Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
High cpu freq, but no cpu usage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:18 pm    Post subject: High cpu freq, but no cpu usage Reply with quote

All 4 cores on my Intel i5-2450M are always running on ~1100MHz without any workload. Top shows <1% cpu usage when all graphical interface and networking is turned off.
It still reaches around 60 degrees Celcius when idle, so the fan is always on and the battery life is limited.

cpu governor is powersave:
Code:

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq
powersave


No errors or warnings from dmesg:
Code:

$ dmesg | grep cpu
[    0.000000] x86 PAT enabled: cpu 0, old 0x7040600070406, new 0x7010600070106
[    0.000000] setup_percpu: NR_CPUS:8 nr_cpumask_bits:8 nr_cpu_ids:8 nr_node_ids:1
[    0.000000] PERCPU: Embedded 27 pages/cpu @ffff8801dfa00000 s79296 r8192 d23104 u262144
[    0.000000] pcpu-alloc: s79296 r8192 d23104 u262144 alloc=1*2097152
[    0.000000] pcpu-alloc: [0] 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
[    0.067840] cpuidle: using governor ladder
[    0.067841] cpuidle: using governor menu
[    0.947124] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 262144, num gpu pages 262144
[    0.951430] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c00 and cpu addr 0xffff8801d79e0c00
[    0.951432] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 3 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c0c and cpu addr 0xffff8801d79e0c0c
[    0.952893] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 5 use gpu addr 0x0000000000072118 and cpu addr 0xffffc90005032118
[    2.950953] Intel pstate controlling: cpu 0
[    2.950965] Intel pstate controlling: cpu 1
[    2.950973] Intel pstate controlling: cpu 2
[    2.950980] Intel pstate controlling: cpu 3
[   12.704741] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c00 and cpu addr 0xffff8801d79e0c00
[   12.704745] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 3 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c0c and cpu addr 0xffff8801d79e0c0c
[   12.706203] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 5 use gpu addr 0x0000000000072118 and cpu addr 0xffffc90005032118


Let me know if you need my .config as well. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does "cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies" show
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
no such file or directory


But min and max freq is set:
Code:

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
800000
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
3100000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does this return "zgrep CPU_FREQ /proc/config.gz"
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does this return "zgrep CPU_FREQ /proc/config.gz"


'/proc/config.gz' does not exist

But from my .config i get:
Code:

$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep CPU_FREQ
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_COMMON=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:41 am    Post subject: Re: High cpu freq, but no cpu usage Reply with quote

McC0dy wrote:
All 4 cores on my Intel i5-2450M are always running on ~1100MHz without any workload.
It still reaches around 60 degrees Celcius when idle, so the fan is always on and the battery life is limited.


Don't look at your lower your cpu freq, but look why your cpu running ide@1100MHZ still do 60°C !
Some cpu, mb... have securities to protect the cpu, those securities should handle themselves the cpu speed to do their job.

So don't ask why your cpu cannot goes lower or higher that speed, ask why your cpu is that hot at just 1100mhz.
And you could try define any governor, as long as the cpu itself or the bios doesn't agree with your cpu temp, nothing should works until this is fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with krinn, that is rather hot for that freq.

Is the cpu fan working?

Good airflow into and out of the case?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
I agree with krinn, that is rather hot for that freq.

Is the cpu fan working?

Good airflow into and out of the case?

Ok.
The fan is working, and airflow shouldn't be a problem since I cleansed the laptop recently. When in Windows it's cold and fan is off.
Temperature in Ubuntu is high as well, and like in Gentoo cpu usage is <1% - battery is dried out after 90min (vs 360min in Windows).

Full DynTicks is disabled as it should be:
Code:

$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep CONFIG_NO_HZ     
CONFIG_NO_HZ_COMMON=y
CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE=y
# CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL is not set
# CONFIG_NO_HZ is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think it'd make that much of a difference, but do you have cpuidle_intel enabled? (dmesg | grep intel_idle)

Also is it one of those CPUs with integrated graphics? You might need the right drivers even if it's not in use to get it to power-manage that correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
I don't think it'd make that much of a difference, but do you have cpuidle_intel enabled? (dmesg | grep intel_idle)

Yes, 'cpuidle_intel' appears to be enabled
Ant P. wrote:
Also is it one of those CPUs with integrated graphics? You might need the right drivers even if it's not in use to get it to power-manage that correctly.

It has integrated graphics, the right driver is loaded (i915).

Thank you all for trying to help me. i appreciate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does "cat /proc/cpuinfo" show?

It's beginning to look like the thermal paste might either be dried out or not spread properly
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
what does "cat /proc/cpuinfo" show?

It's beginning to look like the thermal paste might either be dried out or not spread properly

Ok, but the temperature in Windows is much lower. Doesn't that make it linux-related?

here's my 'proc/cpuinfo':
Code:

$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 42
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz
stepping   : 7
microcode   : 0x28
cpu MHz      : 1321.777
cache size   : 3072 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 2
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 13
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm ida arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips   : 4988.56
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor   : 1
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 42
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz
stepping   : 7
microcode   : 0x28
cpu MHz      : 1382.031
cache size   : 3072 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 2
apicid      : 1
initial apicid   : 1
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 13
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm ida arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips   : 4988.56
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor   : 2
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 42
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz
stepping   : 7
microcode   : 0x28
cpu MHz      : 1083.886
cache size   : 3072 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 1
cpu cores   : 2
apicid      : 2
initial apicid   : 2
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 13
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm ida arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips   : 4988.56
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor   : 3
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 42
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz
stepping   : 7
microcode   : 0x28
cpu MHz      : 1010.742
cache size   : 3072 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 1
cpu cores   : 2
apicid      : 3
initial apicid   : 3
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 13
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm ida arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips   : 4988.56
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

I notice that 'power management' is left blank for all threads, is it supposed to be like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd, that process has two cores and 4 threads, ie it should show up as 4 processors, but I only see 3.

Do you have turbo enabled, in the bios?

I would look at all the bios that has anything to do with cpu and see if anything looks out of the ordinary.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Odd, that process has two cores and 4 threads, ie it should show up as 4 processors, but I only see 3.

Did you count from 0? I see 0,1,2,3 :)

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Do you have turbo enabled, in the bios?

These are my options in bios:
'CPU power saving mode' enabled
'Hyperthreading' enabled
'EDB (Execute disable bit)' enabled

Seems ok doesn't it? I think I have already tried disabling all of them just to try it out, but without luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

McC0dy wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
Odd, that process has two cores and 4 threads, ie it should show up as 4 processors, but I only see 3.

Did you count from 0? I see 0,1,2,3 :)


:oops:
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where are you getting the 60C temp reading?

Edit to add: that particular CPU has a 100C max temp range.
If windows is much lower then it should be achievable under linux or close to it
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Where are you getting the 60C temp reading?

From lm-sensors' 'sensors'. Here what it looks like when the temp is stable:
Code:
$ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +58.0 C  (crit = +99.0 C)
temp2:        +29.8 C  (crit = +99.0 C)

radeon-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:       -128.0 C 

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +60.0 C  (high = +86.0 C, crit = +100.0 C)
Core 0:         +59.0 C  (high = +86.0 C, crit = +100.0 C)
Core 1:         +60.0 C  (high = +86.0 C, crit = +100.0 C)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't recognize those names.

what is the output of "/usr/sbin/sensors-detect" (only care about what it puts out at the end of what it found)

And post your sensors config file.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
I don't recognize those names.

I got the impression that the 'coretemp-isa-0000' because of the 'Core 0' and 'Core 1'

Anon-E-moose wrote:
what is the output of "/usr/sbin/sensors-detect" (only care about what it puts out at the end of what it found)

Is this it?:
Code:
Driver `coretemp':
  * Chip `Intel digital thermal sensor' (confidence: 9)

'sensors-detect' throws errors about modprobe loading module 'i2c-dev' that doesn't exist - anything to worry about?

Anon-E-moose wrote:
And post your sensors config file.

Shouldn't it be located in '/etc/sensors.conf? It's not there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the latest is "sensors3.conf"


I am running amd but this is the end of sensors-detect.

Code:
Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `it87':
  * ISA bus, address 0x290
    Chip `ITE IT8721F/IT8758E Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)

Driver `fam15h_power':
  * Chip `AMD Family 15h power sensors' (confidence: 9)

Driver `k10temp' (autoloaded):
  * Chip `AMD Family 15h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)


Everything between the "now follows" and the end is important.


But in your case you would have something like
'chip "coretemp"' somewhere at the beginning of the sensors config file.


And what does "grep CPUFREQ /usr/src/linux/.config" return. This is the freq driver, not the governor in use.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McC0dy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. My '/etc/sensors3.conf' can be found at http://pastebin.com/Y0UekCma

This is the last output from 'sensors-detect':
Code:
Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `coretemp':
  * Chip `Intel digital thermal sensor' (confidence: 9)


Do you want to overwrite /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors? Enter s to specify other file name?
  (yes/NO/s): yes
Done.
You should now start the lm_sensors service to load the required
kernel modules.


'grep CPUFREQ /usr/src/linux/.config' produces:
Code:
CONFIG_X86_PCC_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_CPB=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would think the pstate driver would be the one you would want in the kernel (instead of acpi)
I believe that chip is a sandy bridge model.

This has a little more info about lm-sensors and actually talks a little about coretemp
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/lm_sensors
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum