Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems with Hybrid Radeon and the latest kernels
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:51 am    Post subject: Problems with Hybrid Radeon and the latest kernels Reply with quote

Hello,

I have Lenovo G505 with AMD A5000 APU with integrated Radeon GPU plus discrete Radeon GPU. I was using almost without problems (excluding some opengl issues) with the radeonsi and xorg 1.15. With kernel 3.13.6 and below X works fine, with kernels 3.13.7, 3.13.8 and 3.14 X is not loading (well the Xorg.log shows that it starts but the process does not show in the process list.) resulting in blank black screen. I thought that X starts on the discrete GPU (as it proved to be the case in past issues) so I created a xorg.conf specifying that it must use the integrated GPU, but still no go. I assume someone else already experienced that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 9422

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If this works in 3.13.6 and fails in 3.13.7, could you bisect the changes to identify the specific commit that breaks it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately due to time restrains I'm not able to play much with the kernels. It was a general question, maybe submitting a bug is better idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

# git shortlog v3.13.6..v3.13.7 | grep radeon
drm/radeon/atom: select the proper number of lanes in transmitter setup
drm/radeon/dpm: fix typo in EVERGREEN_SMC_FIRMWARE_HEADER_softRegisters
drm/radeon: re-order firmware loading in preparation for dpm rework
drm/radeon: fix runpm disabling on non-PX harder
drm/radeon/cik: properly set sdma ring status on disable
drm/radeon/cik: stop the sdma engines in the enable() function
drm/radeon/cik: properly set compute ring status on disable
drm/radeon: fix minor typos in si_dpm.c
drm/radeon/si: fix typo in dpm sq ramping setup
drm/radeon: TTM must be init with cpu-visible VRAM, v2

Some important commits (re-order firmware, engine and ring internals, DRM memory management, ...) and some less important ones (typo, small fixes, ...); could be in one of those important commits, a bisect restricted to drm/radeon might work out. But before we go down that road, maybe we can get a better idea from the logs as it might bail out and tell us where the issue lies.

Can you share us /var/log/Xorg.0.log, the output of `dmesg` and /var/log/messages (on OpenRC) or the output of `systemctl -rb` (on systemd)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Here are the logs:

From 3.13.6
http://retro-motobg.com/pics/radeon/Xorg.log-3.13.6
http://retro-motobg.com/pics/radeon/dmesg-3.13.6

From 3.14
http://retro-motobg.com/pics/radeon/Xorg.log-3.14
http://retro-motobg.com/pics/radeon/dmesg-3.14

I'm loading both cards firmware, I think I can try without the discrete card loading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, most interesting difference when you strip the timestamps of the Xorg logs and do a diff is that instead of loading "EXA" and "shadow" it is now loading "dri2" and "glamor" (aka glamoregl); does that shed any light? Maybe reverting that functionality using the configuration might be a solution? Update: This post mentions that "There is a bug in glamor preventing it from working correctly with xorg-server-1.13 and later. So for now you have to use 1.12.". Later posts mention that disabling the gles USE flag on the x11-libs/glamor package works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

The only change in the system is the kernel, gles is not enabled for x11-libs/glamor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, a bit of success... I disabled the loading of the firmware of the discrete GPU and now X starts properly. Any idea how the check why the second GPU prevents the X from stating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can check Xorg.0.log for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I know that but there are no error messages or any indication that something is wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See my earlier post on this, it is because it loads in a different implementation; comparing a working and a failed log shows you that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buboleck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomWij wrote:
See my earlier post on this, it is because it loads in a different implementation; comparing a working and a failed log shows you that.


Ok, but why? The only difference is the kernel. X should behave the same as it was not changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, X can behave different as it does auto detection unless you manually specify in its configuration to do something specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adriannho
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Problems with Hybrid Radeon and the latest kernels Reply with quote

buboleck wrote:
Hello,

I have Lenovo G505 with AMD A5000 APU with integrated Radeon GPU plus discrete Radeon GPU. I was using almost without problems (excluding some opengl issues) with the radeonsi and xorg 1.15. With kernel 3.13.6 and below X works fine, with kernels 3.13.7, 3.13.8 and 3.14 X is not loading (well the Xorg.log shows that it starts but the process does not show in the process list.) resulting in blank black screen. I thought that X starts on the discrete GPU (as it proved to be the case in past issues) so I created a xorg.conf specifying that it must use the integrated GPU, but still no go. I assume someone else already experienced that?


Please take a look at https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=77930
It seems to describe your situation as well.

Be sure to check it and apply patches/fixes when/if they arrive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum