Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Alsa sound not working properly in KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:11 pm    Post subject: [solved] Alsa sound not working properly in KDE Reply with quote

I have some strange problems getting sound working in KDE.
KMix shows several sound devices from which two produce sound on pushing the 'test' button. Which are:

HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog (default Audio Device)
HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog

'default'

and all other shown devices, which to my understanding are related to digital audio output, produce nothing.

So audio output should work in principle, no kernel module issue or anything like that.
I have pushed 'default' down the list to get the working two devices on top in kmix.

VLC-player is the only program where I can choose the output device.
On startup I get an error message informing me that there is no default sound device: 'no such file or directory'.

If I choose 'alsa-sound' and 'HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog (default Audio Device)' manually inside the settings menu, VLC ist working correctly. With settings on 'standard' there is no sound.

All other programs like dragonplayer or any browser do not produce any sound. I do not have the option to choose the device manually there.

So I conclude, that programs inside the desktop environment rely on some device called 'default' which should be kind of linked to the respective physical device, which kmix should take care of but does not in my case.

I have not the slightest idea what to look for. Can anyone show me some way out of this?


Last edited by AgBr on Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"default" is an ALSA PCM, defined in /usr/share/alsa/pcm/default.conf - it's the most common output, and is stereo.

Try it with:

Code:
speaker-test -c 2 -D default

_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
"default" is an ALSA PCM, defined in /usr/share/alsa/pcm/default.conf - it's the most common output, and is stereo.

Try it with:

Code:
speaker-test -c 2 -D default


The output is in German unfortunately:

Code:
dg14-01 ~ # speaker-test -c 2 -D default

speaker-test 1.0.27.1

Wiedergabe-Gerät ist default 
Stream-Parameter sind 48000 Hz, S16_LE, 2 Kanäle
Verwende 16 Oktaven rosa Rauschen
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1022:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Fehler beim Öffnen des Gerätes: -2, Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
dg14-01 ~ #

It says:

Output device is default
Stream Parameter ...
Use 16 octaves pink noise
ALSA lib pcm ....
error while opening the device: -2, file or directory not found


Can you make anything out of this?
/usr/share/alsa/pcm/default.conf is unmodified by me

Thank you for looking
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird. What does this show:
Code:
aplay -L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
Weird. What does this show:
Code:
aplay -L

Code:

dg14-01 ~ # aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=MID,DEV=0
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=MID,DEV=1
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 1
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=MID,DEV=2
    HDA Intel MID, HDMI 2
    HDMI Audio Output
default:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC671 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
dg14-01 ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does 'aplay -v /dev/urandom' add anything interesting ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try it when xorg is not running, to prevent kmix from interfering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
Does 'aplay -v /dev/urandom' add anything interesting ?

Code:

dg14-01 ~ # ps ax|grep kmix
14689 pts/0    S+     0:00 grep --colour=auto kmix
dg14-01 ~ # aplay -v /dev/urandom
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1022:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:722: Fehler beim Öffnen des Gerätes: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
dg14-01 ~ #

last line says:
error on opening the device: file or directory not found

:(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't say the process' name was kmix ;)

Is phonon running, for example?

Check you have this, to be sure that nothing else has the soundcard open:
Code:
$ cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params
closed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
I didn't say the process' name was kmix ;)
sorry
Quote:


Is phonon running, for example?

Check you have this, to be sure that nothing else has the soundcard open:
Code:
$ cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params
closed

Code:

dg14-01 ~ # ps ax|grep phonon
27516 pts/0    S+     0:00 grep --colour=auto phonon
dg14-01 ~ # cat /proc/asound/card?/pcm*/sub?/hw_params
closed
closed
closed
closed
closed
closed
dg14-01 ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to bump this up again. My problem is still unsolved. In fact it got worse by now as I get sound, but no video output with dragonplayer if I push up the alsa-device in the list at first place. At the same time don't get sound with vlc anymore. Doesn't really anyone have further ideas on this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would said, try first without kde, lookout if alsa works, then goes with your kde problem next ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
I would said, try first without kde, lookout if alsa works, then goes with your kde problem next ?

I just did that before I went home. Sound in a browser works if I use xfce. I will test vlc and dragon tomorrow, but I am pretty sure it's a kde problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenProm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Aug 2011
Posts: 100
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello AgBr :D

Do you use pluseaudio ? This is a bit tricky to setup and hijacks all/most sound outputs

Are you in the audio group? If so and you use pulseaudio, please remove yourself from it. If you use ONLY alsa then dont remove yourself.

Do you have a .asoundrc ? If so please post the contents.
_________________
Thank you for your help.

Manuel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GenProm wrote:
Hello AgBr :D

Do you use pluseaudio ? This is a bit tricky to setup and hijacks all/most sound outputs
Franky, I don't have any clue really how it works but media-sound/pulseaudio is not installed. As far as I can tell I use alsa and something called gstreamer. I have rebuilt kmix with USE=-pulseaudio as I think kmix may expect something which isn't there. I can not try it out before tomorrow.
Quote:


Are you in the audio group? If so and you use pulseaudio, please remove yourself from it. If you use ONLY alsa then dont remove yourself.
There isn't anyone in the group audio and never has been. I am not the only one using the system by the way. All boxes can be potentially used by about 800 users. So it would not be feasible to add them all. I think, that's the reason for setting the devices rw for all users:
Code:

box ~ # ls -l /dev/snd
insgesamt 0
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root       60 10. Jan 09:31 by-path
crw-rw-rw-+ 1 root audio 116,  5 10. Jan 09:31 controlC0
crw-rw-rw-+ 1 root audio 116,  4 11. Feb 09:52 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw-rw-+ 1 root audio 116,  3  4. Mär 11:05 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw-rw-+ 1 root audio 116,  2 10. Jan 09:31 pcmC0D2c
crw-rw-rw-+ 1 root audio 116,  1 10. Jan 09:31 seq
crw-rw-rw-+ 1 root audio 116, 33 10. Jan 09:31 timer


Quote:


Do you have a .asoundrc ? If so please post the contents.


No, there isn't any. Audio is working in priciple. In kmix I can test the device and it plays sound. But the connection between the mixer and all sound generating applications like browsers is not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenProm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Aug 2011
Posts: 100
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
But the connection between the mixer and all sound generating applications like browsers is not working.


This sounds like there is a problem with phonon and or gstreamer. As far as I know phonon/gstreamer does the connection between those. But other than that I'm out of ideas...

Do you got the gstreamer-alsa backend installed ?
_________________
Thank you for your help.

Manuel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GenProm wrote:
Quote:
But the connection between the mixer and all sound generating applications like browsers is not working.


This sounds like there is a problem with phonon and or gstreamer. As far as I know phonon/gstreamer does the connection between those. But other than that I'm out of ideas...

Do you got the gstreamer-alsa backend installed ?


Code:

[I] kde-base/phonon-kde
     Available versions:  (4) 4.11.2(4/4.11) 4.11.5(4/4.11){tbz2} ~4.12.2(4/4.12)
       {alsa aqua debug pulseaudio}
     Installed versions:  4.11.5(4){tbz2}(23:31:43 21.02.2014)(alsa -aqua -debug -pulseaudio)
     Homepage:            http://phonon.kde.org
     Description:         Phonon KDE Integration

[I] media-libs/phonon
     Available versions:  4.6.0-r1{tbz2} ~4.7.1 **9999 {aqua debug +gstreamer pulseaudio +qt4 qt5 vlc zeitgeist}
     Installed versions:  4.6.0-r1{tbz2}(20:54:40 15.09.2012)(gstreamer -aqua -debug -pulseaudio -vlc -zeitgeist)
     Homepage:            https://projects.kde.org/projects/kdesupport/phonon
     Description:         KDE multimedia API

[I] media-libs/phonon-gstreamer
     Available versions:  4.6.3{tbz2} ~4.7.1 **9999 {alsa debug +network +qt4 qt5}
     Installed versions:  4.6.3{tbz2}(13:52:37 09.04.2013)(alsa network -debug)
     Homepage:            https://projects.kde.org/projects/kdesupport/phonon/phonon-gstreamer
     Description:         Phonon GStreamer backend



The only thing to consider I can see is that the use-flag for vlc is not set with phonon. I will fix that tomorrow just in case. At least it may have influence on vlc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't tell whether recompiling kmix alone did the trick or setting -pulseaudio has been really needed, but it works again. Thank you all for loooking into this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum