Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] network not starting in non-chroot environment
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:23 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] network not starting in non-chroot environment Reply with quote

Hi all, third box to install gentoo on, and I could not get the internet to work.

It only world (wired or wireless) in a live cd or chroot environment and I am unsure why.

I have tried static and dhcp and using all three of the interfaces ifconfig offers.

Is there sometjing like a kernel module/driver that is needed?

Thanks.

My /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

config_eno1="dhcp"


Janga


Last edited by janga8 on Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lspci -k | grep Ether -A5

And you will get the kernel driver to use.

Like :
Code:
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
   Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. M3A78-EH Motherboard
   Kernel driver in use: r8169
   Kernel modules: r8169   <------------------


If you need more help with your network, you should tell what error you get, because we can tell your network hardware is fine with the info you provide (something you know already).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running
Code:
 lspci -k | grep Ether -A5

Gave me
Code:

00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network connection (rev 04)
              Subsystem: Dell Device 0532
              Kernel driver in use: e1000e
              Kernel modules: e1000


And something about a usb (annoying typing all this :D )

What log file is that in?

It just reports something about unknown device name if I try to load it manually.

Thanks,
Janga[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Double post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just realised how badly i had worded my original question.

What i mean is that in the live cd ifconfig lists 3 interfaces, wlp2s0, eno1 and lo.
there is only one in the actual install, lo, which is definetly not what i need, because i get that on any distro even with internet disbaled.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1510

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what's the output of ifconfig -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it lists only two: lo and sit0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1510

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see you already know which module is needed (e1000)
enable that module in the kernel configuration(built in or as a module, doesn't matter)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks you.
How do I recompile a kernel without making my system stuff up? Or which guide should I follow. Everytime I update the kernel or make modifications I seem to stuff something up.

How can I compile it without making unbootable? :)

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you.
Everytime I update/modify the kernel and compile it I stuff something up.

How do I/what is a good guide on how to reinstall the kernel?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1510

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/articles/linux-kernel-compiling.xml

to maintain a bootable system, you need to configure the modules needed at boot time(stating the obvious, bear with me)
those are usually:
correct processor, block layer sg support, your root fstype, ide/sata/usb depending on where your rootfs is, anything related to the rootfs make sure those are intact and all should be fine, you should keep the latest working kernel, and create a grub entry for it, to be able to reboot into a usable system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

janga8,

What error do you get if you boot normally, log in as root and do
Code:
modprobe e1000

If there is no error, what does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show now?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank You!
It works! It now shows lo, eno1, and sit0.

How can I make this module start on boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

janga8,

This shows that you have e1000 built as a loadable module.
Network modules are one of the few groups not auto loaded.

You have two choices, edit /etc/conf.d/modules - see the comments in the file, or rebuild your kernel with e1000 built in.
There is another way too but its just wrong, so I won't share that.

The file edit is by far the easiest.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok Sorry for not responding.

I built what was previously a module (e1000e) into the kernel and now everything is perfect.

Thanks everyone for there help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janga8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

double post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum