Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unable to start skype on my 64bit machine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 895
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:33 am    Post subject: unable to start skype on my 64bit machine Reply with quote

Code:
23:31:52^cr0t@ninapie:~ > /opt/skype/skype
bash: /opt/skype/skype: No such file or directory
23:31:57^cr0t@ninapie:~ > strace /opt/skype/skype
execve("/opt/skype/skype", ["/opt/skype/skype"], [/* 55 vars */]) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
dup(2)                                  = 3
fcntl(3, F_GETFL)                       = 0x8002 (flags O_RDWR|O_LARGEFILE)
fstat(3, {st_mode=S_IFCHR|0620, st_rdev=makedev(136, 0), ...}) = 0
mmap(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x7f49f13b7000
lseek(3, 0, SEEK_CUR)                   = -1 ESPIPE (Illegal seek)
write(3, "strace: exec: No such file or di"..., 40strace: exec: No such file or directory
) = 40
close(3)                                = 0
munmap(0x7f49f13b7000, 4096)            = 0
exit_group(1)                           = ?

_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrikas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh ? What does Strace have to do with it ?
Code:

emerge skype
skype
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 93
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:08 am    Post subject: Re: unable to start skype on my 64bit machine Reply with quote

Cr0t wrote:
Code:
23:31:52^cr0t@ninapie:~ > /opt/skype/skype
bash: /opt/skype/skype: No such file or directory
23:31:57^cr0t@ninapie:~ > strace /opt/skype/skype
execve("/opt/skype/skype", ["/opt/skype/skype"], [/* 55 vars */]) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
dup(2)                                  = 3
fcntl(3, F_GETFL)                       = 0x8002 (flags O_RDWR|O_LARGEFILE)
fstat(3, {st_mode=S_IFCHR|0620, st_rdev=makedev(136, 0), ...}) = 0
mmap(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x7f49f13b7000
lseek(3, 0, SEEK_CUR)                   = -1 ESPIPE (Illegal seek)
write(3, "strace: exec: No such file or di"..., 40strace: exec: No such file or directory
) = 40
close(3)                                = 0
munmap(0x7f49f13b7000, 4096)            = 0
exit_group(1)                           = ?


Why do you run it from /opt/skype? For me, it is installed in /usr/bin/skype

How did you install it? Normal emerge?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 895
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:05 am    Post subject: Re: unable to start skype on my 64bit machine Reply with quote

kolcon wrote:
Cr0t wrote:
Code:
23:31:52^cr0t@ninapie:~ > /opt/skype/skype
bash: /opt/skype/skype: No such file or directory
23:31:57^cr0t@ninapie:~ > strace /opt/skype/skype
execve("/opt/skype/skype", ["/opt/skype/skype"], [/* 55 vars */]) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
dup(2)                                  = 3
fcntl(3, F_GETFL)                       = 0x8002 (flags O_RDWR|O_LARGEFILE)
fstat(3, {st_mode=S_IFCHR|0620, st_rdev=makedev(136, 0), ...}) = 0
mmap(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x7f49f13b7000
lseek(3, 0, SEEK_CUR)                   = -1 ESPIPE (Illegal seek)
write(3, "strace: exec: No such file or di"..., 40strace: exec: No such file or directory
) = 40
close(3)                                = 0
munmap(0x7f49f13b7000, 4096)            = 0
exit_group(1)                           = ?


Why do you run it from /opt/skype? For me, it is installed in /usr/bin/skype

How did you install it? Normal emerge?
It's in the same place... I have a feeling I forgot a kernel option.
_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2320
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You error shows that /opt/skype/skype does not exist. Find where you have it installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5879
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you added the USE flag "qt-static" ?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paluszak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 201
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:11 pm    Post subject: Re: unable to start skype on my 64bit machine Reply with quote

Have you ever installed skype directly, without portage? Maybe there's some cruft left. Try to unmerge skype, look for files or dirs with skype in their name, remove them and emerge skype again. I have never had problems with skype on my stable amd64 system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alkin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 21
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

show the output of
Code:
emerge -pv skype
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 895
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue with adobe acrobat reader.

/opt/bin/acroread: line 22: /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: No such file or directory
/opt/bin/acroread: line 22: /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: Success


20:27:20^root@ninapie:/usr/portage/net-im/skype > emerge -pv skype

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "net-im/skype" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- net-im/skype-2.1.0.81 (masked by: skype-eula license(s))
A copy of the 'skype-eula' license is located at '/usr/portage/licenses/skype-eula'.



For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.


* IMPORTANT: 4 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.
_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whywhy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to put an entry in your /etc/portage/package.license to accept the skype license

the entry should be like this :

net-im/skype skype-eula

I am using skype on a amd64 platform with no problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2320
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whywhy wrote:
You need to put an entry in your /etc/portage/package.license to accept the skype license

the entry should be like this :

net-im/skype skype-eula

I am using skype on a amd64 platform with no problem


Or in /etc/make.conf

ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"

if you do not care about licenses at all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 319
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whywhy wrote:

I am using skype on a amd64 platform with no problem


Um, can you maybe advise:

desktop environment
sound card
camera
?

Trying to get it working on *my* amd64.... :)

thanks, Ian
_________________
Asus Sabertooth P990, AMD FX-8150, GeForce GTX 560, 16GB Ram | Asus M3A78 64, X2 6000+, PX9800 GT, 4GB Ram | Asus M4A77TD PRO, X2 245, HD4350, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whywhy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using xfce, sound card is one of those onboard Intel HDA thing.

The camera is a Logitech UVC ( UVC = usb video class ) camera, there is a web site somewhere that list which Logitech camera is UVC, which are supported by kernel USB stack directly. Although the default genkernel does not have the UVC module compile in.

What problem are you getting ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2320
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iandoug wrote:
whywhy wrote:

I am using skype on a amd64 platform with no problem


Um, can you maybe advise:

desktop environment
sound card
camera
?

Trying to get it working on *my* amd64.... :)

thanks, Ian


Perhaps you should start with describing your problem, preferably in a separate thread. Skype works fine on amd64 for people with multitude of different configurations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 319
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whywhy wrote:
I am using xfce, sound card is one of those onboard Intel HDA thing.

The camera is a Logitech UVC ( UVC = usb video class ) camera, there is a web site somewhere that list which Logitech camera is UVC, which are supported by kernel USB stack directly. Although the default genkernel does not have the UVC module compile in.

What problem are you getting ?


Had lots of problems in the past with the video (on KDE 3.5.10) then upgraded to 4.x series and discovered the Sound Nightmare with the bloody HDA-Intel onboard chips (basically, you get sound from one app at a time ...)

Tried to get Skype going again today and after some fiddling managed to get sound and video working ... though sound does not work while Kmail is running.

Since you're running xfce I guess you don't have the same issues with the sound .

Thanks for offering anyway ;-)

cheers, Ian
_________________
Asus Sabertooth P990, AMD FX-8150, GeForce GTX 560, 16GB Ram | Asus M3A78 64, X2 6000+, PX9800 GT, 4GB Ram | Asus M4A77TD PRO, X2 245, HD4350, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2320
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iandoug wrote:


Had lots of problems in the past with the video (on KDE 3.5.10) then upgraded to 4.x series and discovered the Sound Nightmare with the bloody HDA-Intel onboard chips (basically, you get sound from one app at a time ...)



You need to search hard nowdays for consumer sound card with hardware mixing. Its all done in software now. That's what dmix in alsa, and pulseaudio on desktop level are for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 895
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:
iandoug wrote:


Had lots of problems in the past with the video (on KDE 3.5.10) then upgraded to 4.x series and discovered the Sound Nightmare with the bloody HDA-Intel onboard chips (basically, you get sound from one app at a time ...)



You need to search hard nowdays for consumer sound card with hardware mixing. Its all done in software now. That's what dmix in alsa, and pulseaudio on desktop level are for.
Code:
21:33:53^root@ninapie:~ > emerge -pv skype acroread

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] app-text/acroread-9.3.3  USE="cups -ldap -minimal -nsplugin" LINGUAS="en -de -fr -ja" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] net-im/skype-2.1.0.81  USE="qt-static" 0 kB

Total: 2 packages (2 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 kB

 * IMPORTANT: 4 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.
Both programs show the same behavior...
Code:
21:34:48^cr0t@ninapie:~ > skype
/usr/bin/skype: line 10: /opt/skype/skype: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/skype: line 10: /opt/skype/skype: Success
21:34:50^cr0t@ninapie:~ > acroread
/opt/bin/acroread: line 22: /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: No such file or directory
/opt/bin/acroread: line 22: /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: Success

_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cr0t
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 895
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

muhahahahahah figured it out. /lib was not linked to /lib64

lib was it's own folder. deleted /lib relinked it
_________________
cya
    ©®0t
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablo465
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cr0t wrote:
muhahahahahah figured it out. /lib was not linked to /lib64

lib was it's own folder. deleted /lib relinked it


How to do it specifically? I still have the same problem.


Code:
skype
bash: /opt/bin/skype: No such file or directory


and

Code:
$ whereis skype
skype: /usr/share/skype /opt/bin/skype


Code:

 emerge -av skype

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ~] net-im/skype-4.2.0.13  USE="-pax_kernel (-selinux)" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum