Which modules to load automatically
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Honeypuck
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:41 pm    Post subject: Which modules to load automatically Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am new to Gentoo Linux (used Ubuntu, Debian and Sabayon before though) and this is my first install. Following the handbook I am somewhat stuck at the point where I have to manually put kernel modules into /etc/conf.d/modules after having compiled a kernel via the genkernel tool.

Put simply, I am not sure which modules I need for a functioning system. Using the find command "find /lib/modules/<kernel version>/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko' | less" gives me an impressive of modules that have been compiled. But except for some obviously hardware related modules I am pretty sure I need according to lspci & hwinfo, I do not know which modules a required for Gentoo to run on my machine.

I search around in the forum, but it seems everybody knows what to do at that point except for me, so please bear with me. Maybe someone could give me a hint where to look for an answer or tell me where I'm wrong.

Thanks
comprookie2000
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't put anything in there for now, I never have needed it in a few years. They should get loaded by Udev. If later on you find out something is not working because the module did not get loaded you can set this up but IMHO it won't be needed.
Hu

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you build your own kernel, then you have the luxury of building exactly what you need and no more. As part of that, if you plan to always use a particular kernel feature, you can include it in the kernel instead of loading it as a module. Some people even use kernels with no modules.
khayyam
Watchman