you listed but they are not in portage any more. I then tried a few versions in between but still get the same result.

If I let a system go too long without updating do I just need to format and start over?

EDIT: OOOO! think its going to let me merge glibc-3.10.1-r1. I'll let this guy compile overnight and hopefully that will work.

am I'm missing something? is there a version such as that? maybe you meant 2.10.1-r1?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xamindar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1155
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
am I'm missing something? is there a version such as that? maybe you meant 2.10.1-r1?


Yes you are right, I meant 2.10.1-r1. I was typing that at 2am in the morning from my Zaurus.

Anyway, it looks like that worked. I am now able to install a newer version of gcc so hopefully that's it. Thanks for all the tips, I'll keep those in mind in case this happens with any other packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 9:30 pm    Post subject: My stupid mistakes,"circular dependencies" Reply with quote

Hello,
I haven't been able to keep my gentoo updated for a long time.
I found a way to plug it to the internet today, and obviously I wanted to sync portage and update everything.
Of course there were complications, and I kind of messed up, I wasn't used to take care of my setup anymore...
I chrooted from an usblive and I unmerged gcc and glibc thinking that, because of the fact that I was chrooted, I had no risk employing a radical way to clean everything up.
I had this "circular dependencies" problem with gcc and glibc on one part, with util-linux and udev on another, and it is blocking almost all the rest...
I wanted to make an emerge -e system, but obviously, it doesn't work.
If anyone would have a simple idea as to how to figure out a way out, I woul dbe infinitely grateful to him.
Anyway, thanks for your attention,
Sorry if my english is somehow peculiar, it isn't my native language and it's been a while since I haven't used it.
Hope to hear something from you all very soon.
Jonathan.
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

You need to get binaries of glibc and gcc and untar them into the root ( / ) of your system as if they were mini stage3 tarballs.
tinderbox.dev.gentoo.org used to be a good place to start but it seems to have gone.

No matter. Proceed as follows.
mount your gentoo at /mnt/gentoo as if you were going to chroot. Do not chroot yet.
Make a new dir, say /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue you will make a rescue gentoo here.
download the stage3 tarball and unpack it to /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue do not fetch a portage snapshot.
copy /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage to /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue/etc/portage
copy /mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue/etc/portage/make.conf its moved.
bind mount /mnt/gentoo/usr/portage to /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue//usr/portage
This shares the tree with your broken Gentoo and your rescue gentoo.
Edit /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue/etc/portage/make.conf
Add buildpkg to FEATURES
Do all the other handbook steps so that you can chroot into /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue

Now you have a working Gentoo that you can use to build binaries to fix your broken gentoo.
emerge gentoolkit
quickpkg glibc and gcc.
The binaries will appear at /usr/portage/distfiles both in the rescue gentoo and your broken gentoo, so you now have the binaries you need to untar to the broken gentoo root.

The above is not a step by step guide
You are making another install at /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue with a shared /usr/portage.
This /mnt/gentoo/home/rescue install can be used to build any packages you need.
Once you are able to chroot into your normal install you can install binaries with emerge -K <package>
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot!
It looks like I've finally been able to solve my problems following your instructions. I've made binaries of glibc gcc udev util-linux ncurses linux-headers a few others, and then, of course, it almost went back to normal. I'm finishing bit by bit to update my system.
I'll make sure to keep this way out in mind as it's great to solve a lot of problem and to save a lot of time!
I'll especially make sure to keep my system updated.
Thanks for your time and precious help,
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

You can remove your rescue install when you are sure you don't need it any more.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the advice,
I''ve been able to update everything, I've made a revdep-rebuild, etc-update, everything seemed to work just fine, then I decided to boot on my system alone, but it doesn't boot properly. There's no kernel panic but I can only login to
Quote:
this is (none).unknown_domain (Linux x86_64 x.x.x-gentoo
(none) login :
[/quote]
I guess it's because I've modified my kernel according to one of the news I've read using eselect, then I faced the new system from lilo, before I had to copy the bZimage to /boot and add the modifications to my lilo.conf, but now it's just "make install" and I'm not sure I did the right thing after that, I just replaced my old bZimage with vmlinuz-3.14.14-gentoo, then I made
Quote:
/sbin/lilo

Anyway, it's a whole different problem now, I'm trying to figure it out, then it should be ok! And at that moment I'll remove the rescue folder!
Thanks for your advices and help
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

That looks like none of your startup scripts have run. There is a new kernel option that can cause that.
Code:
 CONFIG_BINFMT_SCRIPT:                                                                                      │ 
  │                                                                                                            │ 
  │ Say Y here if you want to execute interpreted scripts starting with                                        │ 
  │ #! followed by the path to an interpreter.                                                                 │ 
  │                                                                                                            │ 
  │ You can build this support as a module; however, until that module                                         │ 
  │ gets loaded, you cannot run scripts.  Thus, if you want to load this                                       │ 
  │ module from an initramfs, the portion of the initramfs before loading                                      │ 
  │ this module must consist of compiled binaries only.                                                        │ 
  │                                                                                                            │ 
  │ Most systems will not boot if you say M or N here.  If unsure, say Y.


The old way of manually copying bzImage still works
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes indeed,

Quote:
cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep CONFIG_BINFMT_SCRIPT
CONFIG_BINFMT_SCRIPT=y


It's already in the kernel.

I had to fill again my hosts and hostname files as they were emptied, I'm trying to look around, I must have forgotten something...
Edit : Also, I'm not sure it's a problem, but when I ran the /sbin/lilo command, it warned me that my boot partition wasn't on my first disk. Indeed my system is on /dev/sdb... I don't know if I should give more attention to those warnings, usually they're nothing to worry about at that point.
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

Do you have anything to do in etc-update?

What does
Code:
rc-update -v show
give you?
CAn you find all of the services listed in the sysinit, boot and default runlevels in the output of
Code:
ps -Alf

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is the result of rc-update -v show
http://pastebin.com/Fv9FwQKG
it looks ok to me... I'm checking a bit more carefully

and here is the result of ps -Alf
http://pastebin.com/HJyqx7bK
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

What do you have in
Code:
/etc/conf.d/hostname

The old location of /etc/hostname is no longer supported.

Does your network still work?
You are trying to use eth0 and modern uduv will have renamed it.
Check uname -a
You can still have eth0 if you like
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I filled the hostname file in /etc/conf.d already :

Quote:
(chroot) livecd / # cat /etc/conf.d/hostname
# empty file because --include-config=n when `quickpkg` was used
hostname="bureau"


for uname -a as I chrooted from my usblive again, I guess it's no use, but still :

Quote:
(chroot) livecd / # uname -a
Linux livecd 3.14.14-gentoo #1 SMP Thu Aug 14 06:03:06 UTC 2014 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


I don't know about my network... the conf files seem ok, but I don't know when I boot on my system, I've tried ifconfig to check it, but to no result.
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

That explains the (none) in t
Code:
his is (none).unknown_domain (Linux x86_64 x.x.x-gentoo
(none) login :


Heh. I should have written
Code:
ifconfig -a
not uname -a
You need to boot normally for this to work.

Your
Code:
this is (none).unknown_domain (Linux x86_64 x.x.x-gentoo
(none) login :
should allow you to log in.

Were you expecting a grahical log in ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've rebooted on my system
I don't have a graphical login.
ifconfig -a gives me a lo and a sit0 but nothing else

when I'm tryng to start net.eth0 manuall in /etc/init.d, in root of course, it gives me this answer :
Quote:
*ERROR: net.eth0 needs service(s) localmount, sysfs


EDIT : When I try /etc/init.d/sshd start it asks for another needed service : hostname... I don't know if it's relevant.
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

localmount and sysfs should have run.

lo is the loopback interface, this allows your PG to talk to itself over the network.
sit0 is a IPv6 over IPv4 tunnel end point.

Your network card kernel module is not loaded or not built or both.

When you boot into your own install, do you have /sys and /run?
Both should exist and contain files.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/run contains
3 files :
lock
mount
openrc

and : rpc.statd.pid rpcbind.lock rpcbind.sock (in pink writing) sm-notify.pid

I have the file /sys, but ls /sys doesn't give anything, it looks empty.
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonathan.11,

You need /sys its a Pseudo filesystem
Code:
  │ │     [*] /proc file system support                                              │ │ 
  │ │     [*]   /proc/kcore support                                                  │ │ 
  │ │     [*]   Sysctl support (/proc/sys)                                           │ │ 
  │ │     [ ]   Enable /proc page monitoring                                         │ │ 
  │ │     -*- sysfs file system support                                              │ │ 
  │ │     [*] Tmpfs virtual memory file system support (former shm fs)               │ │ 
  │ │     [*]   Tmpfs POSIX Access Control Lists                                     │ │ 
  │ │     -*-   Tmpfs extended attributes                                            │ │ 
  │ │     [*] HugeTLB file system support                                            │ │ 
  │ │     <*> Userspace-driven configuration filesystem                              │ │ 

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jonathan.11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Location: around Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, this might be one source of the problem...

Quote:
│ │ -*- /proc file system support │ │
│ │ [*] /proc/kcore support │ │
│ │ [*] /proc/vmcore support │ │
│ │ -*- Tmpfs virtual memory file system support (former shm fs) │ │
│ │ [*] Tmpfs POSIX Access Control Lists │ │
│ │ -*- Tmpfs extended attributes │ │
│ │ [*] HugeTLB file system support │ │
│ │ < > Userspace-driven configuration filesystem


It's all there is in Pseudo Filesystem...
_________________
"à vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire"
Pierre Corneille, Le cid, Acte 2 Scène 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum