Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ROCCAT mouse doesn't work ("failed to attach handler kbd")
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Max_JD
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:21 pm    Post subject: ROCCAT mouse doesn't work ("failed to attach handler kb Reply with quote

Hey,

I'm kind of new to Gentoo (installed it some years ago, but used Ubuntu most of the time) but I wanted to give it a try again these days :) I currently use kernel 3.12.13, basically everything is working and I eventually got the nvidia drivers running.

But I'm stuck with the "Roccat Savu" mouse I want to use. I compiled the related kernel module (tried to compile in, and compile as module, both are same) and get the following errors, when booting and when starting X:

dmesg output
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

I think the interesting parts are these:

From dmesg:
Code:
[   13.798332] savu 0003:1E7D:2D5A.0007: timeout initializing reports
[   13.798371] input: ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/2-1.8/2-1.8:1.1/input/input12
[   13.812151] input: failed to attach handler kbd to device input12, error: -16
[   13.817150] sysrq: Failed to open input device, error -16
[   13.822149] input: failed to attach handler sysrq to device input12, error: -16
[   13.822191] savu 0003:1E7D:2D5A.0007: input,hidraw6: USB HID v1.10 Keyboard [ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu] on usb-0000:00:1d.0-1.8/input1

From Xorg log:
Code:
[    26.922] (II) config/udev: Adding input device ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu (/dev/input/event8)
[    26.922] (**) ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu: Applying InputClass "evdev keyboard catchall"
[    26.922] (**) ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu: Applying InputClass "evdev pointer catchall"
[    26.922] (**) ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu: Applying InputClass "evdev keyboard catchall"
[    26.922] (II) Using input driver 'evdev' for 'ROCCAT ROCCAT Savu'