Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
genkernel could not creat initramfs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:22 pm    Post subject: genkernel could not creat initramfs Reply with quote

Hi
I try to install Gentoo on a system with AMD processor. I use of i686 - X86 and genkernel. I have an error in create genkernel:
Code:
could not create empty cpio at /var/tmp/genkernel/initramfs-3.12.21-gentoo-r1

have you any idea?
thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lunita
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please post here the command your entering to create the initramfs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

genkernel all


I test
Code:
genkernel initramfs
too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lunita
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paste the output of
Code:
genkernel initramfs


Take a look at:

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Genkernel

Are you following the Gentoo handbook? Take a look at the 7th point of the handbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't mount anything to my system but log is some thing like this:
Code:

*Gentoo Linux Genkernel: Version 3.4.49.2
*Running with option: Initramfs

*Using genkernel.conf from /etc/genkernel.conf
.
.
.
*Linux Kernel 3.12.21-gentoo-r1 for x86 ...
*with config file ..
*busybox: >> using catch
*initramfs: >> Intializing ...
/usr/share/genkernel/gen_initramfs.sh: line 782: 23875 Done               echo
            23876 Illegal instraction     | cpio ${CPIO_ARGS} -F "${CPIO}" 2> /dev/null
*ERROR: Could not creat empty cpio at /var/tmp/genkernel/initramfs-3.12.21-gentoo-r1
*
*--Greppin log ... --
*Using genkernel.conf from /etc/genkerne.conf
*Sourcing arch-specific config.sh from /usr/share/genkernel/arch/x86/config.sh ..
*Sourcing arch-specific modules_load from /usr/share/genkernel/arch/x86/modules_load ..
*
* --End log ... --
.
.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2554
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you take a look at the permissions of /var/tmp, /var/tmp/genkernel, etc.?

are you running this as root or regular joe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started to install a fresh copy off Gentoo on a system that worked with Windows XP before. Why permissions change may be happen?
PS: Permissions are correct!
I don't use of users ;) All steps did with root user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6919
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the chroot,
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
genkernel initramfs | wgetpaste
#  when you get the error, run
free -m | wgetpaste
ls -al /usr/share/genkernel | wgetpaste
post the url's returned
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
.
.
.
*Linux Kernel 3.12.21-gentoo-r1 for x86 ...
*with config file ..
*busybox: >> using catch
*initramfs: >> Intializing ...
/usr/share/genkernel/gen_initramfs.sh: line 782: 23875 Done echo
23876 Illegal instraction | cpio ${CPIO_ARGS} -F "${CPIO}" 2> /dev/null
*ERROR: Could not creat empty cpio at /var/tmp/genkernel/initramfs-3.12.21-gentoo-r1
*


Notice it said, "Illegal instraction [sic]". The culprit is probably there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you DONAHUE! you saved me!
Here are links:

http://bpaste.net/show/440158/

http://bpaste.net/show/440159/

http://bpaste.net/show/440164/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6919
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you figured it out. For the next reader, suggest booting the install media and creating, initializing, and activating a swap partition. I'd make it 512 MB. Section 4 of the handbook refers. Creating the initramfs.cpio requires a fair amount of memory.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear DUNAHUE
You saved me from typing a large amount info! Problem sill is there. I have a 512M swap but sometimes when I shutdown system and start again, I forget to on it! When I started swap, nothing is different. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like the cpio had a problem executing. The line number that is complaining about creating an empty cpio file should not be memory intensive:

Code:
    echo | cpio ${CPIO_ARGS} -F "${CPIO}" 2>/dev/null \
        || gen_die "Could not create empty cpio at ${CPIO}"


That command passes nothing on stdin to cpio, so it really is simply creating an empty file.


Maybe look at the CFLAGS or the stage3 that you used. Is it really compatible with your CPU?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Moonday!!!

I had a similar issues, the problems was with busybox.

You try it: check your “/etc/genkernel.conf” and find the option of “compress method” and write “no”. I don’t remember the exactly names options, sorry.

Good luck!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oniryczny
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 277
Location: Poznań

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guess I'm having some similar issue too...
_________________
cogito ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
natrix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmmm, you try removing busybox of cache:

Code:
rm /var/cache/genkernel/busybox-*.tar.bz2


And run genkernel normaly

Code:
genkernel all


Other possible solution is installing the more recently genkernel version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonday
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not working! I'm try to test making initramfs manually!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darlaith
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.sysresccd.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=3165

Maybe??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is /boot full? (Or /mnt/gentoo/boot, if you're still in the chroot stages).
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tazinblack
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 977
Location: Baden / Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone tell if this was fixed and if so, what was causing the problem?
I'm facing the same problem here.
_________________
Gruß / Regards
tazinblack
_______________________________________________________
told you so
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum